We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A catastrophe!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prince Regent Hotel
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Nantes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A catastrophe!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Good location, nice building. But receptionist was horrible and rude, room was filthy ( entire lipstick mark on glass, hair in bed) decoration was kitch, room was tiny, no sound proof what-so-ever. Expensive. Terrible hotel! Stay well clear!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hannahleriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellenk17, Manager at Prince Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
You arrived at 11 o'clock in the evening with your children and although it is against our policy we agreed to give you the room as it was so late. We are therefore very disappointed to receive this (what we consider to be unfair) review bearing in mind we had done our best to help you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    22
    22
    16
    70
See reviews for
8
62
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We enjoyed the stay here with helpful manageress, although the room was small, it had all facilities and comfy bed. The staircase was a bit tired but the room was clean and fresh. Close to Churchill Sq shops too. Worth the upgrade to the four poster sea view room overlooking Regency Square where parked for £9.50 for 24 hours

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wayzgoose110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellenk17, Manager at Prince Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you to the Prince Regent Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

im staying in brighton with my friends and we booked this hotel over the phone.
The room is clean and tidy and the location couldn't get better its near town as well
as the beach. With the sun out in brighton at the moment it is a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: room 102 is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HermanMerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellenk17, Manager at Prince Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Thank you very much for your stay with Prince Regent Hotel, we will be happy to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Booked a single room last minute. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room had everything I needed, En suite, tv, tea/coffee making facilities. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank VinceN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellenk17, Manager at Prince Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Thank you very much for your stay with Prince Regent Hotel and for your nice comments, we will be happy to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I planned a last minute trip to Brighton and searched for a good deal for hotels. I came across the Prince Regent Hotel and after speaking to a gentleman named Alex, made a reservation for 3 nights at £30 per night. Having looked at the website, I couldn't believe my luck. Result I thought ... Wrong! Alex told me I could book in any time from 2pm upon my arrival. So I arrive in Brighton, boiling heat, large case to book in ... I waited for an hour outside knocking on the door, phoning non-stop all to no avail. No-one was there, which I thought was extremely rude and unprofessional. Not wanting to be stranded in Brighton with nowhere to stay, I luckilly found another hotel round the corner. When I told them what had happened, they more or less told me I had a lucky escape and reading the reviews on here, I can now see why. I did try to cancel my reservation but even later that day, still no-one was bothering to answer the phone. Luckilly, I didn't pay any money up front. I do not recommend going anywhere near this hotel especially after reading the less than flattering reviews on here,

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFF74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellenk17, Manager at Prince Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for your comment. I am truly sorry about your experience. However, it is not clear from your comment what time you arrived. Our working hours are from 9am to 9pm, so if you arrived after 9pm the hotel would have been closed. If you did check our website, then you have probably seen this information there. During the day the hotel door is always open and there is always staff for your service during the opening hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

i have spoken to the hotel manager many times, she is always professional and helpful! well done on running on a good hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyhalf g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellenk17, Owner at Prince Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you very much for your stay and your nice comment! I am looking forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This place needs to be SHUT DOWN. I booked via a third party website before reading the reviews here. They are putting it politely. I left with an itch and bites which my GP later told me were from bedbugs which I had brought home to my partner and child.
Absolutely disgusting.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyEpicuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellenk17, Manager at Prince Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for your comment and I am truly sorry about your experience. We reacted straight away to your report about bedbugs and pest control was called out straight away. Full inspection of the hotel was carried out, no bedbugs were found, however just in case all the rooms were sprayed by pest control. Most likely the bedbugs you brought home were brought from train or elsewhere. Again, truly sorry about your experience and hope you and your family members are well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#29 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#25 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Regent Hotel

Property: Prince Regent Hotel
Address: 29 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Prince Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Prince
Regent Hotel Brighton
Brighton Regent
Regent Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing