We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice looking hotel but not getting the basics right” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prince Regent Hotel
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice looking hotel but not getting the basics right”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Booked two rooms two nights. The hotel is ideally placed in Regency Crescent near shops and beach. It is nicely decorated. Unfortunately basics let it down as the TV did not work properly, shower head hung loose, room service left only three tea bags three cartons of milk for two people The room had two connecting doors which meant even normal conversation could be heard from adjoining rooms. Rooms are quite small but would be ok if the basics were looked after. Breakfast is taken hundred metres down the road. Parking is limited but there is a secure underground car park opposite for £20 for 24hrs. No wifi in rooms. Be mindful the stairs are very narrow and steep with no lift and four floors. I understand Brighton is at a premium but having travelled extensively abroad some British hotels seem to adopt a take it or leave it approach.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    22
    22
    16
    70
See reviews for
8
62
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights had room changed after the 1st bedroom room113 smelt of damp and mildew, bed was comfortable but the bedroom warbrobes/unit surrounded the bed made me feel trapped in. Bedroom lights above the bed didn't work making the room very dark as this was at the back of the building.Woken early by workman in the building next door not a good start to a break, also the bathroom was disgusting came from the 70's My friend had room 115 all his bedroom cabinets fell to pieces which we reported and was supposed to be fixed nope they came apart again and was still in this state when we left. I moved to room 308 which was up many flights of stairs and sea view (so not a hotel suitable for elderly or disabled.) Bed was so uncomfortable has springs up my backside for 3 nights and the bedding was well worn out staines on the carpet and light fitments had bulbs missing which were never sorted out prior to me leaving after being reported. Bathroom was also well outdated like most of the rooms, even though room 308 had been redocorated some time ago. Nothing was as portrade in the photo's of this shambles of a hotel. No communial area, didn't see any staff and the carpets on the landing seemed to have seen better days. It appears that all refurbishment had been done on a budget Padlocks where seen on several fire escapes. Only positive was the location, and ideal for the drug dealing in the gardens in the square at night. If this was your think

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend any rooms to any traveller, spoke to others who were staying there outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Ashwell, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice location on arrival was meet by the manager which she was very helpful and changed are cups in are room twice as the cleaner didnt clean them also got complanmetry breakfast from the problems we had. The room was nice but very outdated and had to climb three flights of stairs to get to it, If this hotel was more modern it would deffo be worht the £250 pound we spent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

this is a lovely hotel centrally located near shopping centre and beach with free wifi television tea coffee making facilities ncp underground car park nearby close to the brighton centre and various restaurants

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph francis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Compact hotel in regency style, quirky but not without a certain charm. The hotel is well located at the head of an open square with rooms on the front enjoying a good sea view. The proprietor was friendly and helpful, but the building fabric was quite poor and really in need of refurbishment (boutique it wasn't). Breakfast, if taken (I didn't) was served at a different establishment locally (presumably no chef/kitchen).

My room was quite small, on the second floor but enjoyed good views across Regency Square to the sea (best feature). Perhaps the decor was an acquired taste - the wallpaper is eclectic - with no shortage of mirrors!!? It wasn't expensive vs. local standards so I didn't expect much - which was about what I got.

Size was OK for one but would be cramped for two. It was very hot (UK in heat wave) with no air-con, so I had to keep the window open all night to compensate. This made for a lot of noise vs. what I'm used to - traffic, party animals and seagulls, even at 3am! I found "light pollution" from streetlights (due to open window/ heat) and a bright room emergency exit more troubling. That said, I managed to sleep.

I was pleasantly surprised to see a small fridge, useful to chill cold drinks in the temperatures encountered - a welcome bonus! There was the usual kettle with tea and coffee sachets - OK, not luxurious (no biscuits). The plethora of power leads multi-ganged from one wall socket/extension was probably electrically OK, but didn't inspire confidence.

The en-suite shower room was the real disappointment - worse than I had expected for even a basic establishment. Very small, dated, basic and bordering on "pokey", It probably couldn't be much bigger without further compromising the room size, from which it taken. The shower base was sub-standard size, so barely usable, with just a curtain rather than door. The shower head wouldn't stay up if orientated horizontally. Control was a basic mixer tap with no thermostatic capability. The 70's style tiling looked "grubby" and the grouting was often cracked or coming away and this didn't help the appearance, which really didn't look that clean! Being charitable, it may have been age and wear, rather than fresh dirt, but the poor fabric would make it difficult to clean properly. Supplied towels were at least clean. Overall usable, better than nothing - just don't expect much so as to avoid disappointment.

Would I stay again? Yes if the price was right, based on convenience and if I got a sea view. At least, based on my room, it was OK for one but wouldn't be ideal for a romantic or luxurious weekend away.

Room Tip: Request a sea view and if possible a room where the bath/shower room has been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_222333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful room.
Quiet area close to restaurants .
Will definitely stay again.
The owner was lovely.
Breakfast was extra at the restaurant on the corner. Very good value for money .
We had the large room at the front with the balcony . Maybe the bathroom needed updating but wonderful relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank netball1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Arriving on Friday afternoon with a fellow colleague of mine we booked a twin room. It was clean, comfortable and very pleasant. The room had everything you would need and more such as a fridge, coffee/tea facilities, snacks and lots of toiletries! I had encountered around 4 different members of the hotel staff - all of which where very polite and willing to help us with anything and advice us on what to do in brighton when we are free. Our weekend was delightful and brighton is honestly such a beautiful place and one of my favourites. The weather was hot aswell which made it even better. Will be back again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank blahblahblah186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#29 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#25 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Regent Hotel

Property: Prince Regent Hotel
Address: 29 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Prince Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Prince
Regent Hotel Brighton
Brighton Regent
Regent Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing