We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Have visited Hotel Du Vin in Brighton a couple of times with family and my husband. I highly recommend the Sunday Brunch- 4 courses- the best being the market table. Really great high quality food and good service.
We have stayed in the hotel itself too- really beautiful, a little on the pricey side. Try to get a room near the back as any that face out on to Ship Street are far too noisy in the evenings- no double glazing!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    359
    189
    90
    44
See reviews for
138
699
32
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights. Nice but compact room. All staff were very friendly and accomodating. There was a wedding on both nights but neither caused any issues. Had a meal at the restaurant which was brasserie style. 6.5 out of 10. Good and charming service but food was okay. Nothing special. Great location for the lanes but nowhere to park and no arrangements with local garages for any discount. Overall very good and I would stay again.
.

Room Tip: We stayed on top floor and did not overlook front or streets so was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My boyfriend and I, just spent a weekend in Brighton. Although we were not fortunate to stay at the Hotel Du Vin we did happen to just stumble upon this lovely hotel on a ramble around Brighton. Popping in to be nosy, we stopped for drinks - Ok the average price of a drink is fairly pricey, but being London people we weren't overly shocked. However, I would like to praise the service and friendly staff, whilst we stopped for a few drinks, some free nibbles, a knowledgeable talk inside the cigar room. Staff provided us with a map of the city, restaurant recommendations and even made a booking at a restaurant for us. WOW, and we weren't even staying there. Hopefully we will push out budget a bit for a stay next time around.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaimered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My mum and I stayed at the Hotel Du Vin in Brighton last night - its located right by the sea. We stayed in the Rectory room which was huge and had a lovely roll top bath. Loved the Miller Harris amenities. We ate dinner in Bistro and the service was excellent. Highly recommend the roast cod and the crepe suzette soufflé. Definitely would recommend for a Brighton get away.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We were expecting something special in this dramatic faux French decorated restaurant but were disappointed. The food was OK but very unimaginative; for the price we expected something much more exciting. The staff were friendly and attentive. Note for older people - the acoustics are very poor - it was difficult to hold a conversation.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Olliff-Thor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed in the Brighton HDV over the weekend while visiting family in the South, and I have to say, I love the HDV hotels and Brighton is no exception!
HDV Brighton is a little hidden gem, just off the main street, and a stone’s throw from the beach.
Unlike most of the sea side hotels in Brighton which seem to be rather tacky, worn and in need of a good paint, the HDV is rather lovely.
An old and beautiful listed building which has been cared for much more than most of the other sea battered properties. It is a calm oasis from the chaos of the weekend revelers and has an altogether more “quality” felt to it.
This is a hotel you would visit even if it wasn’t on the Brighton sea front.
The staff are great, very friendly, helpful and courteous. With good product knowledge too, you get the impression all the staff are hospitality professionals and not just those working in bars to fill the gap between something else.
Food is good, you would have no worries eating there for breakfast, lunch and dinner if you don’t fancy fish and chips on the prom, and there is the pub next door which also serves food as a change from the French Brasserie type fare.
Rooms are lovely, clean with crisp white sheets and all have a HDV signature bath and bathroom, LOVED the shower!
All in all, the HDV Brighton is a great hotel, with more to off guests who want a bit better than just Brighton Rock and a bag of chips!
(Great wine selection too, goes without saying but while I am pregnant I didn’t get to sample it all!)

Room Tip: Call the hotel rather than booking online and see what deals they can do for you. Often Sunday night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemonie2Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelierhimself, Manager at Hotel du Vin, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Lemonie2Dubai,

Thank you for your lovely review of Hotel Du Vin Brighton. We really loved reading it and we were glad to hear that you had a lovely time.

Kind Regards

Simon Maguire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from an excellent three day stay at HDV Brighton. Daughter was over from Dubai for a week in the UK and loves The English seaside. The Hotel and staff were fantastic; both in terms of food and service. Valet parking the car was a real treat having just driven down from Cheshire. Both rooms were lovely with quality linens, towels and toiletries. I loved the espresso machine. I also enjoyed a drink and chat with Marco in The Pub Du Vin whilst the ladies got ready for the evening meal. I am a big fan of the chain and have stayed in most but in my view HDV Brighton is the best.

Helpful?
Thank Roger Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,892 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Property: Hotel du Vin
Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Family Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing