We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's a hotel, I wished the staff understood this!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“it's a hotel, I wished the staff understood this!”
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Basics then... the hotel is perfectly located for Brighton city centre and it's a hotel.

Right then. Check in staff - abysmal. Was barked orders at through the whole experience. I've stayed in Premier Inn's before and this was by far the worst reception staff I've encountered - but I ended up with a room key and I paid for the room in advance, as is the norm for Premier Inn's.

The room was on the 4th floor and was a disabled equipped room (I'm not disabled) and therefore huge! In fact, because Premier Inn's are quite sparse in their furnishing, it was a little too big and felt quite cold and empty rather than comfortable.

The bed was superb and very comfortable. Good marks here folks.

I took a drink in the bar, which was interesting. Sat at the bar to order, was advised "I'll be right back" and then promptly waited for 10 minutes for him to return. When he did, he then counted change, put some wine in the fridge etc, basically anything that didn't involve serving me. Eventually I got served, but it was hardly service with a smile!

We didn't eat in the restaurant, so I can't comment.

A good night's sleep was had, but there are definitely some odd characters who hang about the front of the hotel - but this could be the risk with any city centre hotel location. But, whether it was my perceptions of the place and the types of people who were staying in the hotel, I just didn't feel "comfortable" for the entire time I stayed here.

Breakfast in the morning was lovely and it must have been different staff as the welcome was excellent, as was the food. Nicely cooked, nicely presented and plenty of it. Well worth the cost.

Generally - it would be the last resort for me if I stayed in Brighton again. The room cost was £79.00 (don't be fooled, I've never stayed in a Premier Inn at any of their advertised special pricing - ie £29.00) - this puts the hotel squarely in the bracket of Holiday Inn Express, Jury's Inn etc etc, which are far more comfortable and welcoming than this place. Budget hotels need to transparent about their pricing - if I had paid £30-50 for this room, I would have a written a very different review - but at £80.00, it's a whole different ball game and yes, that extra £30 does change expectations on quality of service, the ability to room charge bar drinks and food etc and not having to pay in advance with the perceived attitude that you're going to run off without paying.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    915
    230
    74
    38
See reviews for
720
898
115
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire uk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Stayed here Nov 2010 for a weekend break. Very well located in Brighton ... Ideal for The Lanes, North Laine, City Centre and the Pier. not a luxury hotel, but in a great location with plenty of good restaurants nearby, a Co Op and a Greggs within 2 mins distance... ideal if you want a reasonable hotel with comfy beds to sleep in, and prefer to spend your money eating out and and having a good time. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markdroitwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

my brother and his girlfriend was hoping to go for a nice weekend to celebrate my brothers 18th birthday the first day they had a lovely time, however the second day of there stay they left to go shopping and see the sites and they purchased a number of items while shopping in the centre took it back to the hotel then left again, within the hour of them leaving and there return back to the hotel they found that all of the christmas gifts and personal belongings including a travel dvd player, a nintendo ds, chargers for there electronics and ghd hair straighteners had all been stolen! In our opinion we believe that the cleaner or the person behind the front desk, whom both had cards to their room stole these products as they even had the cheek to make the bed and rummige through suitcases. We are disgusted with the Help or should i say NO help of the staff as when they went down to report the missing items the customer service desk handed them a piece of paper and a pen, and was not even shocked or interested as they are two younge and vunerable teenagers !!! , i also spoke to the help desk over the phone and they had the cheek to say that they had both fixed the theft, which i was apsolutely disgusted with... they even refused a REFUND and after recieving one nights money back as they was no longer willing to continue their stay in the hotel, the hotel staffed kicked them out of the hotel ! i am apsolutely shocked and taken back how a company that is all over the telly and is said to be " everythings premier but the price" could treat two teenagers so appaulingly! The comments do not stop here and i am doing everything in my power to make it known that this hotel is not eligible to stay in and it contains a number of thieves!!! My brothers girlfriends mum called the hotel and the customer service rep told her that the same insident happened 5 months ago however i was told in a different conversation with the same person it has never happened before. Only thing i can say is GET YOUR STORIES STRAIGHT !!!!!!!! i could go on and on with my opinion of this hotel and i advise anyone not to go there !!!!!! Premier Inn as if !!! not worth its money...premier in is like a game of cludo, you dont no who did it what room and what tall they used!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank loulou9098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2010
At Premier Inn the safety and security of all our guests is of paramount importance to us. Alleged incidents of this nature are very rare, any reports are fully investigated and Premier Inn will assist the Police in their enquiries. We can confirm that at no time were guests asked to leave the hotel, and on the day of the early departure the two guest were accommodated in the bar area of the hotel for approx two hours whilst waiting for their transport home, during this time complimentary drinks were provided. Premier Inn take all feedback very seriously and we can assure you your comments have been noted and followed up with the Management Team at our Brighton Premier Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We stayed for one night and had a lovely time. Our room was clean and tidy. The breakfast (free for children) was a buffet self service and was excellent - nicely cooked and well presented with lots of choice. We had our evening meal in the restaurant and again - under the meal deal (children had own menu) was good value. The location is excellent - just 5 mins to the pier and Sealife. The hotel had discount vouchers for Sea Life. Car parking was in the NCP which for us with the hotel discount cost £18 so not cheap but Brighton is a nightmare to park in and the car was safe. Would certainly stay there again and use Premier Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I took my wife and 2 6 year old girls for 2 days, 1 night stay at the Premiere Inn Brighton on Monday 25th October. Excellent location, easy check in, very kid friendly. The room was very clean and spacious. All the beds were comfortable. The only criticism of the room was that it was too warm- had to remove all the bedding in the middle of the night. The breakfast buffet at £7.75 worked out at good value as the kids ate free- if this offer wasn't available I would have thought twice about the breakfast.. Good trip and would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n_horton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Parked in car park just behind hotel, very convenient. Made very welome by receptionist and booking in very easy. Room was huge and very clean. Tea and coffee tray and hairdryer in room. When you leave get car park ticket stamped and get 25% discount. The whole weekends parking cost £41.50. We usually spend a fortune on boutique hotels with sea views and all the trimmings. This time decided to speand money on going out. It was definitely the right choice. Hotel is 5 mins from beach, shopping centre and The Lanes. No noise AT ALL. Very quiet considering it's location. Would definitly recommend and would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_Carter067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

A really nice central but affordable hotel in the centre of Brighton. It's pretty much central for anything you need in Brighton (the seafront and pier, the North Laines, the Lanes, the shops). I stayed with friends in a family/triple room and was very happy.

The room was good size. The little annoyances were just that: little. In this day of needing charge your mobiles at night, having some sockets near the bed would be useful, and there could do with being a hook or two in the bathroom. It's right next to the NCP cark park, and if you get your parking ticket validated by the hotel you get 25 per cent off the cost of the car park. The room we were in was towards the back of the hotel so it was fairly quiet in the mornings.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The full breakfast buffet looks expensive (£7.75) but it is as-much-as-you-can-eat, so you can get your fill ready for a busy day of holidaying.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canningtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
Address: 144 North Street, Brighton BN1 1RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Brighton
#2 Family Hotel in Brighton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're rarely more than 10 minutes from the action when you stay at the Premier Inn Hotel Brighton City Centre. From the lavish Royal Pavilion and buzzing Pier, to the lively lanes and brilliant boutiques, discover this seaside city's many surprises right on your doorstep. And there's plenty more to see if you've got a little extra time. People-watch on the legendary beach, dive into the Sea Life Centre or try your luck at the races. Then when it's time to wind down, enjoy our tasty Thyme restaurant, spacious rooms and comfy beds. Important info Bedrooms are insulated to minimise possible noise disturbance in this major city centre location. Car parking is available a short distance from this Premier Inn - for which an additional fee will be charged. Please note, the disabled rooms at this hotel have baths only. No wet rooms available. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Directions: Directions to hotel front - From A23, follow signs to City Centre. Turn right (filter lane) at lights before The Royal Pavilion onto Church St. Take 1st available left onto Portland St. Continue to end of the road then turn left again. Hotel entrance will be on your left. (sat nav BN1 1RE) Directions to RCP Car Park - From A23, turn right onto North Rd. Continue along North Rd until you reach RCP Parking on your left. Discounted rate of 10 GBP per 24 hours is available to hotel guests - please validate your token at reception. This car park is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. (max height 6ft). Car park sat nav BN1 1YR Transport and local information: Brighton Centre Concerts & Conferences The Lanes Shopping Royal Brighton Pavilion Historic Site Brighton Train Station 0.25 mile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel Brighton
Brighton Premier Inn
Brighton Inn Premier Travel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing