We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab-u-lous”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 30 January 2013

First time to a Hotel du Vin and it is lovely, we had one of the suite rooms, with the 2 baths in the middle of the room - how decadent is that, brilliant, we loved it.

6 different flavours of tea (no Tetleys ! Why is it always Teltleys tea bags in hotels), coffee pod machine, jumbo shower, heated floor in bathroom, massive beds.

Staff great and friendly, breakfast was usual fare but all tip top quality, we didnt try to cooked breakfast

Apart from the weather there isnt anything I would have changed

Looking forward to trying out the others around the country

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boomer-360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

963 - 969 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

Spent one night here in a seaview suite. Lovely room, very spacious with 2 rolltop baths at one end and a telescope to look out to sea. Really nice bathroom with a rainfall shower. Comfy bed but a little tired so didn't give great support, but l'm very small so didn't bother me too much. Pillows were gorgeous. Reception were good throughout the stay and breakfast was lovely. Fresh orange juice and quality yoghurt and cereals. Staff in restaurant were very good.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: choose a suite, they're worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Time was when the HduV group was a byword for quality - but times change.
Don't get me wrong this is a lovely pad for a city break - excellent Brighton location, the look and feel of the decor is timeless generally if a bit cheesy occasionally (twenty clocks showing the time across the UK in the foyer.. ho, ho, oh...) and a bit bland in our room - Swiss Wine. Brand strengths such as a super comfortable giant bed and super bathrooms with roll-top bath and monsoon shower are as good as ever they were. My other half loved the Miller Harris bathroom stuff.
But you can tell when the love has gone from a business and it's starting to go here. The bistros - once loved for their superb food and wine now offer half a chicken and a choice of 15 or so white or red wines. Nothing wrong with that but in years past the table would have grown under a dictionary of a wine-list and sommelier keen to talk. Now our waitress was clueless about about why some wines were branded as being unusual.
We had an OK but unexciting beige meal before retreating to the bar for expensive but nicely done birthday drinks - another traditional HduV strength.
We had a good time and I'd recommend it - here I am doing so. But It's not what it was, although it charges like it is! I'd also recommend getting in quick - I think the accountants have taken over.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front suffer from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theupsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Very comfortable and stylish hotel in Brighton. Lovely room in courtyard. Large bathroom with freestanding bath and walk in rain shower. Tea and coffee making in room. Free wi fi. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Coffee in lounge area also very comfortable. Excellent location near to Lanes and Pier
Would definitely return

Room Tip: Can be noisy at weekend from passing weekend crowd
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W1sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed here a few days ago for one night. Checking was swift and a nice touch to be shown to your room. Very few hotels no do this. My room was great, although it was outside upstairs on some decking and had no windows so was a little odd in the morning.

The shower was great and the room was spotless. Although the tassimo machine made cold coffee, I did find a kettle in the cupboard.

Breakfast was delicious, a great resturant and lovely food and service. If I came back to Brighton I would stay again. I have not given 5 stars as the car park is a real trek away and costs £25 for the night. If you likentakingnlots of luggage look for somewhere else to stay as its a good 5 minute walk to the car park. Otherwise, hotel is great.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
Thank Windy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I recently visiting HdV in Brighton for the second time as a treat for my birthday and was not disappointed. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The location is perfect - literally steps away from the Lanes where there is a fantastic range of original jewellery shops, which is why my husband chose it so I could choose my own birthday present. We upgraded to a junior suite which was £350 for DB&B and we had everything we could want in there from a double shower to nespresso machine and bose ipod speaker. The bar area is perfect for a cold winter evening, though pretty busy so hard to find somewhere to sit. They've opened Pub du Vin since we were last there, but even at 5pm there was nowhere to sit either. Dinner was pretty good, though not amazing. Over all I'd highly recommend this and will definitely be visiting again. The only major downside is the parking situation. It's a bit of a trek to the car park where they give you a discount, which still costs £18 for an overnight stay once you've applied the £6 discount.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel in September and booked again in October because I loved it so much. Exactly what a hotel should be!The rooms are lovely, clean and spacious. Beds are comfy and the bathrooms beautiful. The breakfast is fantastic. Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Only downside is that there are alot of stairs, which wasn't a problem for me but you should ask for the room on the ground floor if you struggle with stairs! However the staff always offered to bring our bags up and down if we needed it. Couldn't rate this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,848 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.8 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £97 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing