We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find”
Review of Red Brighton Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Brighton Blue
Ranked #2 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Brighton Pavillions is a joy. Spotlessly clean. Lovely room and you couldnt ask for better service. The breakfast was cooked to perfection. Would not hesitate to recommend to friends and will stay again next time we visit Brighton.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,364 - 1,370 of 1,651 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2009

Spent a lot of time researching hotels in Brighton. Was very happy with the Brighton Pavillions. On the edge of what would be termed central Brighton so nicely out of the hustle and bustle of the town but 2 mins to the beach and 10 mins to the lanes. Very clean hotel with nice attention to detail from the carpets upwards. Camelot room very cosy if lacking the views of the downs mentioned on the web site. Discreet staff. Nice breakfast. Found the Muang Thai restaurant on St James St very good. A good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank berniemaupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenPhill, Co owner at Red Brighton Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2009

We thank you for your positive feedback and are pleased that we met expectations, especially when a lot of research had gone into the choice. I would however like to correct the comment about the view from Camelot ~ our web site in fact describes 'a pretty view over our patio gardens'. The web site also has photos of each room's view but nowhere do we mention views of the Downs because unfortunately we don't have any.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

The owners of Brighton Pavilions Hotel go to considerable trouble to ensure their guests feel completely at home. Phil and Ken obviously love their work and their natural enthusiasm increases the enjoyment of staying. The rooms are beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and sumptuously appointed. Staff are discreet and you are treeted as their guest. Plenty of interesting restaurants and bars are close by or the walk into Brighton centre is about 8 minutes. Check out their website, book and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KentWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Have stayed in many of the themed rooms all are excellent! this hotel is spotlessly clean throughout.The complementry tea & coffee,goodies in the fridge are a lovely touch.All the staff and owners are very friendly,helpful and make you feel welcome.Will use again and recommend !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vickysway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

I stayed here with my girlfriend on the 10th Oct 2009 for a couple of nights. We originally booked the Camelot room, but when we arrived we were offered a free upgrade to the Titanic Suite because nobody else was using it that weekend. The Titanic room is one of the bigger ones, with a table and chairs in a bay window. Because of this, they bring your breakfast up to your room, which is a nice touch. The breakfast was excellent.

The owners were really friendly and helpful, sorting out our parking and offering lots of useful info about Brighton as soon as we arrived. There's even a selection of DVDs that you can borrow, free of charge, to watch in your room.

The hotel's about a 5 minute walk from the pier and roughly 10 minutes from The Lanes, which is where most of the restaurants are. We both really enjoyed Brighton, and if we go again, we'll definitely stay here.’

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LJS_ManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Our 3rd or 4th visit to the wonderful Brighton Pavilions in the last year. The owners are friendly and only too willing to help. The rooms have been decorated and furnished with flair. Top breakfast! Why would anyone stay at a "chain" hotel with gems around like this???? We shall return.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoff45dra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

This hotel is immaculate and a great place to stay for several days. It is quite central to the town and the sights of Brighton. We stayed in the Titanic room, which is a fair sized room and quite comfortable. The bathroom is rather small with a toilet, basin and shower, but meets a traveller's needs adequately.

Parking can be provided for with prior arrangement with the management at nominal extra charge.

We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank muggzdelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,216 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.2 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Brighton Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Brighton Blue

Address: 7 Charlotte Street, Brighton BN2 1AG, England (Formerly Brighton Pavilions)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £68 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Brighton Blue 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Brighton Blue is a newly refurbished 11 bedroom boutique guest house, just off the sea front in Brighton. The historic property has been a guest house for over 50 years and the new owners Peter Howey and Steve Courtney, who took over in August 2014, have undergone a thorough renovation to create an ideal choice of place to stay for visitors to Brighton. • IDEAL LOCATION - set on a quiet side street leading onto the sea front in the bohemian Kemptown area of central Brighton - guests can get sea views and a peaceful night's sleep whilst are just 2 minutes walk away from bars & restaurants nightlight and less than 10 minutes walk to the Pier, Royal Pavilion and city centre. • HISTORIC, CHARACTERFUL GEORGIAN TOWNHOUSE BUILDING - set over 5 floors, with well proportioned rooms, large windows and many original features such as covings, skirtings & fireplaces, plus a large entrance hallway and elegant staircase giving more of a grand hotel feel • 11 LUXURY BEDROOMS ALL WITH ENSUITES INCLUDING KINGS, DOUBLES AND SINGLES - now all newly refurbished and maintained to the highest standards, all with luxury modern ensuite showerrooms, the latest entertainment technology including internet connected smart TVs with catchup, with screen mirroring for your own content, free access to our DVD movie library and fibre-optic broadband wifi in all rooms. Every room is tastefully decorated and luxuriously furnished throughout. • COURTYARD GARDEN - guests have 24 hour access to our small but beautiful courtyard garden, a relaxing oasis of lush green planting, flowers, cool calming water features and plenty of space to sit, chat & enjoy with friends. It's even gently illuminated at night. • BEST BED AND BEST BREAKFAST - we believe in doing the basics really well, so in addition to our luxurious beds, pillows & duvets, we aim to offer one of the best breakfasts in Brighton too. Everything is freshly cooked to order, using the very best ingredients, locally sourced where possible, imaginatively combined into a wide range of delicious breakfast dishes, and designed to complement our breakfast buffet of fresh fruit, cereals, granola, yoghurt & freshly baked pastries, all served in our elegant dining room. • A MODERN HOTEL WITH A TRULY FRIENDLY, PERSONAL SERVICE - we aim to offer everything you expect from a good, modern, professional hotel, plus the added benefit of genuinely friendly owner managers, Peter and Steve, on hand to offer any assistance, advice or personal service that may enhance your stay in Brighton. From help with parking, restaurant recommendations & reservations, ideas for things to see & do, to just having a coffee and a chat. We love living in Brighton and having guests to our home, and want guests to love being here, have a memorable stay, recommend us to their friends and to come back time & time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Brighton Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Pavilions Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing