We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique Foodie Hotel”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Foodie Hotel”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This is a fantastic example of how you combine a slightly more traditional design style, executed well with a gastronomic restaurant.

The whole concept of Hotel du Vin has always been one that I enjoy, infusing desirable locations, with spacious, well designed bedrooms and fine dining restaurants with style.

We stayed in a suite at the hotel with some friends a while back, the room has a lovely freestanding bath in the room with a large comfy bed.

Definately worth a visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you go for an upgraded room, such as a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    371
    190
    94
    44
See reviews for
148
716
32
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed for 2 nights when my neice had a civil ceremony there, which was well organised & the meal was great.
Overall very satisified with our room which was very clean & comfortable, with an excellent shower & lovely products. Even had fresh milk in the fridge for morning tea.
Staff were fantastic, nothing was any trouble, & they helped us in & out with all our luggage.
No car parking at hotel, so you need to park where the hotel get 25% discount as very expensive to park @ £25 per day, but you can drop off your bags & then go & park.
Very expensive bar 2 x 1/2 lagers cost £7.90!! No draught lager/beer...why not?
No sea views which was a shame, but otherwise well located for seafront, nightlife & shopping.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice & good service, plus they start at 7am in the week which is great for early risers like us!!
No lift that we could see so maybe not suitable for elderly/disabled.
The seagulls were a pest as they were very noisy and woke us up about 4am!
Overall very good, but quite expensive as sea view is a must on the coast, & we would prefer parking on site.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed one night for my partners 30th, in the gosset room. Room was fantastic as was the customer service. I think you can always trust the Du Vin chain for good quality. Particularly impressed with nespresso machine in the room, lovely twin baths overlooking the sea and great ipod dock system.

We had dinner bed and breakfast deal and although the drinks and service were extra, I think it was a great deal. Dinner was spot on, 3 courses all great - including 2 steaks done perfectly. Had a couple of drinks out on the nice courtyard terrace which was lovely and I imagine would be even nicer in good weather, but the little cigar hut thing was great even in the rain.

Only slight downside was the breakfast, which wasnt quite up to the rest of the trip, not bad - just not great. but on the whole I fully recommend.

Room Tip: Gosset room spot on - twin baths overlooking the sea as well as massive walk in shower in the bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jslondon85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We celebrated our first anniversary at Hotel du Vin in Brighton and were really impressed. The hotel is well located for mooching around the lanes or the seafront. The room was on the small side, but perfectly big enough for what we needed, we loved the bathroom with large shower and roll top bath, and the nespresso machine in the room was a lovely touch.

We ate in the restaurant the first night and had a lovely meal with a very nice choice of wine, and we loved breakfast the following day (lots of options - continental, full english, eggs benedict / royale). I thought the staff were wonderful throughout the stay - everything was handled quickly and efficiently, and it felt like nothing was too much trouble.

Although I would say our stay was pricey (we stayed on the weekend of the Jubilee), I felt it definitely justified the price and I would definitely choose to stay in this hotel if we return to Brighton (and would certainly consider the chain if we stay elsewhere).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kreeves1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Lovely location and venue for a team meeting for 9 people, staff organised a meeting room change late at night - the 'Screwpull' room is in the basement with no natural light.

*The bedrooms have great facilities and were very clean.
*The bar is extremely expensive.
*Excellent breakfast
*Helpful & courteous staff

Some people complained of noise from the courtyard after 11pm and also the car park discount arrangements are only with a car park which is 10 minutes walk away so be aware if you have lots of bags!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMPORTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Went here for an early eve cocktail. I've got no prob paying £10 for a cocktail when it's worth it and it was.... However totally spoilt by the obnoxious bar staff swearing e at each other totally unacceptable. So spoilt my evening and we left. Thought the whole place was dark and dusty dirty and frequented by Chavs and most uncouth staff very bad taste . Defiantly disappointed and won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Pd1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We decided to spend our 52nd Anniversary in Brighton, on the basis that the weather looked crap and we'd probably be on our own if we stayed at home!! So after some research we decided upon the Hotel du Vin--we had eaten there several times, stayed at a couple of the sister hotels, and we got a good deal. The two nights were fantastic. Charley organised it all for me, and her colleague Lea sorted out the stuff when we arrived. The food was excellent--freshly cooked breakfast--and the whole team attempted to make our stay the best, and they succeeded!!! Will certainly be back next year. Well done and very many thanks.

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel receptionists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antho7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
976 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Property: Hotel du Vin
Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing