We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised, attentive service from staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Not really frequented many budget hotels but this didn't seem like one at all. They have really tried hard to please from emails before you arrive to say that it's difficult to find the entrance (and from the pre-arrival email this was made relatively easy).

A nice touch was when I got up to the room was the receptionist calling up immediately asking if everything was ok and whether anything needed doing - never had this before, and especially in more expensive hotels.

Room was a big size (I only requested single and it was large enough for three), v quiet and no particular issues, beds and pillows comfortable. One gripe would be that internet access by wifi is a tad expensive (10 pounds for 1 day).

Breakfast (not included per night's stay) had a good selection in the morning, pleasant staff to introduce you around the buffet.

Otherwise very central location, easy to get to the Brighton Centre for a conference which is only about five mins at the seafront. Many good restaurants two or three mins to the east of the hotel and to the west there's a large shopping centre as well as various independent shops.

Would definitely stay here again if I went back to Brighton. I'm sure the level of service is as good as or may better a lot of more expensive rivals. All the staff worked hard to be polite and helpful. Well done!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xtraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,450 - 2,456 of 2,631 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2011

apparently premier inn have a guarantee that if you did not have a good night's sleep they will refund the tariff paid. wish I had known ; prices are triple to what they advertise. £93 a night and no free internet- how mean is that?

Room Tip: you can turn off the hot air at the thermostat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayBee57_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2011

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it really matters to us that you enjoy your stay. That's why we guarantee everything you need for a good night - or your money back. This guarantee is advertised on our website and team members at each hotel will also inform you of this. Thank you also for your feedback regarding Wi-Fi, please be assured that this will be passed onto our Marketing Department. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Helpful staff on arrival; fourth floor room was light and reasonably spacious. Despite town centre situation, road noise was not excessive; some minor noise from other rooms. Conveniently situated for The Lanes and other tourist sites; only 10-15mins walk from the Station. No frills comfortable room with ensuite bath/shower. Wi-Fi charges £5/hr, £10/day. Plenty of local options so did not use hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glosjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Premier Inn in Brighton for 2 nights in April 2011 and we were more than happy with our stay.

Our room was a good size with a really comfortable and nicely sized bed. A very modern and nice sized bathroom as well. The room was very clean and kept clean every morning when the cleaner came round.

In the reception area there is a lovely lounge with a bar and pool table- but beware the bar prices, a little steep in our opinion.

There was a slight problem with noise coming into the rooms at night. Brighton is a very lively student town and due to the location of the hotel..on a busy road (North Street) you do get to hear many a drunken student party stumbling their way home. Also we were unfortunate to have a couple with a screaming kid in the room two doors down the corridor which we had to endure, so in our opinion take some earplugs if you want to guarantee a restful night.

The restaurant in the hotel does a fantastic breakfast at £8 each you can eat as much as you like from a wonderful range of food, but at £16 for the two of us on the second morning we decided to go two doors down the street to the Wetherspoons and had a fantastic brekky for £2.99 each instead. The same goes for the steep hotel bar prices, you can get your drinks for half price two doors down in the Wethers. The Hotel is also only a 5 minute walk from The Lanes, plenty of nice restaurants, shops and pubs to visit around the area.

The hotel stay was overall pretty good and I would recommend this place to anyone for a clean, basic and comfortable stay. Thumbs up overall.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlfonzeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Smack bang in the middle of town, walkeable distance from the train station. Bit apprehensive at first but bed was comfortable and was not too noisy. Bathroom was big with a clean bath! Was lovely having a bath.
Enjoyed time here

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burgerqueen700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Stayed one night whilst on business, nightmare to find, however this is due to road cosures so likely to resolve itself when the works are finished. As others said, I was relieved to find the hotel I parked in the first NCP I found following the diversion signs, and it was not the discounted one.

Please read the review below giving directions, wish I had before I had left.

My room was huge, a little old and tired but very clean.

The corridor stank of Cigarette smoke and this drifted into the room however the staff did note this and put a note under rooms doors during the night reminder the culprit not to smoke with the threat of a fine.

Staff all really friendly and the staff member in the restuarant with short blond hair and glasses was a treasure and very friendly.

If it was not for the inconsiderate smoker (not the fault of the hotel) it would have been a super stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PI44521615, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2011

Thanks for your review, now the roadworks have ended it is much easier to find the NCP car park for the hotel.

We are glad that you found our team nice and helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

This was my first stay in a Premier Inn but it will definitely not be my last. The room was spacious and clean(the bathroom was absolutely spotless). The bed was very comfortable and I had a very good nights sleep before eating an excellent breakfast. I would have preferred the room to be a little warmer, I tried to change the temperature but the control didn't seem to be working. This wasn't enough of a problem to warrant a complaint. Its worth noting that our Sat Nav took us to the wrong NCP car park so we didn't get any discount. All in all a really good hotel and I will be using Premier Inn again.l

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrswilliams1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

Thanks so much for your review. We are delighted that your stay at our hotel was a good one. At Premier Inn we endeavour to give the highest level of service in all our establishments your feedback regarding our team members, and great service is gratefully received and will be passed to the Team at Brighton City Centre. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,990 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel

Address: 144 North Street, Brighton BN1 1RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brighton
#2 Business Hotel in Brighton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £52 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're rarely more than 10 minutes from the action when you stay at the Premier Inn Hotel Brighton City Centre. From the lavish Royal Pavilion and buzzing Pier, to the lively lanes and brilliant boutiques, discover this seaside city's many surprises right on your doorstep. And there's plenty more to see if you've got a little extra time. People-watch on the legendary beach, dive into the Sea Life Centre or try your luck at the races. Then when it's time to wind down, enjoy our tasty Thyme restaurant, spacious rooms and comfy beds. Important info Bedrooms are insulated to minimise possible noise disturbance in this major city centre location. Car parking is available a short distance from this Premier Inn - for which an additional fee will be charged. Please note, the disabled rooms at this hotel have baths only. No wet rooms available. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Directions: Directions to hotel front - From A23, follow signs to City Centre. Turn right (filter lane) at lights before The Royal Pavilion onto Church St. Take 1st available left onto Portland St. Continue to end of the road then turn left again. Hotel entrance will be on your left. (sat nav BN1 1RE) Directions to RCP Car Park - From A23, turn right onto North Rd. Continue along North Rd until you reach RCP Parking on your left. Discounted rate of 10 GBP per 24 hours is available to hotel guests - please validate your token at reception. This car park is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. (max height 6ft). Car park sat nav BN1 1YR Transport and local information: Brighton Centre Concerts & Conferences The Lanes Shopping Royal Brighton Pavilion Historic Site Brighton Train Station 0.25 mile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel Brighton
Brighton Premier Inn
Brighton Inn Premier Travel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing