We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goregeous!”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed for 1 night in one of the suites...gorgeous!! The room was lovely, light and airy. Service good at all stages particularly reception. Good cocktails in the bar, breakfast tasty and filling. Mini bar well stocked but a little expensive but apart from that can't fault the place.

Room Tip: Adur is fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graciej78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

732 - 738 of 1,392 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I am in Brighton quite frequently and the du vine has become my second home! I love its romantic/chic style, its kind staff and the great lounge bar. Everything at the du vin make me feel at home...

The only concern is about the wi-fi that sometimes does not work well...please check it!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Sconcertina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a wedding and don't have a bad word to say about the hotel or the staff. We wouldn't normally pay what we did for one night, but it was more for convenience as the wedding reception was being held here. However, we left feeling it was worth the money and would definitely stay again.
The hotel has a lot of character and is located within walking distance of lots of Brighton's best attractions.

We arrived before check in and the helpful/polite staff offered to look after our luggage which was nice.
Our room was called 'Dark Star' and it was located in a very quiet part of the hotel. I loved that it was outside in a court yard and there was only one other room next to it. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was spotless and the shower was amazing! I'll definitely request that room on my next visit.

The breakfast was fantastic. I ordered something hot from the main menu and was also told I could help myself to the breakfast table, which was full of fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, juice and more!

If you want comfort, a good nights sleep, and friendly staff, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have had the pleasure of visiting this premises a number of times over the past 2 years... It benefits from a great location, excellent service, impeccable style, and a restaurant serving delightful food and boasting an extensive wine cellar.

The breakfasts in particular are worth making the trip for, although the bar and the 'Pub du Vin' are of equal quality.

The staff clearly enjoy working at this establishment, and it is the definitive Hotel du Vin.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I always stay there while visiting Brighton. The rooms are comfortable, the staff helpful and friendly. They have a good choice at breakfast, with high quality ingredients. I would also recommend the restaurant

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent 2 nights in this very nice hotel, centrally located in Brighton. Everything from the check in to the check out has been absolutely outstanding! The staff were excellent, helpful and attentive. Beautiful and quiet room on the third floor with a reeeally comfortable bed.
We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: choose a room on the third floor if you need a great night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AxelR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked lunch here after our small wedding at the Brighton Registry Office. We arrived early and had drinks in the bar which had a lovely relaxed atmosphere. We went through to the dining room for lunch and the meal was excellent with very good service. I managed to knock over a glass of red wine and it was quickly sorted out with no fuss. After lunch we returned to the bar and had some more drinks. I would recommend the hotel for lunch as a special occasion.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0n0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,960 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,229 reviews
1.8 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £96 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing