We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant find.”
Review of Malmaison Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Brighton
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This was a last minute find, split decision late on a Friday night to enjoy the weather over the weekend. Turns out it was a brilliant choice.

The hotel is stylish, sleek, light and airy with friendly staff. Free parking was a massive bonus, this is located in the Marina carpark next door which is easily accessed by a walkway straight over to the main marina. We had a standard double with an inland view, not a problem looking at the attractive imposing white cliffs. The room was bright and airy and very white. This made it feel very clean and quite nautical. I also really liked the inclusion of the B&W iPod/iPhone dock in the room. The bathroom had a lovely large rain style shower all modern and clean. If I had one tiny thing to say, this was that the bathroom toilet had some face wipes still in the bin. I can't say this affected my stay in any way and this is really just feedback for the hotel.

Some people complained about the lack of wardrobe but there's a rail with several hangers so I'm not sure why this seems to be such an issue. I was only staying for one night so I didn't even give the hangers a second look. There's also a hairdryer, toiletries and several towels available so I felt very well catered for.

The hotel location is in the Marina amongst the restaurants with an Asda, bowling and cinema within a few minutes walk. If you're looking to be right by the pier this is a bit of a walk and I would recommend something a bit closer. Again I wasn't fussed as it's very pretty overlooking the Marina, the free parking was a major bonus and the stroll up to the pier in the sunshine was lovely.

Breakfast was also included with a full continental spread set out for you to help yourself. You could also order a full English picking your sausage and the style of eggs. This was all included in the room rate. Due to the good weather, this was served out on the balcony overlooking the Marina. Very pretty. Mention should also go to the bar in the hotel. There's a huge selection of drinks available and the bar staff were so helpful and willing, educating us in the wonderful world of spirits.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rookins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,465)
There are newer reviews for Malmaison Brighton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,177 - 1,183 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have stayed at the Seattle on many occasions over the years, but hadn't stayed for 12 months but stayed again recently. We booked a marina view double room. If staying more than one night we would recommend upgrading to king size for extra space. The TV is badly positioned, if you want to watch in bed. As the room only has one chair you havent got much choice. The kettle lead was so short it had to left on the floor to get near the plug. The bathroom had mold in the corner, which we found surprising as the bathrooms are normally of a very good standard in terms of cleaniness. The pillows were too soft but I understand that reception would change them if requested. The balcony door was very squeaky when opened. Nevertheless, we would still rather stay here than many other hotels in Brighton!

Room Tip: king size for extra space
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here to make a long weekend out of going to a concert, we booked an executive room with a marina view, very large room with settee, and couple of chairs, decent kingsize bed and nice brightly lit and clean bathroom. There was only a hanging space, no wardrobes and clothes hung above where the kettle sits, which seemed like a good way to get your suit steamed but not really a good idea! Shared outside area for all marina facing rooms on the ground floor with a table and couple of chairs, so would be nice in decent weather.

Bar area very large with nice views over the marina, staff in here were very friendly. We ate in the restaurant on our first night, this was probably not as speedy as it should have been as they were not that busy when we arrived. Seemed to take about 30 minutes to take the order and the time between courses seemed a little too long, although better than having your starter taken away at the same time your main course is presented. The food itself was very nice, well presented and just the right amount. Breakfast the next morning was OK, although the scrambled egg was out of a packet. Breakfast over the weekend runs until 10.30am, be aware that a lot of people like a later breakfast, we went into breakfast around 10am and had to wait for a table, however no longer than about 15 minutes. Restaurant staff quite friendly but if anything sometimes seemed to be a little distracted and not as attentive as some other restaurants. Room service continental breakfast the second morning was OK, however the time selected of between 9.30am and 10am was missed or ignored, as the knock on the door with breakfast came at 8.35am.

Parking is in the multi story a short walk away which is free for guests of the hotel, park on level 6 and it is just a short walk over a bridge and one floor up in the lift to reception. They do offer assistance with luggage if required, although there is a drop off point in front of the hotel.

Nice stop over for a specific reason and not as expensive as other hotels "in town" and free parking I think is quite rare for a Brighton hotel. The cab ride to town was around £7.00, another hotel was going to charge £30 a night to park, so this hotel seemed like a good alternative.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelinspectorSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We ordered a meal for 4 adults and 2 children in the bar. The food took nearly an hour to arrive. Apparently the hold up was a wedding on at the time which they could have mentioned when ordering but didn't bother. After 40 minutes, and with no word from them, when we asked where the food was they showed absolutely no interest. We had almost finished the meal before they turned up with the condiments. Again, no interest and no apology. When asked they just said the kitchen was a long way from the bar. Thanks.
The rooms are tiny with no cupboards in the one we were in and the walls are paper thin.
The sea view, if you get it, is good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The hotel is very modern and we had a very comfy room with small balcony and a view over the Marina. We had a very good breakfast both mornings on the terrace of the restaurant in the sun. (It was that 'hot' weekend at the start of October). We didn't eat lunch or dinner in the hotel but would recommend the cocktail bar which produces some stunning drinks. Parking is free and easy (see their website) as is access to Brighton as there are regular buses,taxis or you can walk etc. The only downside on the Saturday was some party revellers on the terrace below who insisted on staying up all night and sharing their squawks and jabber - how kind!
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeAtsill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This was our second stay at the Seattle and we will certainly stay again should the situation arise. The location is lovely and means you don't have to struggle into Brighton town centre during rush hour traffic. Parking is free, go to level 7 of the car park and park at the far end near the walkway to the Marina. Walk down to level 6 (this whole level is reserved for disabled drivers) to join the walkway. Turn left at the mermaid statue and go in to the hotel and up in the lift to reception.
Check in was smooth and easy. The rooms (and bathroom) are small and it's true that there is not a lot of hanging space but the shower is lovely and the room has a kettle and tea & coffee making equipment, a hair dryer (though you have to climb under the small desk to plug it in) and really nice shampoos etc.. What more do you need?
The public areas are all designed with a nautical feel and the bar has a large veranda shaped like the prow of a ship and big glass windows that look out over the Marina. It manages to feel cosy and inviting with lots of comfy chairs and sofa's. It isn't the cheapest place to get a drink but there are a lot of options of restaurants and bars, shops and supermarkets a short walk away.
There is a taxi rank just outside of the hotel. It cost us about £7 into the centre of Brighton at around 6pm and about £10 back much later in the evening.
Breakfast was lovely. It was included automatically with both our bookings and you could either help yourself to a ' continental' selection or choose from a menu with included an English breakfast, porridge, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and eggs benedict. They even had Darjeeling tea when I requested it.
All in all a good, relaxed experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Divingbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Enjoyed my stay, if there in summer book a sea view. Not much in the way of hanging space but great iPod sound system. Rooms don't have great soundproofing but otherwise comfy beds, good bed linen and friendly service.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
2.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,711 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,206 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.9 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Brighton

Address: Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Hotel Seattle)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#9 Family Hotel in Brighton
#10 Business Hotel in Brighton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £87 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malmaison Brighton, a contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to offer the best views of Brighton Marina. Close enough to make the best of Brighton's vibrant life but also somewhere where you can enjoy a more relaxed environment with great hospitality, fresh & local produce menus & something a little more unique. Seattle is a hotel to explore, sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you or relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You'll find them friendly, welcoming and never shy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malmaison Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Hotel Brighton
Brighton Hotel Seattle
Alias Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing