We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
midlands UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed here for 1 night January 2012.
from the moment I walked into reception I adored this Hotel. Totally first class treatment from the staff and the rooms are wonderfully amazing. we were upgraded to a suite with a large roll top bath in the the lounge area.

Very comfortable nights sleep, excellent location, excellent staff.

Breakfast was one of the best I have had. I am an " Earl Grey connoisseur " and loved my Cup of Tea. Scrabbled eggs were to perfection. the choice was excellent.

Top Class Hotel
No Complaints at all, we will stay again.

Room Tip: They are all good...!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanya_turner69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    359
    189
    90
    44
See reviews for
138
699
32
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Been to this hotel before and therefore pretty knew what too expect. Booked Xmas dinner many months ago at the cost of £100.00 each and there was 3of us.
Could not fault the service. The staters were superb and the beef and turbot great the turkey however was a compressed round circle of meat with stuffing in the middle not great.
The desserts were great and overall the food was good worth £100 each not sure but what was the upshot was a non discretionary ten percent service charge so for 3 Xmas dinners and a bottle of wine just shy of £400 was it worth this well you would probably say yes on Xmas day but not when I found out other places were serving up freshly cut meat from the bone for £35 per head

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JASON F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Stayed here for just one night. Had a great room with a huge bathroom - freestanding bath and a massive shower. Great decor and facilies in the room - the Nespresso machine is a great touch.

Hotel itself is v stylish - with a lively bar. You wouldn't know you were in a hotel bar - felt more like a very trendy independent bar!

Excelent location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TomLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Quite simply the best hotel in Brighton. Phil has assembled an excellent team that deliver service, comfort and a quality product. The rooms are well furnished and impeccably clean. When people ask where to stay in Brighton, it's HDv every time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiscansBiscuitTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

I recently spent two nights here early December for my birthday. Upon arriving my initial impression of the building from the outside was of how quaint and quirky it looked. It's lovely.

Check in was smooth and we were taken upstairs to our room. I loved the fact that you needed a key to enter the corridor from the security point of view. We were offered an upgrade but decided to stick with the room we had booked , which we were happy with.
Room was very comfortable and organised.

Had a peek in the bathroom and initial thoughts were where's the shower and bath....... Behind the bathroom door was a quirky staircase that wound up to another floor with a huge shower and bath, absolutely fab, just loved it.
Patio doors opened on to a terrace with little tables and chairs which would be fab in the summer .
Breakfast was amazing , so much choice . Our daughter joined us for breakfast ( she is a student here) and again in the evening as we had booked the restaurant for my birthday meal. Fab food and good choice of wines.
The bar has a very chilled and relaxing feel to it, it's the hub of the building.
We were very impressed with the location as its five minutes to everywhere from here. It's so central.
Couldn't fault the hotel . Loved it .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagsF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

We visited this hotel for a weekend fun stay. Chose to stay here because I have dined here a few times which has always been nice.

The first room they gave us the heating was broken and there was snow on the ground so very cold first night.
The shower flooded too as the water would not drain away.

We complained and was given another room, it was annoying having to re pack and unpack again we were there for 2 nights. The second room was a suite and was a little better but still cold and again the shower flooded again it was disgusting. We couldn't wash properly.

Couldn't wait to get home!
Not worth the prices they charge
(just to have a room in the bath!)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cupcakebrown1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chepstow
Level Contributor
141 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Plus points:
> good location
> excellent breakfast
> really nice bar areas & pub
> nice bathroom in our room
> nice building & restoration

Negative points:
> Main bedroom area was small & felt cramped
> Noisy aircon / fan
> reception area small
> quite pricey given some of the above points related to the bedroom

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fivesheds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,888 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Property: Hotel du Vin
Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing