We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful! Friendly! and worth every penny!”
Review of Red Brighton Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Brighton Blue
Ranked #2 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gloucester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Friendly! and worth every penny!”
Reviewed 17 November 2009

We'd like to take this opportunity and thank our hosts (Ken and Phil) for making our stay at the Brighton Pavilions hotel extra special, even though the weather was not very nice.
When we arrived we were met by Ken who helped us with our bags from the car. We were given our parking permits which we had pre-booked, and were able to park safely near to the hotel, although there is ample, and safe parking areas in adjacent streets if you are unable to park directly outside the hotel. The Brighton Pavillions hotel is within easy walking distance to the centre of Brighton, and there are lots of good restuarants and pubs to choose from along the way. The hotel itself was very clean and well maintained and our room 'The Bardot Room' situated on the ground floor was very comfortable with modern tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge with bottled water, coke and chocolate thrown into the bargain! The en-suite bathroom and toilet were very well maintained with fresh towels every day (if you needed them). Breakfast was very good, a choice of cereals, freshfruit, orange/applejuice, tea, fresh coffee, followed by a traditional cooked breakfast with vegetarian option. Ken provided us with good advice about where to visit and we ubsequently visited 'The Royal Pavilion' (A Must See) taking advantage of a 10% discount offered by the hotel. Overall, we had a great weekend and we will definately be going back to the Brighton Pavilions hotel. Thank you

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rabbiddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    62
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
179
697
148
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Fantastic rooms very clean, within easy reach of the shops and pubs, the food was fantasic. I will definetly go again I'd like to stay in the safari room next

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kgrpainting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Found this hotel by surfing the web. Read the reviews left by others and wasn't disappointed.. excellent room and friendly owner/staff....and above all so quiet for Brighton.2 very small gripes though.....there was a long wait for breakfast one morning, and the other was that if you are staying in one of the top floor rooms, there are a lot of stairs. Wouldn't normally have been a problem but my wife had sprained her knee recently. If you do have mobility problems then it is worth checking which floor the room is on.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bingoswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy033
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Great place, great family room and MADE our trip to Brighton!

Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Brighton Pavillions is a joy. Spotlessly clean. Lovely room and you couldnt ask for better service. The breakfast was cooked to perfection. Would not hesitate to recommend to friends and will stay again next time we visit Brighton.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londoner in Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Spent a lot of time researching hotels in Brighton. Was very happy with the Brighton Pavillions. On the edge of what would be termed central Brighton so nicely out of the hustle and bustle of the town but 2 mins to the beach and 10 mins to the lanes. Very clean hotel with nice attention to detail from the carpets upwards. Camelot room very cosy if lacking the views of the downs mentioned on the web site. Discreet staff. Nice breakfast. Found the Muang Thai restaurant on St James St very good. A good nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank berniemaupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenPhill, Co owner at Red Brighton Blue, responded to this review, 4 November 2009
We thank you for your positive feedback and are pleased that we met expectations, especially when a lot of research had gone into the choice. I would however like to correct the comment about the view from Camelot ~ our web site in fact describes 'a pretty view over our patio gardens'. The web site also has photos of each room's view but nowhere do we mention views of the Downs because unfortunately we don't have any.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

The owners of Brighton Pavilions Hotel go to considerable trouble to ensure their guests feel completely at home. Phil and Ken obviously love their work and their natural enthusiasm increases the enjoyment of staying. The rooms are beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and sumptuously appointed. Staff are discreet and you are treeted as their guest. Plenty of interesting restaurants and bars are close by or the walk into Brighton centre is about 8 minutes. Check out their website, book and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KentWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.0 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.2 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Brighton Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Brighton Blue

Property: Red Brighton Blue
Address: 7 Charlotte Street, Brighton BN2 1AG, England (Formerly Brighton Pavilions)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Brighton Blue 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Brighton Blue is a newly refurbished 11 bedroom boutique guest house, just off the sea front in Brighton. The historic property has been a guest house for over 50 years and the new owners Peter Howey and Steve Courtney, who took over in August 2014, have undergone a thorough renovation to create an ideal choice of place to stay for visitors to Brighton. • IDEAL LOCATION - set on a quiet side street leading onto the sea front in the bohemian Kemptown area of central Brighton - guests can get sea views and a peaceful night's sleep whilst are just 2 minutes walk away from bars & restaurants nightlight and less than 10 minutes walk to the Pier, Royal Pavilion and city centre. • HISTORIC, CHARACTERFUL GEORGIAN TOWNHOUSE BUILDING - set over 5 floors, with well proportioned rooms, large windows and many original features such as covings, skirtings & fireplaces, plus a large entrance hallway and elegant staircase giving more of a grand hotel feel • 11 LUXURY BEDROOMS ALL WITH ENSUITES INCLUDING KINGS, DOUBLES AND SINGLES - now all newly refurbished and maintained to the highest standards, all with luxury modern ensuite showerrooms, the latest entertainment technology including internet connected smart TVs with catchup, with screen mirroring for your own content, free access to our DVD movie library and fibre-optic broadband wifi in all rooms. Every room is tastefully decorated and luxuriously furnished throughout. • COURTYARD GARDEN - guests have 24 hour access to our small but beautiful courtyard garden, a relaxing oasis of lush green planting, flowers, cool calming water features and plenty of space to sit, chat & enjoy with friends. It's even gently illuminated at night. • BEST BED AND BEST BREAKFAST - we believe in doing the basics really well, so in addition to our luxurious beds, pillows & duvets, we aim to offer one of the best breakfasts in Brighton too. Everything is freshly cooked to order, using the very best ingredients, locally sourced where possible, imaginatively combined into a wide range of delicious breakfast dishes, and designed to complement our breakfast buffet of fresh fruit, cereals, granola, yoghurt & freshly baked pastries, all served in our elegant dining room. • A MODERN HOTEL WITH A TRULY FRIENDLY, PERSONAL SERVICE - we aim to offer everything you expect from a good, modern, professional hotel, plus the added benefit of genuinely friendly owner managers, Peter and Steve, on hand to offer any assistance, advice or personal service that may enhance your stay in Brighton. From help with parking, restaurant recommendations & reservations, ideas for things to see & do, to just having a coffee and a chat. We love living in Brighton and having guests to our home, and want guests to love being here, have a memorable stay, recommend us to their friends and to come back time & time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, HRS, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Red Brighton Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Pavilions Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing