We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Vin
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Queens Hotel(Brighton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,490)
Filter reviews
1,490 results
Traveller rating
700
418
216
106
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
418
216
106
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroll top bathhdv brightonmonsoon showerjunior suitefree standing bathwalk in showernespresso machineno liftwedding partylovely hotelsunday nightsea frontroom ratemini bareggs benedictmy partnerfollowing morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,337 - 1,342 of 1,490 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We have stayed a number of times before and the service has always been slightly iffy, but this time it was particularly poor.

I arrived after 6pm and although my room was ready the receptionist made a snide comment about the fact that my friends had arrived "very early" in fact, they arrived at 2.30pm knowing that the room would not be ready until 3pm but were surprised that they could not actually check in until 4.30.

Ordered a bottle of Sparkling wine at the bar but could not order a second as they had none chilled, ordered a gin and tonic instead which was served with cucumber rather than lemon or lime - bizarre!

Asked for a table in the restaurant at 9pm on Friday night but the hostess told us we could not get a table as they were going to be very busy after the football. Was confused as to whether the restaurant was fully booked at 9pm or if the kitchen was unable to cope as the restaurant was not even half full. After speaking to another member of staff we finally got a table as long as we were in at 9am!!! Again bizarre as the restaurant had plenty of tables free and the forecasted "football crowd" did not show up.

The food however was very, very good, my partner and I shared the Chateaubriand, which was delicious but at £275 for 4 people (including wine) it is pricy.
Next morning the newspapers ordered failed to arrive and the breakfast staff seemed distracted... the fact that the hotel manager, two chefs, a receptionist and two other members of staff were down the road having a cigarette may have had something to do with it.
Upstairs lounge closed off from 11.30 Sat morning which did not bother us as we were going out for the day but The courtyard also closes at 11pm so although the bar is open 24 hours if you smoke you have no option but to go outside the hotel. This is a hotel with a lot of rules, few of which seem to have the client in mind.
Checking out on Sunday morning my bill was incorrect. All in all for £750 for two people sharing for two nights it may be a 4 star hotel but the service is second rate and we will not give it another chance.

If you are looking for a great place for lunch "Santiago's Restaurant" on the boardwalk (Turn off the prom at the Odeon) is spectacular, excellent food, wonderful service and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgrainne4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Note the following:

1) Room was not ready on arrival (at 1500 as advised), so we had to wait until 1540 with no apology; had a drink in the shabby bar while we waited, but if check-out is at 1100 why does it take almost five hours to prepare the room?

2) Interior corridors noisy; we specifically asked for a quiet room on a high floor but were given a room on the first floor where a group was booked in that was noisily coming and going until 0300. The next day we brought this to the attention of the receptionist who failed to offer explanation or compensation; she did however, assume we'd be returning and offered to note a preference for a future visit. No chance - we will not be going back.

3) Car parking is extortionate at £23/ 24 hours;

4) Spacious but oddly shaped room where it was easy to walk - painfully - into the bed;

5) Very poor quality analogue TV reception.

Potentially a great hotel, but its staff clearly think they're better than they are.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jejr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We spent one night in the Durius room (superior). The room was extremely spacious and we had no noise issues from revellers outside as the room did not overlook the seafront. The roll top bath and separate walk in shower were fabulous. The only negative is the mirror on top of the sink. It's too high but there is a full length mirror just outside the door. The bed was very comfortable but the TV was awkwardly located, postioned very far back and to the left. There was a nicely stocked mini bar. Check in was very friendly and we were given a choice of rooms. We opted for the quieter one with the not so nice view. Rooms that overlook the seafront are much noisier. Check out was efficient, however we were charged for drinks at the bar we did not have. The charge was immediately removed from our bill while another staff member went to doublecheck the receipts. You will also get charged £1 for a donation to charity, which is noble of Hotel du Vin but the approach is wrong. When asking for donations, even if it is as little as £1, it would be nice for people to know more about the charity other than the name of it. Or else you just feel obligated to donate. We suggest leaving a pamphlet in the room so guests can have a look at the type of work the charity does and where the funds donated go to. Then the guest can decide if they wish to donate upon check out. Overall it was an excellent stay in a lovely room and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PB&PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We love Malmaison ! And to hear it has a sister company well he'll we had to try it! We arrived about 8 pm on a Monday night to find the hotel via sat nav parked at NCP car park few streets away about £16 for 24 hours nothing like what other people have said eg £24 + anyway excellent place very close to beach as we booked in we where told that we had a free room upgrade to a suite ! Nice ! We booked via the hotel web site as we looked at other sites saying that we where saving x punt but the hotel web site was the best. Room all good ! Staff all good breakfast amazing go for full English ! Ps jamie olivers is down the road nice food ! And next door to that is "lucky voice" a kareoke place where you can hire your own private room by the hour to sing away like a drunk monkey hit by a car? ..... Any way all good! Would stay again and it was not to busy in the town mid week !

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordMonkeyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

The service was efficient and warm, and it was obvious listening to a range of conversations that the reception staff dealt well with a variety of problems and issues.
The bedroom was clean, elegant and comfortable - except for the fact that in common with so many hotels a double room only had one comfortable chair - not conducive to comfort for a couple. The bathroom was well stocked and immaculate. Glossy magazines were welcome, good mini bar.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisabeth-nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews