We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rooms are always clean,spacious and the location is great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
dudley
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“rooms are always clean,spacious and the location is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

I stay in Brighton every year ,and have stayed in several different hotels and feel unless you stay in the higher end hotels, a lot of places here are overated and overpriced for what you get, the premier rooms are always clean , spacious and the location is great, you are two minutes to the lanes,and Brighton pavillion and right by the beach etc.When ever we stay here we are always out and about and spend very little time in the room so it suits us, i have stayed in a couple of "boutique hotels" down here and have always been dissapointed with the size of the rooms and attention to detail, the cost has always been double the price, so if you are having a short break here and want somewhere clean with a central location this is good value for money.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sumidudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,152
    878
    221
    73
    37
See reviews for
687
863
106
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

Tried to book this hotel but their computer system was down. Telephoned but they couldn't book by phone because ... the computer system was down. Suggested I try later. By the time I finally got to do the booking the following day, the price had gone up considerably. Was promised a really good room to "make up for the inconvenience". The room (402) was really small considering it was supposed to be a family room. The brand colour theme didn't extend to the curtains and the pull out extra bed which clashed completely with the purple. The bathroom was OK and clean. The duvet was about a 100 tog which for July was really heavy and hot and the bed sank in the centre so we both felt like we spent the night sleeping (or lying awake most of the time) on the lip of a volcano, trying not to fall into the crater. Every time someone came through the corridor doors our room door rattled, and the double glazing didn't keep out the seagull noise. We did get a discount of 25% on the car park next door which was great but the room itself was barely worth half what we paid.

I know being a Premier Inn you're supposed to get your money back if you didn't get a good night's sleep but I've had my fill of having to complain about things recently and just couldn't be bothered to argue about it. I think the least they could have done was charge the rate the room was when their system wouldn't accept the booking. There were other hotels cheaper that looked so much nicer but by the time we knew the price had gone up and tried to look elsewhere they had no rooms left. Will book further in advance in future and one of those other, cheaper and by the looks of it much nicer hotels.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nakatcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

Best points:
Good value for money
Friendly welcome with attentive staff
Triple glazing on my front of building room meant that the considerable traffic noise was reduced to perfectly acceptable level.
The air conditioning was a great feature in this downtown location with windows that would allow in noise if opened.
The onsite restaurant looked nice, although being downtown we didn’t use it. We did have a drink in the bar & found the staff friendly.
As before, very comfortable beds with pristine white linens.
As before, good standard of bathroom.
As before, security was impressive with card keys being needed to enter the main floor of bedrooms & room numbers not being repeated or displayed loudly in reception (having just had the reverse experience that I detail in another independent hotel review, this was particularly noted as sadly not being standard amongst hotels these days!). Top marks for this Premier Inn…I felt that this would be standard at Premier Inns in general, which is great.
Useful to have a dedicated free taxi telephone on the reception desk – one of our party needed to get to the nearby railway station with luggage.

The only drawback is if you do have a car, you will need to use the nearby NCP car park, with which Premier Inn have a negotiated rate.

I would definitely stay here again & thank you Premier Inn for bothering to solicit feedback, both at the property & via email after the stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EurovisionUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

Rooms were large comfortable and clean. Flat screen tv but could have done with being a bit bigger. Staff very friendly and breakfast is good value for money (£7.95 for myself and my 13 year old daughter). Very good option for families as you can get a room for 4 for approx £90 a night. Location is excellent - very central for everything. Hotel is in a drab 1950s office block and does remind you a bit of a student hall of residence. Certainly not a place for a romantic break and it does somewhat lack atmosphere of sense of style. That being said I had no complaints and would definitely return. Car park next door costs £20 per day (with a £5 discount from the hotel) so you need to factor that in if you are taking the car.

Brighton is a brilliant place for a week-end break my only gripe is that the place seems to be taken over by drunken hen parties on Sat nights. My daughter loved the thrill rides on Brighton pier.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hardworkingsinglemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

This is the first time my Husband and I have stayed in a premier inn and I have to say I was impressed. The room was a reasonable size and very clean. It is not the cheapest premier inn, but we did expect it to be dearer than other P/Inns as it is in the centre of a city. We were also pleasantly surprised that we didn't experience any noise at night what so ever, just the odd seagull now and then, but not enough to keep you awake (two of the nights were at the weekend too). We drove down to Brighton and had to park in the NCP car park at the back of the premier inn - BE CAREFUL if you are going to drive though as the directions were not very clear to the car park as we came in another way and we ended up in the wrong NCP car park which was very close to the Premier Inn and had to pay £4.00 for the hourly rate to get out and then move the car to the correct one. You get the 25% discount on the NCP car park charges by having your parking ticket validated at the hotel reception. With the discount parking is £15.00 for 24 hrs in the week and £18.50 at weekends. We didn't eat in the restaurant but did pay the £5.25 each for the continental breakfast which was well worth the money with cereals, croissants, porridge, muffins, fruit and yogurts to choose from. The only problem I did have and it may just be the room we were staying in was I found the mattress quite uncomfortable because I could feel some of the springs in it. I mentioned this on checkout of the room so hopefully this will be rectified. The hotel is in a good location, a short stroll to the lanes, north laines and sea front. We would definately consider staying in Premier Inns again when travelling around the country.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xMIMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

Nice big room with lots of channels on the tv. For some reason we had what appeared to be a disabled bathroom - not sure if they are all like this but it made no odds to us. Bath a little small. Bed was too soft and gave us both a bit of back ache by morning! Lovely and quiet though and very clean although the shower gel dispenser on the bathroom wall was empty - luckily we bought our own toiletries. Didn't eat in the restaurant but bar was nice and reasonably priced. Vending machine by reception great for midnight snacks although a bit overpriced! Staff were friendly and helpful and you get 25% off parking since the closest place you can park is the nearest NCP car park which costs £4 per hour or £25 for 24 hours! Overall not a bad place to stay would probably stay there again for a short break in Brighton as it's very central :)

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bumhug501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

We stayed at the premier inn for 2 nights in june. It is basic, but is very centrally located which makes up for it a bit.
we were very surprised at how expensive it was and even more shocked at the cost of parking in the NCP car park that they recommended. it just isnt worth the money
nevertheless, it is literally right in the centre and only a few minutes walk from the lanes and the beach.
i would have thought that we could have got a better deal somewhere else had we known the parking would cost £25 for 24 hours!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannah-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,668 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
Address: 144 North Street, Brighton BN1 1RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brighton
#2 Business Hotel in Brighton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#4 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're rarely more than 10 minutes from the action when you stay at the Premier Inn Hotel Brighton City Centre. From the lavish Royal Pavilion and buzzing Pier, to the lively lanes and brilliant boutiques, discover this seaside city's many surprises right on your doorstep. And there's plenty more to see if you've got a little extra time. People-watch on the legendary beach, dive into the Sea Life Centre or try your luck at the races. Then when it's time to wind down, enjoy our tasty Thyme restaurant, spacious rooms and comfy beds. Important info Bedrooms are insulated to minimise possible noise disturbance in this major city centre location. Car parking is available a short distance from this Premier Inn - for which an additional fee will be charged. Please note, the disabled rooms at this hotel have baths only. No wet rooms available. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Directions: Directions to hotel front - From A23, follow signs to City Centre. Turn right (filter lane) at lights before The Royal Pavilion onto Church St. Take 1st available left onto Portland St. Continue to end of the road then turn left again. Hotel entrance will be on your left. (sat nav BN1 1RE) Directions to RCP Car Park - From A23, turn right onto North Rd. Continue along North Rd until you reach RCP Parking on your left. Discounted rate of 10 GBP per 24 hours is available to hotel guests - please validate your token at reception. This car park is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. (max height 6ft). Car park sat nav BN1 1YR Transport and local information: Brighton Centre Concerts & Conferences The Lanes Shopping Royal Brighton Pavilion Historic Site Brighton Train Station 0.25 mile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel Brighton
Brighton Premier Inn
Brighton Inn Premier Travel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing