We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding and stay on 11/11/11”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We cannot praise Hotel Du vin and its staff enough for the 3 nights stay over the time of our wedding ( in the Dome room )
Most of our guests also stayed a the hotel and were very happy.
Everything we ate and drank at the wedding was perfect and all our guests said the same. The service was amazing as was all the help we had.
We stayed in the Cristal room which was a beautiful room which I hope we get to stay in again. It has twin cast iron bath tubs with a tv in the middle, a HUGE bed a big comfy sofa area, a ridiculously big monsoon shower room,a balcony and everything you could wish for in it.
he breakfast in the hotel is really worth the money but I do recommend going to Bills for breakfast.
The reception staff at the hotel and who I think was the manager ( lady with short hair, think she has worked there for years) were all so friendly.
Katie our wedding helper was the best help we could have wished for and deserves a medal!
I cannot think of anything bad to say about anything at the hotel. The rooms are lovely... they may be expensive and maybe a little too expensive but the atmosphere and location is also what you are paying for.
Thankyou all HDV staff.
PS. Recommend the HDV burger and also making use of the pub Du Vin whilst you are there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank granthannahbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,172 - 1,178 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2011

I have just returned from a night at Hotel Du Vin with my partner for his 30th Birthday and as usual it lived up to our expectations! The hotel itself is a stones throw away from the sea front and close to The Lanes. There is no parking at the Hotel but if you park in Russell Road NCP you recieve a 20% discount from the hotel.

We took advantage of the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast rate and had a wonderful time! We arrived before the check in time however as our room was ready the helpful receptionist let us check in and showed us to our room.

We stayed in a superior room 'Dark Star' which had a free standing bath in the room and a seperate monsoon shower. The room itself was nicely decorated with a massive bed and dozens of pillows! Also a flat screen TV, Ipod Dock, Espresso machine, bathrobes etc.

We had pre-dinner drinks in the bar which was welcoming, cosy and made better by the amazing Jazz singer! Then onto dinner. We waited a while to be given our drinks at the beginning of the meal but apart from that it was absolutely delicious! The staff were very friendly and courteous.

All in all a great stay, we would definately stay again! Look out for the offers on the internet as this makes it a little more pocket friendly.

Room Tip: After reading reviews about some of the rooms by the courtyard being slightly noisy I asked for a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jellybelly44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We had heard a lot about the chain and took a spur of the moment night there this week after seeing their HDV deal online. A pricey treat but well worth the expense for a relaxed and sumptuous stay. Decent sized king size room for 85 if you spend 75 in the bistro. Service personal and attentive, room spacious, decor muted and modern and food excellent. Wine list to die for but caters for most pockets and the very friendly sommelier was more than happy to offer help.
All in all a practically perfect stay and we shall be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NPSSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stayed at the hotel over the weekend. Second visit to this Hotel du Vin.

First room that we checked in to wasn't very clean. The wooden toilet seat was so old, the wood was rotten / swollen and no doubt crawling with bacteria. The room was changed and again the standards of housekeeping left much to be desired. Again, the toilet seat was wooden and looked like the underside hadn't been cleaned properly in weeks and I noticed a rather dubious dried stain on the headboard - surely these areas should be checked.

The quality of the mattress was pretty poor and the feather pillows had no substance.

Food in the restaurant was good and the sommelier offered a good choice of wine. Yet again, I managed to end up with someone else's drinks on my room account.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CustardCream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Making use of the discounted room rate by eating in the Bistro (minimum spend required) we find to be an excellent way to spoil ourselves.
The room was up to the usual standard as we've experienced with other Hotel Du Vin locations. The staff were very friendly and welcoming both at the reception as well as in the bar / dining areas. Parking is something you'll need to consider as the hotel has none to offer. There are several local NCP car parks and the reception do have discounted tickets available. Check with the reception before parking, we used the NCP located near the Theatre which didn't apply under the discounted rate. 24 hours cost £25. The roll top bath is the perfect way to unwind while sipping a cold glass of fizz after spending hours winding your way along the promenade and through the town.
The beach front is less than 2 minutes from the hotelThe nearby shops, narrow streets and independent intriguing items on sale will keep you busy for hours.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oowad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I can't believe this hotel isn't number 1 for hotels in Brighton!!! I have stayed at the top 2 and they are not as good as hotel du vin!!! Everything about this hotel is superb. A definate must if you are looking to stay in Brighton and if you can push the boat out go for a junior suite as they are simply gorgeous!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I have been meaning to write a review for ages, but we had a Xmas dinner for two families on Xmas Day 2010. It cost a fortune and the food was terrible. The service was slow. The food seemed poor quality and presented without any thought whatsoever. It seemed like the chef had the day off and we were charged £75 per head. The children were charged full rates. The coffee was cold, the puddings were horrible and I have tasted better meat at the local good value carvery pub. We have had many really lovely meals at HduV, but this seemed very cynical and was very disappointing. Although, on a good note we didn't have any washing up!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank nick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,249 reviews
1.8 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.4 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £94 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing