We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply the best”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“simply the best”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I have stayed in most of the hotels in Brighton but this is my new favourite its personal and very chic,we had a standard room but there was nothing standard about it,The staff are great they can not do enough for you,the hotel bar is open for residents 24 hours,and the location is bang in the middle in town,would like to say a big thank you to all the staff and see you soonxx

Room Tip: sorry no photos as my phone diddxx
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shereen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    365
    190
    93
    44
See reviews for
145
705
32
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Great hotel, great bar, great staff and a great manager

We stayed here for our work Christmas Do and it was lovely. Staff very sympathetic to a hangover in the morning too

If you're going to Brighton, treat yourself

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy190482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We have eaten at HDV Brighton several times, most recently in October for a joint birthday celebration. The cocktail bar is fantastic, with an enviable selection of drinks for all tastes. I would personally recommend the house margaritas. The food is wonderful too, the steaks are always perfectly cooked, well aged and full of flavour. It's not cheap, but it's worth the money every time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TJH15787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013

we stayed for just one night, but it made a special little break, The staff were super helpful, the room was perfect (perhaps a little dark, but it added to the luxurious feeling) and the location is right near the sea front. Will definitely come back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

On first viewing from the roadside the hotel is very pleasing to the eye, a very different design from the norm.
Even though we only stayed for one night in The Du Vin, I can't image staying anywhere else at the sea front in Brighton. The hotel is in a side road off the main seafront road and takes all of 30 seconds to reach the front. The staff were lovely throughout, our room was also. We were offered one of the more luxurious rooms at a £50 upgrade but we chose our allocated room as it had everything we needed and would have done if they were the same price.
We didn't dine at the hotel as we had previously booked a wonderful vegetarian restaurant called 'terre a terre' I recommend this to anyone, vegetarian or not, wonderful food. If the breakfast we had was a guide line, I would guess the hotel restaurant would be lovely.
On asking for a later checkout we had an extra hour given foc without a fuss and I'm sure there was more if I'd asked.
The bar area is very warming and inviting, we returned to the bar after our night out, very nice except we could have done without the swearing from the Christmas company parties still in flow, I suppose we should have expected the parties being December.
As a quick sum up..... we will definitely return to the hotel on our next trip to Brighton.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The room was very disappointing. It was an awkward shaped room. I had to walk sideways to get to one side of the bed. Curtains falling off their rings, pubic hair on the floor in the bathroom, bath was gritty inside and I had to wash it before having a bath, ipod docking station didn't work and the decoration was tired. I have stayed in hotels for under a £100 which have been better far better. The bar was open 24 hours but you couldn't buy a coffee at 1am as the coffee machine had been switch off for the night. Friends stayed in another room on the same evening which was located at the top of the hotel. They didn't have any heating and no one came to repair it before they went out for the evening. On leaving the receptionist didn't ask me if my stay was enjoyable I had to tell her it wasn't!
On the whole a very disappointing experience. We wont be going again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Our room on the ground floor was small. The bathroom was a good size but it was not terribly clean with hair and stains near the bath. The bedroom was cramped for 2 people.

The I Phone docking equipment was not working and batteries were running out in the TV remote.

Location is great and the late bar was fine but prices are pointlessly high.

The décor is tired and I think I have seen better finishes in hotels half this price.

Staff were fine and we got money off our room but cleanliness is essential no matter how much you pay and I feel the stay was soured by feeling we had paid for nothing special. Breakfast is normally £18.00 and really it is not worth that amount. Try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room and friends top floor room were poor. Im sure there must be better rooms but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,028 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Property: Hotel du Vin
Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing