We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic hotel and the staff are among the best!”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Capel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a fantastic hotel and the staff are among the best!”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I organised a surprise weekend away for my boyfriend and decided, after reading many reviews, that Hotel du Vin was the place to go. From the moment I emailed my enquiry across, the staff were unfailingly helpful. We arrived early on in the day and were able to leave our bags while we went off and enjoyed Brighton. Upon arriving back, our room wasn't quite ready (this was only 5 minutes after we'd been told it would be, to be fair) so they instantly offered us a free glass of champagne/beer or whatever took our fancy and ensured we were well looked after. So we sat in the beautiful courtyard and enjoyed our drinks in the glorious sunshine.

The room was wonderful. I had been slightly worried after reading reviews stating that the rooms are poky, but it's worth the extra few pounds to get a superior double; there was ample space. The bathroom had a walk-in shower area and a free standing bath..I wish we'd been there for more than 1 night so we could make us of it!!

Breakfast was included with the room and worth every penny. We were promptly shown to our table, well looked after and given a good choice of what we could eat.

Overall, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Other reviews state small/noisy rooms, but just do as I did and request a quiet room (away from the courtyard) as we couldn't hear any street noise at all and go for the superior double rather than cosy double, I believe it's only £20 extra and worth every penny.

Go on, treat yourself, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstyHeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    372
    191
    94
    45
See reviews for
148
718
32
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Well what can I say, this hotel really know how to make you feel special.

Just returned from a weekend break (2 nights) in this hotel and we couldnt have felt more special. It was a birthday treat and the hotel took care of every detail.

When we arrived there was a lovely note wishing us a pleasent stay and Happy Birthday from the team at the hotel and that was just the beginning. As we have a 19 month old she will roll out of the usual 'extra' beds in hotel rooms, the staff were so accommodating they bought in a single mattress and set up a bed on the floor for my daughter so she couldnt roll out and hurt herself.

Dinner in the Bistro on Friday night was outstanding, the staff were efficient, smart and friendly. There was a fantastic atmosphere and nothing was too much trouble. To top it off the steak was out of this world.

The reception staff were so helpful, my 19 month old was not eating well so at 7am (before breakfast service began) they directed me to the local co-op to get some yoghurts and cheese she could snack on.

Pub meal on saturday - what a treat, what an atmosphere and what a landlord - Alex was outstanding and the perfect host.

Thank you Du Vin for a memorable Birthday - we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pookie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

4 of us ate at the Pub du Vin. The food was excellent (3 of us had the fish n'chips). The service was superb. The Landlord, Alex, let us sample all the real ales and informed us knowledgeably about each one (all from Sussex breweries). Unusual to find someone willing to take the time to do that. Thank you Alex.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I took my fiance away as a birthday present for a night (Friday) in June. Having stayed at Hotel du Vin, Birmingham a couple of years ago I thought I knew what we would be getting. As mentioned by other reviewers the room was nicely decorated but MUCH smaller than the Birmingham branch. The reception on our TV was poor to which the staff came and seemed to fix butl ater went again and when trying to adjust this ourselves there were cables tied together with electrical tape and exposed wires which semed to be a problem they knew about but hadn't fixed. We stayed in the Rother valley room and it seems the seagull mentioned by a previous reviewer is still there! The hotel is niec but overpriced for what you get, plenty of others in Brighton, I would try these instead.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigglybebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 504 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

I stayed here with a friend on a Saturday night and we stayed in a twin room on the top floor. The room was amazing - spacious, large bathroom and great mini bar.

We didn't eat here but used the bar and there was a great buzz. The staff were helpful, interested in their clientele and friendly.

Would certainly go back - and with our dog next time as doggies welcome - a great plus.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The hotel and the staff were amazing. I can't wait to go back. Their attention to detail was fantastic as was the staff warm reception at all times of the day. This was simply the best experience in a hotel we have ever had.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelyLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Very friendly staff, relaxed and sophisticated atmosphere throughout the hotel, excellent location - really in the centre of things but quiet at night, first class breakfast, comfortable and clean bedroom. Would definitely choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny186306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
978 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Property: Hotel du Vin
Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing