We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional staff and rooms”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Exceptional staff and rooms”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I have no idea how some of the people here can say the staff were rude. My partner and I found them to be exceptional, they went out of their way to make us feel welcome, possibly the best customer service i have ever experienced. Perhaps it is in the way in which some people must talk to the staff there that makes them not as exceptional as they were to us (treat others how you wish to be treated). As we were waiting for our room a waiter brought over some complimentary champagne for our anniversary - amazing! Whilst sipping on champange we watched a snooty family complaining about something or other and the way in which the staff handled it was superb (i certaintly wouldnt have been as understanding).

The rooms were an absolute treat. the bed was huge and so, so comfortable and soft. the bathroom was divine. big bath and the showerhead was just amazing!! room was spotless, so clean and has everything you would want - hairdryer, tv, ipod dock, air con, bath robes, large cupboard to hold your clothes.

We had breakfast included. There was a wide variety of foods, all very delicious and I got the omelette as well, once again service was exceptional and the food was absolutely delicious!

No complaints at all, room, staff and breakfast buffet were all exceptional!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bardrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    372
    191
    94
    45
See reviews for
148
718
32
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We have stayed in 8 other hotel du vin hotels and rate them highly. Upon arrival we where upgraded and given a complimentary drink due to the room not being ready. This wasn't a problem as we relaxed in the comfortable bar area and where happy that we'd been upgraded.
The room was lovely with the luxurious bath and shower and comfortable bed. The air-con was a must as there's seagulls outside which give you an early morning call if you have the windows open.
The disappointment came when we ate in the restuarant. Some of the dishes are amazing and well worth the money, but the fillet steak at £27 was small and only came with garnish which compared to the sea bass with linguine, green beans and pesto for nearly half the price was more than worth it. The second evening my wife's chicken was raw inside with bloody juices. This is unaccetable for a restuarant of this standard.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Sady I found this Hotel to be dirty and the staff very rude and unhelpful... considering this was supposed to be a romantic break away that we had very much been looking forward to! the rude attitude of the staff and the run down filthy room spoilt things for us a little...(we complained about the state of the room and was spoken to very rudely by the staff who really could not of cared less about the dusty smelly room they had shoved us in!).:-( we will not be staying here again.. we come to Brighton loads and usually choose to stay in the Hotel Du Vin but they seem to of taken the eye off the ball recently a let what was once a decent Hotel slip down the pan some what!! Brighton has plenty of great cheaper Hotels to stay in and we look forward to sampling those in the future.... don't waste a fortune on rude treatment and sub standard rooms by staying here!!

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We were looking forward to a luxurious night in a top-end hotel after cycling down from Brighton on a Saturday, and for £200 a night, this hotel didn't meet expectations. Our room was on the ground floor directly off the outside courtyard, which meant it was both noisy and smokey - at one point in the night, I even had to come outside to ask the nightporter to stop shouting into his walkie-talkie. The room was also damp, and had no window so was dark - free wifi didn't work at all.
The staff varied - a couple were very helpful but most were snooty and couldn't be bothered, typified by our being offered an 11.30am checkout instead of the usual 11am when we asked for a late check-out.
I also agree with other reviewers - the 8am fire alarm on a Sunday seems to be a common problem, and very irritating.
For £200, there must be better alternatives in Brighton.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and I went here for our anniversary. The room was good, with a queen size bed and a good size bathroom. It had a TV, an ipod dock and coffee facilities althought we didn't use them.
The food was marvelous, the service excellent and the staff polite and friendly. We first had a drink and quiet chill out on the sun terrace which was lovely, but my favourite was the bar area which had sumptuous leather chairs/couches and candlelight by night. The house "hotel du vin" wine was excellent too, as were the ciders that my husband was drinking. We're in our 40's/50's so like nothing better than a quiet drink and a chat in nice surroundings, particularly after a wonderful meal. When I booked this I could see that it was more expensive than other hotels in Brighton, but I thought it was worth the extra. A bit pricey maybe but it made it a lovely stay rather than an ok one so it depends what you're looking for.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DilligafDilligaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Great hotel excelent location we were booked in for one night but decided to stay for another as the weather was fabulous the rate was good considering we phoned though to reception to see if they had avalibility staff were very helpful we would defiantly stay here again

Room Tip: larache room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waltonj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed here for 1 night after our wedding party, courtesy of husband's friends who got us the Junior Suite room as a gift.

Room was spacious, with a bath tub in the living area. Toilet was a strange design, it was long and narrow, with 2 showers. The washing area could be bigger though. Room came with nespresso machine, fridge and the typical things that you find in a hotel. What was missing was the slippers! TV reception was not that good too.

Service was friendly but a bit slow. We ordered our breakafst and it came 10 minutes late. What was irriating was the 8am alarm on Sunday morning which totally distrubed our sleep. After reading trip advisor, I realised that it was quite common.

Location wise, it was quite near the Brighton sea front and the city centre. However, I would not pay 360 pounds to stay here. On a side note, the food at the restaurant was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandagal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
980 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Property: Hotel du Vin
Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing