We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style over substance?”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The location of hotel du vin in Brighton is pretty good in that it is central and at first glance it seems really good. But then it goes a bit awry.

When I was shown to my room (very polite on reception) the two (?) staff kept emphasising the fact that the room had an nespresso machine. Very odd. Personally I don't drink coffee so that was annoying and then I had to hunt for the kettle as then nespresso machine's status must not be overshadowed by a basic such as a kettle so it was hidden away.

The room itself is spacious as is the bathroom. It looks good but basics are missing. As a lady trying to do her makeup, the lighting in the bathroom is horrendous and the mirror is over the sink which is set away from the wall so you have to élan toward the mirror bending at an angle of 45degrees from the waist or you have to stand at the side of the sink at lean to your left ian bizarre and uncomfortable fashion. There is nowhere near the sink to hang your hand towel either.

The room service menu is VERY limited.

The bar area is ok if you get one of the soft armchairs but those leather bench type seats by the wall are truly dreadful. Concrete would be softer.

Breakfast had a good selection of breads, pastries and cooked options and the granola was rather tasty. I had hoped to have breakfast in my room as a treat but they won't send a cooked breakfast up.

I didn't sleep well at all as the bar downstairs is 24/7 for residents so there was noise into the early hours. Then I was woken by clattering outside at the back which went on for over an hour. They were sorting out the bins for bin day at 7am which is really inconsiderate as the bin lorry didn't arrive until 9.

I have to say I had been really pleased to be staying at hotel du vin but was really disappointed. It's not romantic, it tries too hard (and fails a lot of the time) and it's missed the mark. Such a shame,

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apronannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

This Hotel used to be our favourite place to go with our little dog as it was comfortable and we were always made welcome. Well they have changed the sofas and layout of the bar area and now it is just uncomfortable . The long leather sofa against the wall is so hard and uncomfortable we just wanted to leave as it was just not relaxing at all. They used to have lovely squashy chairs and we would love to spend an afternoon there with a couple of bottles of wine but after visiting there yesterday just really do not feel like going back. Not sure what they were thinking when the decided to get rid of the old furniture, as they really have ruined it. Such a shame!!!! Very disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank minxkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I was here for a 2 night stay and on arrival thought wow - location, room, ambience, it's a winner. However, Tuesday night appears to be student night at the club up ship street and hotel du vin is between there and the taxi rank. Lovely sleep till 2am! Others in the party asked to move rooms but as Wednesday was quiet I was glad I hadn't. Room was large with walk in shower and roll top bath but....how do you put on make-up when the two mirrors in the room are in the dark and even someone 5'9" can't reach across the large bathroom sink. Great coffee machine, milk in fridge, iron and good magazines. Cocktails were great if a little expensive, service great in the bar and we were provided with chilli popcorn that the chef had been experimenting with (maybe a bit more chilli). For breakfast I discovered eggs Benedict with smoked salmon. Loved it and I don't like eggs! Would I go back? Location is great, rooms are great but I may forgo the flash room at the front for a quieter one

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank MrsHendricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Hotel du Vin, like its partner Malmaison, is often housed in a quirky or historic building, and this is no exception. Around 100 yards from the seafront, it's not a place for those with difficulty climbing stairs (no lift), but he rooms are large and have all you need. The drink prices are not cheap, but then it's a hotel, not a pub. The breakfasts are superb, and worth lingering over. Wifi is free (good) but very shaky (bad). Overall, great value.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mediacoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Overall the hotel was ok. The bar area and food was good, but not impressed by the hotel. We had asked for a quiet room but the room we were given was surrounded by air conditioning fans outside which made the room extremely noisy. When we asked for a quieter room we were told we could pay more to upgrade to a different room. The hotel is down a little road just off the seafront road, but we had to walk past overflowing rubbish skips and piles of sick to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank criz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Bar review only -
I have been here twice with my boyfriend now, who is a bartender at one of the best cocktail bars in Glasgow. Both times we had lovely drinks and really enjoyed it. Good atmosphere and professional staff who made us feel welcome. Bathrooms lovely and clean, music good. They also have a huge selection of alcohols and spirits to choose from..highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inaniloquent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Booked this hotel as we thought the advertising was good. Our room was rubbish, the bathroom was tiny, the toilet seat was seriously retro. And the bath was small. For nearly £200 a night the place was awful, the bed linen can be found in the most basic french B and B.please please be careful and do not book this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank Wisebirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,846 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.8 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £97 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing