We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for the money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malmaison Brighton
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level Contributor
146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Not bad for the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here to make a long weekend out of going to a concert, we booked an executive room with a marina view, very large room with settee, and couple of chairs, decent kingsize bed and nice brightly lit and clean bathroom. There was only a hanging space, no wardrobes and clothes hung above where the kettle sits, which seemed like a good way to get your suit steamed but not really a good idea! Shared outside area for all marina facing rooms on the ground floor with a table and couple of chairs, so would be nice in decent weather.

Bar area very large with nice views over the marina, staff in here were very friendly. We ate in the restaurant on our first night, this was probably not as speedy as it should have been as they were not that busy when we arrived. Seemed to take about 30 minutes to take the order and the time between courses seemed a little too long, although better than having your starter taken away at the same time your main course is presented. The food itself was very nice, well presented and just the right amount. Breakfast the next morning was OK, although the scrambled egg was out of a packet. Breakfast over the weekend runs until 10.30am, be aware that a lot of people like a later breakfast, we went into breakfast around 10am and had to wait for a table, however no longer than about 15 minutes. Restaurant staff quite friendly but if anything sometimes seemed to be a little distracted and not as attentive as some other restaurants. Room service continental breakfast the second morning was OK, however the time selected of between 9.30am and 10am was missed or ignored, as the knock on the door with breakfast came at 8.35am.

Parking is in the multi story a short walk away which is free for guests of the hotel, park on level 6 and it is just a short walk over a bridge and one floor up in the lift to reception. They do offer assistance with luggage if required, although there is a drop off point in front of the hotel.

Nice stop over for a specific reason and not as expensive as other hotels "in town" and free parking I think is quite rare for a Brighton hotel. The cab ride to town was around £7.00, another hotel was going to charge £30 a night to park, so this hotel seemed like a good alternative.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelinspectorSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    479
    223
    97
    55
See reviews for
182
682
29
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We ordered a meal for 4 adults and 2 children in the bar. The food took nearly an hour to arrive. Apparently the hold up was a wedding on at the time which they could have mentioned when ordering but didn't bother. After 40 minutes, and with no word from them, when we asked where the food was they showed absolutely no interest. We had almost finished the meal before they turned up with the condiments. Again, no interest and no apology. When asked they just said the kitchen was a long way from the bar. Thanks.
The rooms are tiny with no cupboards in the one we were in and the walls are paper thin.
The sea view, if you get it, is good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The hotel is very modern and we had a very comfy room with small balcony and a view over the Marina. We had a very good breakfast both mornings on the terrace of the restaurant in the sun. (It was that 'hot' weekend at the start of October). We didn't eat lunch or dinner in the hotel but would recommend the cocktail bar which produces some stunning drinks. Parking is free and easy (see their website) as is access to Brighton as there are regular buses,taxis or you can walk etc. The only downside on the Saturday was some party revellers on the terrace below who insisted on staying up all night and sharing their squawks and jabber - how kind!
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeAtsill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This was our second stay at the Seattle and we will certainly stay again should the situation arise. The location is lovely and means you don't have to struggle into Brighton town centre during rush hour traffic. Parking is free, go to level 7 of the car park and park at the far end near the walkway to the Marina. Walk down to level 6 (this whole level is reserved for disabled drivers) to join the walkway. Turn left at the mermaid statue and go in to the hotel and up in the lift to reception.
Check in was smooth and easy. The rooms (and bathroom) are small and it's true that there is not a lot of hanging space but the shower is lovely and the room has a kettle and tea & coffee making equipment, a hair dryer (though you have to climb under the small desk to plug it in) and really nice shampoos etc.. What more do you need?
The public areas are all designed with a nautical feel and the bar has a large veranda shaped like the prow of a ship and big glass windows that look out over the Marina. It manages to feel cosy and inviting with lots of comfy chairs and sofa's. It isn't the cheapest place to get a drink but there are a lot of options of restaurants and bars, shops and supermarkets a short walk away.
There is a taxi rank just outside of the hotel. It cost us about £7 into the centre of Brighton at around 6pm and about £10 back much later in the evening.
Breakfast was lovely. It was included automatically with both our bookings and you could either help yourself to a ' continental' selection or choose from a menu with included an English breakfast, porridge, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and eggs benedict. They even had Darjeeling tea when I requested it.
All in all a good, relaxed experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divingbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Enjoyed my stay, if there in summer book a sea view. Not much in the way of hanging space but great iPod sound system. Rooms don't have great soundproofing but otherwise comfy beds, good bed linen and friendly service.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

A great place to stay but starting to look a bit dated around the edges. Love the location and staff are good. Sitting looking out over the Marina is a great way to have a mid-morning breakfast or a drink later in the day.

Still our first choice in Brighton (we go there several times per year) but not an automatic first choice anymore.

Room Tip: Go for a Marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonStagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We have stayed at The Seattle several times, allbeit a few years ago and would normally highly recommend the hotel. However we stayed on 21st january 2012, the check in was 3pm we booked the room because we had a lot of work to do on our boat at the ,marina. After an early start from Home, and a hard days work we checked in. Because we hadnt finished all of the work we had to do we asked to extend our stay to the sunday night, we were given room 235 and upon arriving to the room, it was clear to see this room had not been serviced properly for some time. I found it very "Grubby" and tired. Stains on the carpet, and disgusting, unclean skirting boards. Thick with Dust. The modular shelving system at higher level, which i assume is for storing your clothes, was absolutely thick with dust. Just a general bad feeling of clenliness in the room. I reported it to reception, two women at reception, one completely ignored my comments the other offered me a housekeeper. I was very angry and tired, i just asked her to cancel my room for the sunday night and told her that i would write my review to advise other people. Not at anytime was i offered a new room of which there were plenty available. In heinsight i would recommend anyone stay ther inspects the rooms before agreeing to occupy. ( we live and learn) I will not be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Inspect rooms for clenliness
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
2.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,656 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.8 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Brighton

Property: Malmaison Brighton
Address: Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Hotel Seattle)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#9 Family Hotel in Brighton
#10 Business Hotel in Brighton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malmaison Brighton, a contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to offer the best views of Brighton Marina. Close enough to make the best of Brighton's vibrant life but also somewhere where you can enjoy a more relaxed environment with great hospitality, fresh & local produce menus & something a little more unique. Seattle is a hotel to explore, sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you or relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You'll find them friendly, welcoming and never shy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Malmaison Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Hotel Brighton
Brighton Hotel Seattle
Alias Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing