We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10 for service”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I thought the USP of HDV Brighton must be the building part of which dates back to the early 1600's. But the staff are superb and they make this hotel something special.

The location is between The Lanes and sea front in a very old, old narrow street. Our superior room was nice enough but its bathroom was stunning. Great large walk in shower, beautiful free- standing bath - 10/10 for bathroom too. Because of the hotel's proximity to The Lanes (aka Restaurantville) we only had breakfast there and that was OK. The hotel's bars are fab, really humming and located within a stunning high ceilinged hall. Don't even think about parking in the street. They have a deal going with a nearby NCP so add c£20 a day to park your car.

The reception staff were exceptional - extremely helpful, smiling and knowledgable - they could not have been better. Well done.

Room Tip: definitely worth paying the extra to have a superior room's bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PriusExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

771 - 777 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for a wedding. Hotel location is good, just next to seafront and the lanes. The bar has a lovely terrace for drinks. Our standard double room was noisy on Saturday night as our room was overlooking ship street. Brighton is very lively with hen and stag parties on a Saturday night so there was loud revelry all night long and our sleep was very disturbed. I think it is an expensive hotel (210 pounds on a group rate) for this reason and I got a better night's sleep at the premier inn just up the road which was about a tenth of the price on a deal.Breakfast was really good. A good buffet selection and the hot breakfast selection was good. Overall an average stay.

Room Tip: Don't overlook ship street on a Saturday night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank visitor049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Last minute decision was made to stay here and to be on site for a wedding we were attending so got a standard room for a "reasonable" rate the day before.

As others have mentioned, there is no parking here, but there is a layby directly outside for dropping things off. The nearest car park (NCP) is a 10 minute walk away, and with the discount the hotel gives you it is £20.20 per night (should be £25).

Anyway, check in was great, our room was ready early given the weather outside and the check in clerk took us up to the room and showed us its facilities. The room was nice and spacious, plenty of storage space and equipped with everything you could need, hairdryer, iron, safe, umbrella etc.

There was a Nespresso machine in the room though we didnt use this. The bathroom had underfloor heating which was lovely, and the best part has to be the large round rain shower head - could have stayed in there all day!

View wise, well, we could see the sea if we looked out of the window and turned our heads to the right so I guess you could call that a sea view!

The wedding catering and staff were excellent and everything seemed to go without a hitch. The hotel has charm and is very quirky with plenty of places to go if you want a change of scenery, such as the courtyard, either of the two bars, the bistro looked nice though of course we didnt have need to use it, and the wedding room was a good size for the 90 or so guests which attended.

Overall it was a good stay. Why not 5 stars? For the prices charged you expect the room to be perfect. If i'm being picky, ours was not perfect. The bed-sheet had black marks on it as if it hadn't been washed (it had been, but looked otherwise), the air con rattled when on (though the hotel did try and fix this but to no avail as maintenance had gone home), some of the white painted walls in the room looked a bit grubby, some surfaces (such as the TV stand) were covered in dust and although some may find to their taste, both pillows on the bed were incredibly soft - I couldn't find any others in the room (most hotels have hard and soft).

However, these are minor things, and overall we enjoyed our stay. Would go back there again, though I think next time we may go for a superior room or a suite. The free hotel wi-fi was excellent as well, and accessible from everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GaryH_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Rooms were very clean and beautifully decorated. Staff were outstanding and extremely amenable when we asked to switch rooms due to noise from a wedding. Hotel has been beautifully refurbished and quality is better than many 5 star hotels. Would highly recommend staying here. It is also cheaper than the local premier inn without the awful stag parties and hen nights!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were staying elsewhere, but on Saturday decided we wanted a quiet lunchtime cocktail - I'd spotted the courtyard when we walked down Ship Street past the Hotel and thought that would be a great place - when we got there it was just a little windy / chilly so we went into the Bar - what a great choice - very comfortable chairs, loads of space, good staff, and great Margaritas. On Sunday early afternoon, we felt hungry, thought about going back to the Bar for drinks and nibbles, but ended up in the Restaurant for Sunday Brunch - so glad we did - great food and drinks, a buzzing atmosphere, great value, and lovely staff. And guess what, we ended up back in the evening for another couple of margaritas - a really nice way to finish our weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigcheeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We would like to thank the team at Hotel Du vin for looking after us all for the grand final in Brighton, we hosted not only the owners of the competition at the hotel but also the CEO of the Seychelles Tourist board and world marketing boss - both had flown into the UK that day for the show, and both said what an amazing hotel it was - a real gem in Brighton, friendly helpful polite staff, gorgeous rooms, and one of the best bars and restaurants the city has to offer, thank you again from us all at next hot model uk guys,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon-darcy-ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A very nice boutique hotel just steps from the Brighton waterfront and a short walk from the main shopping and dining areas in the city. I arrived shortly before the check-in time and my room was not ready, however the staff were very helpful and rushed to prepare it very quickly. This gave me a chance to try some of the excellent food served in the courtyard restaurant. The hotel is very tastefully decorated, well maintained and managed. It was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mish3al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,596 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,024 reviews
0.3 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 43 in Brighton
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £97 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing