We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice boutique-ish”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice boutique-ish”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great hotel for a weekend retreat. Room very clean with a nice touch for details. Great Bathroom.
Location perfect for both going for a walk at the beach and for shopping tour. Staff really friendly and helpful. Parking is a 5 min walk away and if you leave the car for a few days can add to the overall cost.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAECH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    376
    194
    95
    46
See reviews for
152
725
33
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed a single night in one of the dog friendly rooms. It came with dog bowl bed etc which is the type of nice touch you expect from hotel du Vin
Staff were helpful friendly and informative. Atmosphere in the bar was buzzing
Breakfast up to the normal very high standards of the group
Access to upstairs rooms can be a challenge for people with walking difficulties so book in the court yard
Location excellent for the sea front / Lanes

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a night at the hotel du vin in their cristal suite for one night, we checked in early and left our bags, it was very smooth and staff were friendly and polite. We retuned later and were shown upstairs to our room, as explained to us there are no lifts as its a heritage building but there were plenty of staff who would be able to help with bags/ cases. The room was very large with an 8 foot bed, huge seating area, twin roll top baths in the room, massive twin shower wet room and separate toilet. Other than the baths the best part was the private roof terrace where you go sit and relax with a sea view we were lucky enough to have great weather so made the most of it. We had dinner booked in the bistro and couldn't fault the service or the food in any way, the food and wine is very expensive but that's what we were expecting, we finished our wine in the bar afterwards which was quite as it was a Sunday evening. I haven't given 5 stars even though we loved out stay because of a couple of small points, there are no robes or slippers in the room which was quite annoying as after relaxing in the baths they were needed and also that there was no bottled water provided other than in the mini bar. There was also no hotel directory with bistro / breakfast times or any other hotel info and the air conditioning was too noisy to use at night and the room was boiling being right in the roof. These are only small points and we would definitely return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank westhamcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Excellent staff, and location, the room was Ok but very expensive, and we had managed to get a reasonable price, full price might be prohibitive. A very different and better experience than a regular well known chain Hotel group, some excellent quirky styles.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shnibser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had eaten previously at this hotel, but not stayed before. We loved the individuality and atmosphere. The staff are very attentive and obviously well trained and managed. Very polite and caring. It is often said that the big things are easy to achieve but it is the little things that count, and we felt this sums up our experience, it was the little things we noticed and really appreciated ie - good hairdryer ! a note on our bed ! quiet clearing of empty plates glasses and tables, good quality breakfast ingredients and room extras, umbrellas at the door. It may sound very corny, but it made our stay easy, so we relaxed, and that is just what we needed. If you want big chain, standard , large and impersonal space, then don't stay here. If you want to be looked after and pampered and a little escapism , then most definitely do .
Great position for seafront and central shops/lanes. Bit of a tatty street outside, so try to ignore that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

That's what you have to go through when entering the hotel. Seems like this is the only area they have. We had Larouche in the courtyard. Small with a large ish bathroom. Low end if you ask me. We've been to quite a few in this chain of hotel and this is by far the worst. Small that there isn't much wardrobe and the side table stops you opening it fully. Courtyard is also used as a smoking area. Noisy in the evening.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazzerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Not our first visit but been a while since we have been. Glad to report nothing has changed. Excellent cocktails in bar before dinner. Shown to table and immediately greeted by our sommelier Thomas who provided perfect wines to accompany our stunning meal. We had figs and gorgonzola and duck terrine. Followed by chateaubriand with garlic butter and bearnaise sauces. The garlic butter was too melted for my liking. We were too stuffed to eat dessert but enjoyed another fine glass of red to round things off before another cocktail in the bar.

Very good food for the money and whilst we probably spent too much on the wine, it was well worth it with one of the best wine selections in Brighton. Amazingly attentive staff and service. Will definitely not leave it so long before our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddie222014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,329 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.0 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Property: Hotel du Vin
Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing