We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, Great Hotel, great food, Great wine, great bathroo.....”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 21 February 2010

we stayed at the hotel du vin for a 2 night stay on a half board basis.
on arrival at 3 pm , we were advised our room was not ready due to the busy valentines celebrations the previous night, so we went and had a hot choc and a drink in the bar.
and waited and waited...eventually we went back to reception and our bags had already been taken to our room! nice suprise.
Our room was on the compact size with a terrace/balcony flat screen tv, cd and dvd players and had a great kingsize bed and a great big bathroom with a roll top bath, walk in raindrop shower and a hot towel rail. fluffy towels and robes.
The bar is great fun with an extensive wine list, cosy sofas and pleasant ambience, even on a cold february afternoon.there is a terrace .
our half board included 1 3 course meal with all choices on the menu included and 1 side dish each. Yes you have guessed it already, the food really is great, chicken liver and foie gras pave, ox cheek stew, great creme brulee, seafood crepe, sea bass on a pea risotto and a to die for choc parfait. The service was great and the sommelier crooned about his great wines. nice guy, very knowledgeable.

A small minus was the dirt ring around the bath that wasnt removed despite being asked on the 1st morning and the empty juice bottle under the bed. to be fair the duty manager on check out was appalled and gave us a hefty discount. which was unexpected but welcome all the same. my wife promptly spent this on shoes in the lanes!
All in all a great hotel, with good rooms, great bathrooms, great food and service. Great for the lanes and its quirky shops and alleyways NOT cheap though but you do get want you pay for !!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelagentnixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,280 - 1,286 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2010

Booked to stay on a windy wet and miserable February day and was pleasantly surprised. I must say that the reception area could have been better situated as you enter through doors to one side and have to duck under the stairs! Check in easy and quick my only gripe was the room i was in was the other end of the building through a number of doors and wasnt that easy to find - i should have listened to the directions though!!
I stayed in Dark Star - all the usual mod cons for a hotel of this price bracket - my only critism was that the shower drain seemed to be blocked.
For guys if you have a drink in the Pub Du Vin its perfect as you receive no signal on your mobile so no distractions from the other half great excuse! The main bar in the hotel is comfortable and staff are friendly.
Breakfast was fantastic - full English and the dining room was shared by 4 other partons nice and quiet.
I will stay again although may ask for room nearer reception!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnyBongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

the reception area is not very impressive, this leads to a very dark and shabby bar. we ate in the bistro and talked of suggesting the du vin to relatives who are visiting later next month but quickly dismissed this after the service in the bistro. it was very slow, and not very attentive... i do not expect to borrow salt from the next table!, and the wine waiter took ages to come to our table. the food was excellent, except for a very limp, tired leaf salad. so if the hotel service is a reflection of the bistro then,,sorry .. you have lost a customer!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnpeg.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

The Hotel Du Vin chain has a great reputation so I was excited about staying at the one in Brighton. The room rate was £200 excluding breakfast (I think we had a superior double), which was expensive as the room, although clean, was a bit basic. The bathroom was lovely however. The reception area is right by a door, which the receptionists had to keep closing as it was freezing everyone at the reception desk and in the bar area (which was lovely, but freezing). The receptionists were friendly and efficient enough but looked very confused when I asked them if I could leave a wedding gift somewhere for the bride and groom who were having their reception in the hotel. I saw the gift later on left on chairs in the room where the disco was.

Another guest who was checking out at the same time as me was making a complaing about having spent the night in a suite which was next to a fire door that kept banging with guests and room service going by and the fact that she had to send her breakfast back because it wasn't cooked properly.

The location of the hotel is fantasitc, on a road off the main, seafront road. There is no parking so you have to use a nearby NCP (£16 for 24 hours). We are a planning a return trip to Brighton soon but won't be staying at the Hotel du Vin.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mogs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Superb.So many hotels,particularly in Brighton,are tired and dull.This palace has immaculate large rooms and the crispest bedlinen .Housekeeping was immaculate.There is an upmarket pub but i ate in the bistro.The menu is fairly priced.My only criticism is that the wine list was thin compared to other hotels in the group but i was told that 100 new choices were being added soon.
Staff at reception were genuinely charming and helpful.The best place to stay in Brighton.My bath had an oblique view of the sea and the shower room was bigger than many a hotel room! Faultless.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DominicBathEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

After spending the day in Brighton and finishing off with a glass of wine at Hotel du Vin we decided to have an impromptu get away and stay the evening.

The staff were very helpful and pleasent and arranged a superior room which we requested was off the road side of the building, were shown to a great room with a fantastic bathroom, no need to ask for anything, everything was available for us and the staff let us know if we needed anything else to simply call reception. It was a very nice, discreet service.

The room cost us £135, without breakfast, which was a little expensive but for a last minute booking, I guess its the price you pay.

We had a lovely evening in the bar, drinking wine, playing board games, and couldn't have asked for anything more.

Will definitely go there again on future escapades.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyHaslemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Fantastic food in the bistro restaurant, but slow servi8ce. HIghly recommend going there for dinner for a treat as the food is of a very high quality.
The hotel is nice but the 'Septima' room is a superior room located in the courtyard and so noisy we had to move rooms. I'd recommend staying in a room in the main hotel as likely to be quieter. The rooms are nice but small, Very comfortable bed. Clean hotel

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemmaLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,249 reviews
1.8 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.4 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £95 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing