We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must for a weekend getaway”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must for a weekend getaway”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel is outstanding and the quality of service is second to none. From the moment you check in until the moment you leave you will feel extremely special. The atmosphere in this hotel (in all areas) is great - relaxed yet stylish and having eaten in the bars and the restaurant, we can't think of any negatives. Throughout the year there are various offers available that make the total price for your getaway unbeatable. Situated just off the front near the pier you are in the heart of Brighton - we have stayed here a couple of times and have enjoyed walking along the front before leaving it all behind and heading home.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    364
    190
    93
    44
See reviews for
145
704
32
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abberley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

High expectation sadly didn't reach them. If anything the holiday inn express at Portsmouth was better. The extra £16·95 for breakfast was poor too. A lot to pay for not a lot! The service in the bar the in the evening was slow. The evening meal was not worth it.Only 3 ingredients in the starter yet only 2 on the plate!!! Returned and 3 ingredients on the plate this time! My main course ok a piece of pork belly with 3 prunes and a cone of French fries! My partner and my cousin tried the beef short ribs and were disappointed in quality and taste. Tried ordering the wine of the month that was advertised on the web site but the staff had no idea what we were asking for! Just compounded our disappointment. The bathroom was brilliant. Had huge bath and a great shower. Was handy to walk to the front and around the lanes. The lady on the desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Having stayed at HdV in Cambridge I was somehow hoping for more at the Brighton branch than it actually delivered. There is nothing very wrong with anything here, but I got the distinct impression the brand has run out of steam - just about every small hotel and B&B markets itself as 'boutique' these days, and if HdV and Malmaison led the way 15 years ago then perhaps they have been overtaken. Certainly there is nothing very imaginative about the decor or fittings.
Location is great, close to the seafront and the Lanes, and the building itself an interesting mix of old and new. Our ground floor room facing the courtyard (Catena) had all the usual bits and pieces (iPod dock, coffee machine, big TV etc) but rather poorly laid out, short on storage and noisy, with the courtyard and stairs outside the room contributing to this. The corridor outside the room seems to act as a dumping ground for housekeeping during the day, lined with sacks of clean and dirty linen and detritus from room-service well into the afternoon on the days we stayed.
Basics in the room are all good - linen, towels and toiletries are of good quality, and high levels of cleanliness in evidence. Breakfast is great - lovely cooked dishes and a buffet of fruit, juice, pastries, but dinner on our first night was less impressive.
So - a mixed bag, nothing terrible to report, but perhaps not as smart as might be hoped.

Room Tip: 'Catena' probably not the room to go for if you have a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palexri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What at treat! Arrived on Saturday to a wonderful welcome - 2 hours before check-in after a long drive, but was given my key immediately. I had a top floor room in an adjoining block, sadly no lift, but not the end of the world. The room was cosy and welcoming with top end products, and a slipper bath in the bedroom (:@). The bathroom was roomy with a large walk-in shower and we were provided with robes and lovely soft towels.

The bar area and restaurant were very welcoming and busy, and we enjoyed a wonderful Californian Viognier (£38) perched at the bar. We didn't dine at the hotel, but I enjoyed a delicious prawn and crayfish starter in the bar (£8.50) - I also loved the fact that the entire menu was available via room service.

The staff here could not have been more warm or helpful - although they were busy, they took time to be courteous, and seemed genuinely interested in their guests.

I felt the room was a little steep at £145 (room only) plus £10 for overnight parking, but overall, a lovely experience and I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage or are infirm then request a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasparilla100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here after a 36 hour journey from Australia, it was the perfect way to recover. Perfectly situated in Brighton, close to the lanes and bars / pubs and a stones throw from the beach. Very classy rooms, amazing bathroom with roll top bath and incredible shower facility, amazing bed. The hotel has a nice jazz bar and an excellent breakfast. The biggest compliment that I can pay the Hotel du Vin is that after two nights we checked in to the De Vere Grand Hotel as part of a wedding party and actually checked back in to the du Vin after the wedding as opposed to extending our stay at the Grand. A word of warning, it's a little bit of a maze inside, lots of tight corridors and plenty of stairs, we got lost a couple of times just trying to get out, or to find out room!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNev2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Good size room for a small wedding ceremony/reception. Beautiful crystal glass chandelier. Food was excellent. Staff were friendly. Nice pub attached and restaurant looked lovely. Great location. Didnt stay there as rooms seemed very expensive but i think thats just the way it is in Brighton. Would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed @ Hotel du Vin to celebrate a friends birthday & found the hotel to be excellently situated to enjoy Brighton It is just off the seafront & close to The Lanes, the restaurants & bars.
It offers quality food & wines & has a pub next door,Pub du Vin.
parking is a problem but the hotel does offer a voucher to get a discount at one of the over priced car parks.
My friend hosted a drinks party in the gallery area of the hotel which also hosts many wedding receptions.
All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,029 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Property: Hotel du Vin
Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing