We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay there,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prince Regent Hotel
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Four of us went to Brighton for a night,(friday) and decided to stay on the sat, after walking about for ages trying to find some accommodation we found this place, it all seemed ok so we booked 2 rooms at £85 each< well when we got to the rooms i`ve never seen anything like it!! they were absolutely disgusting, they were in the loft, the beds had so many stains on them they should av gone on the fire, what a dump, these rooms are not even worth £10 a night let alone £85, bloody rip off, so if your ever stranded in Brighton dont book this hovel, you cant even say its tired, its rotten dirty.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sybilsummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellenk17, Manager at Prince Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you for your comment. Without your prior booking, these two rooms were the last ones left in the hotel for that busy night. As it was mentioned here before, our best rooms go first, and without any other availability these rooms were all we had. However, these rooms were shown to you by our receptionist before you committed to stay, so it was your own choice. Also, the hotel is constantly under renovation, and these rooms (117 & 118) were newly redecorated in June 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

We went to this hotel on a very busy weekend, everywhere was booked up. This was the only one vacant. I payed £150. After booking. I read the reviews, I thought it can't be that bad. It was! I have never stayed in a hotel as dirty as this. We were lucky as we had the best room. The bedding felt dirty with a musty smell . In the morning when checking out. There was a line of people complaining . I can't imagine what their rooms were like . Don't stay here!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellenk17, Manager at Prince Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you for your comment. However, I would like to point out straight away that it is hard to believe the trueness of your story, as your date of stay was May 2012 (1 year ago) and we have never ever had a line of people complaining in our hotel. You did have the best room in the hotel, but without seeing other rooms I find your comments about them very unreasonable. We have all rooms uniquely designed and there are pictures of each room here (with room numbers) for the public view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location for Brighton town centre, so shops, bars band restaurants, and the back front and pier. The decor is bright and fun and the hotel has a real character to it. The staff were friendly and helpful and offered us as choice of room. The price was so reasonable for what you get band the location. I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: There was no restaurant which didn't bother us at all as so many places nearby. If you can, get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellenk17, Manager at Prince Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you very much for your stay and for nice comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This hotel is well situated .The car park is close by, but around £10 a night.There was no breakfast available in the hotel, one had to go out to a nearby cafe.The stair carpet was loose in places and it would be easy to trip.Also it had seen better days.My room was not tastefully decorated, peculiar colours and curtains, and a forlorn attempt at a four poster effect failed miserably, with plastic ribbony things dangling with odd beads.The bed was comfortable.The bathroom shower had good hot water, but tiny, and again the decor was old fashioned and dated.It is the sort of establishment that lead to bad seaside landlady jokes, and evokes dirty weekends.However, for the night I put up with it, more would have pushed it.

Room Tip: There are rooms overlooking the square and therefore the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellenk17, Manager at Prince Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Thank you for your review. All the information regarding the location, car park, breakfast etc. you can find on our website and on booking.com. We also have a gallery of pictures of all our rooms here on tripadvisor (with room numbers) and on booking.com. So it is your responsibility to check the information available to you before you book your room with us to avoid any unnecessary dissapointments. If you just walked in from the street, you could have asked a member of staff to show you the room first, and depending on room availability choose another room. As mentioned in the previous reviews, the hotel is Grade II listed building with it's own character and we try our best to maintain it to the best possible standard. It is difficult to comment anything on the room you stayed in, as you did not specify the room number and the date of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Where do I begin, the lady on front desk was RUDE and not welcoming at all! We got shown to our room and was disappointed straight away. It had a stale damp smell. Was very dated and depressing. The bed had stains all over it as did the curtains round the bed. The wallpaper was mis match and peeling off, and the selotape used to stick it back up was also peeling off !! Tea and coffee cups were filthy. I would not walk around the the room without my shoes on, the floors were disgusting. The bathroom well I felt cleaner not going in there for a wash Enough said. A fire alarm started going off at 3am no one knew what to do and we were left listening to it as no one came to take charge. The first thing we done when we got here was queried other hotels for any rooms but very unfortunate for us there was nothing else and we were stuck in this filth. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bobtrinning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellenk17, Manager at Prince Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry for your bad experience. By your description it is hard to understand which room in particular you are talking about. Most of our rooms were renovated in April 2012, and the decor in each room is different. If you were disappointed by your room straight away, why did not you say so? We always try our best to keep our guests happy, so depending on room availability you could have chosen any other room with another decor.
Our housekeeping staff are trying hard to clean every room to the highest possible standard, however mistakes happen. If you have spotted a housekeeping mistake, you should have reported it to the manager and we would solve the problem immediately.
Regarding the fire alarm, it happened because some guests were smoking in their room even though it is against our policy and the hotel is fully a non-smoking property. There is information in every room about fire exits and fire assembly point. The hotel follows all the necessary fire safety procedures, such as fire detectors and fire sprinkles are installed throughout the hotel.
So, again apologies for a negative experience, however in this case lots of problems could have been avoided if you would share your disappointment with a member of staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We were looking for a hotel in December 2012 to have a romantic break and to celebrate our half a year wedding anniversary. Personally me and my husband do not enjoy big chain hotels as they lack individual approach to their guests and local colour. This is why we prefer to find a small independent hotel like this to really feel the atmosphere of a town. After reading all the reviews here we were a little worried about the cleanliness of the hotel rooms, which is of course very important. We were delighted to find our room (203) spotlessly clean, even though a little small, but with a romantic design, which is of course a little dated but it adds to the charm and the character of the hotel. We requested a room with a sea view and I must say the view from our window was amazing! For breakfast we were provided with vouchers for the partner restaurant which is 1 minute away on the seaside. On top of everything the hotel is minutes away from the shopping centre and the Lanes; Brighton Pavilion, and Brighton Pier with Brighton Wheel are perfectly approachable on foot (about 15 min walk). As we did not have much luggage with us and we are a young couple we did not have any problem with the fact that there is no lift in the hotel (plus our room was only on the second floor), but I guess it could be an issue for some people. Overall great stay in the heart of town for a reasonable price!

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view; also request a lower floor if you have a problem with climbing the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olja1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellenk17, Manager at Prince Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Thank you for your stay with Prince Regent Hotel, we will be happy to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

this is not my first time staying here i have stayed here before loads of times and i always feel welcome. The shopping center is a minute walk away and i always enjoy getting fish and chips down by the sea front. I cant wait until they build the i360 down by the sea front as it will be interesting to have a go on.

Overall i would say very nice place and a good price!

Well done

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HermanMerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellenk17, Manager at Prince Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Thank you very much for your stay with Prince Regent Hotel, we will be happy to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Topps
Topps
#26 of 43 in Brighton
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#37 of 43 in Brighton
354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#28 of 43 in Brighton
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#15 of 43 in Brighton
613 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#32 of 43 in Brighton
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Regent Hotel

Address: 29 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range: £60 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prince Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Prince
Regent Hotel Brighton
Brighton Regent
Regent Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing