We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here for a mid week break - great location in the middle of Brightons shopping area. Easy walking to the Pavilion , Pier, the Lanes and North Laine. Hotel itself is a little unassuming - entrance is between a subway and a "Pound Store " from memory - would be easy to miss ! Check in is on 1st Floor - although no signs to really indicate that. Assistant was very helpful and decided to move us to another room as we would have been surrounded by a hen party ( a regular event in Brighton these days) . However this seemed to cause some system problems but we eventually ended up with a nice large twin on the 7th Floor with partial views over the sea and the pier.
Room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable - sound proofing and air con worked very well. However there was one major problem - the lift stops at the 6th floor so needed to climb a fairly steep set of stairs to get to the 7th. Why would anyone design a building with a lift that doesn't reach the top?? Not a major problem for us as we were travelling light - but if you have heavy bags - or problems with stairs then avoid the 7th floor.
Breakfast was fine most mornings - good variety and replenished frequently. Downside on last morning was that we followed two large hen parties in who kept getting to the food before we could !! Judging by the look of some of them I didn't want to argue - especially the rather large tattooed lady who thought 8 sausages constituted a balanced diet!!

Room Tip: Avoid 7th Floor if you don't like stairs (lift stops at 6!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazza53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,221
    943
    235
    78
    43
See reviews for
751
916
118
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I was in Brighton one night and needed somewhere to stay for the night or two.
I went up to the reception and a skinny talk Eastern European women was at the desk. I asked for a room, very Rudely and in a condescending manner she said no I asked why she shrugged her shoulders and said we don't have any rooms. I asked if she was sure and she offended that I asked and reminded me she was the manager.
I left, got in my car. I got out my trusty iphone and went on their site. They did have rooms available, the first night was £160ish while the second night was £52. I booked with my card and went back in to the reception in a space of 5 minutes. Same lady at the desk I asked if she was adamant she didn't have any rooms. She said no. I then gave her my booking number. She had no explanation.
Anyway I stated the two night and left.
One month later I got charged an extra 150 on my card.
When I called up and asked what this was for they said that in the terms and conditions which I had electronically signed I had given them permission to do that. I asked why,
here is the good bit.
They said that the cleaners saw evidence of me smoking in the room and they had to clean out the room and that they weren't able to rent it out for a day.
Why I said this was the good bit is that I don't smoke neither does my partner who I was with.

Customer service is a joke they basically said that I was lying.
I will never stay with this company again
Your better off going to one of the local honest BnBs where they have experience in one to one customer experience

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabsab88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Social Media at Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I looked for a hotel near to Symphony Hall and this came up. Based on commenst from others we decided to book and we were not disappointed. The hotel is close to the center of Birmingham, has excellent rooms, is very quiet and has extremely friendly and helpfull staff. We often go to concerts in Birmingham and this will be the hotel we choose in future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Me & my partner have just returned from a 2 night break in premier inn with our 4 month old baby.

The rooms are just perfect! Very clean & spacious, we also had a travel cot put up for us & still had plenty of room! The air con was a must as we have previously stayed in the travel lodge which was too stuffy & now with a young baby it would of been awful without!

The staff were friendly & helpful, ordering us taxis & making coffees (which are free) in the bar/restaurant area, all the little things that made our stay pleasant.

Will stay nowhere else now apart from the premier inn :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophii-Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights only paid £121 which for brighton is a very good price! The roo. Was spotless had air conditiong and the shower was very powerful. The beds are amazing and the room housekeeping was excellent!! We requested a cot which was put up on arrival. All staff were very helpfull, even held our luggage on our last day for free so we could spend the last day in brighton. Hotel is in excellent postion plus nice bar and drinks selection. Will be returning very soon!! Thanks for a brilliant holiday!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank donny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great hotel with friendly staff. Only downside is car parking charges even with 25% discount!
Good location in centre of brighton and the family room was really spacious. Bathroom clean and functional but could do with a bit of modernisation. Would stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 218LAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We decided to give the Premier Inn a try, after all Lenny Henry says it's ok. Firstly don.t believe that the £49 per night applies to all Inns because it certainly doesn't but even so we were happy with the price charged for 2 for Bed/Breakfast in Brighton. The location was excellent, everywhere we wanted to visit was in walking distance. The staff were friendly, the room unexceptional (bedside lighting very poor) but bed a good size and very comfortable. Typical cooked breakfast was satisfactory but continental on the
poor side with ,not enough variety of fruit and no cheese. The price they charge for breakfast, however, is very reasonable compared to other hotels so it was acceptable. Also good to be able to eat on site, too .Overall we had no major complaints except for the fact that they have no on-site parking but 25% discount is offered in car park behind the hotel. If you use this car park and you have a large vehicle be sure to enter using the car park entrance lane on the left because we learnt to our cost that there is not much turn on the other lane, we now have to have an alloy wheel refurbished- take a look at the kerb on the turn and you will see how many other drivers have been caught out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
Address: 144 North Street, Brighton BN1 1RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
#2 Family Hotel in Brighton
#2 Business Hotel in Brighton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're rarely more than 10 minutes from the action when you stay at the Premier Inn Hotel Brighton City Centre. From the lavish Royal Pavilion and buzzing Pier, to the lively lanes and brilliant boutiques, discover this seaside city's many surprises right on your doorstep. And there's plenty more to see if you've got a little extra time. People-watch on the legendary beach, dive into the Sea Life Centre or try your luck at the races. Then when it's time to wind down, enjoy our tasty Thyme restaurant, spacious rooms and comfy beds. Important info Bedrooms are insulated to minimise possible noise disturbance in this major city centre location. Car parking is available a short distance from this Premier Inn - for which an additional fee will be charged. Please note, the disabled rooms at this hotel have baths only. No wet rooms available. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Directions: Directions to hotel front - From A23, follow signs to City Centre. Turn right (filter lane) at lights before The Royal Pavilion onto Church St. Take 1st available left onto Portland St. Continue to end of the road then turn left again. Hotel entrance will be on your left. (sat nav BN1 1RE) Directions to RCP Car Park - From A23, turn right onto North Rd. Continue along North Rd until you reach RCP Parking on your left. Discounted rate of 10 GBP per 24 hours is available to hotel guests - please validate your token at reception. This car park is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. (max height 6ft). Car park sat nav BN1 1YR Transport and local information: Brighton Centre Concerts & Conferences The Lanes Shopping Royal Brighton Pavilion Historic Site Brighton Train Station 0.25 mile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel Brighton
Brighton Premier Inn
Brighton Inn Premier Travel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing