We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malmaison Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Malmaison Brighton
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Wallington, Surrey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice now - ironically both times in the same room overlooking the stunning Marina views. The hotel is delightful and very well placed for eating out in one of the many eateries nearby. The hotel and room are both modern,stylish and very well equipped and the staff are efficient and pleasant - don't be put off by their casual dress!! Rooms have everything you need and are clean and bright. Breakfast is varied and delicious!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina - a little more expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nia_sws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    494
    230
    101
    56
See reviews for
188
703
29
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Can wholeheartedly recommend the Seattle Hotel in Brighton. Friendly reception staff and easy check in. We had booked a seaview double but was upgrated to a king sized room upon arrival. The bar was very welcome after a cold windy day at the races in nearby Plumpton. The staff were attentive and knowledgeable. Our room was great. The walls were a bit thin as had a family with two young children next door. The bathroom was great. Two large basins and a fab bath/shower. We had dinner in the restaurant and once again the staff were 10/10 and the food equally good even though portions were a little small, ie. I ordered 'scallops' and 'it' arrived having been sliced into 3! Shame. Wine list was good. Woke up the next morning to a wonderful view of the marina under grey stormy skies with waves crashing against the harbour wall. Could have sat on the balcony all day watching the scene. Breakfast was great. Good full English available and lots of choices for the continental option. Really enjoyed our stay. Congratulations to the hotel on their staff training as everyone was friendly and very good at what they were doing. Forgot to mention the crisp white bedlinen.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Don't be put off by the entrance to the Seattle hotel in between tacky restaurants and bars, once inside it is modern, spacious and well decorated. The rooms which overlook the Marina are fantastic and on a sunny day you could be in St. Tropez! (the B&W Zeppelin's in the room are a nice touch). With a great bar (and terrace) it is the perfect place to chill and enjoy the amazing Marina views. The staff are friendly and make you feel very welcome. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alex k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I think me and my husband must have been there the same night as Jane from Somerset. We had a balcony room near the terrace of the bar. The room was stuffy so we opened the window but unfortunately all we could hear was loud talking and every other word was swearing. We phoned reception at 1.30am,1.50am and finally at 2.30 am. At first they said they would sort it out , but by the 3rd time we had rung the only thing we were offered was a change of room.
It is not cheap to stay there and you would not expect this sort of behaviour. If the bar was meant to close at 1.00 am I do not think the staff stopped serving drinks after this time.
My husband did email the hotel manager but he has yet to respond after 10 days.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Chose this hotel for the peace and quiet. The location, away from main roads and overlooking the marina is great. Ask for a room with sea views, preferably on the top floor for the best views and a private balcony.

30 minutes walk to the centre of Brighton, along the beach, which was lovely.

Unfortunately the other guests on Friday night wanted to party all night. Neighbours (in their 30s) were behaving like a group of out of control school kids, banging doors, running up and down the corridor and talking very loudly right outside our window on the patio area. The hotel took action when we complained at 5am - but could have stopped selling them drinks earlier!
We may have just been unlucky - but if this is a favourite for stag and hen parties this may be a common experience. (Saturday night we slept well. Lovely and quiet despite a wedding party - which ended at 1am.- with well behaved guests!)

The rack rate at £175 per night is excessive - but you should be able to get a better deal - we did. No wardrobe - so only very limited hanging space.

Very pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Despite my review I have given it average for sleep quality because the second night was great. Top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanefromSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DERBY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

when in brighton,stay at the seattle,since our last visit,it just gets better,great people run it,breakfast the best in town,just got back,only downside is. we had to get back to work,thanks guys,seeyou again,johnp

Room Tip: level 3 are best,if possible room 238
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LITCHURCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

If you want Brighton with the full marine experience combined with modern rooms, great food and wine and excellent service, all at an affordable price, the Seattle Hotel is the place to go. My husband and I regularly stay mixing business and pleasure and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere and the fantastic views, a short walk away from the hustle and bustle of Brighton city centre. The hotel has a clean, light feeling and the restaurant with crisp white tableclothes offers a plasant touch of sofistication without excessive pricing.

Room Tip: Sea view room recommended; upgrade to superior room (larger) if staying a few days
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
2.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,893 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Brighton

Property: Malmaison Brighton
Address: Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Hotel Seattle)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#9 Family Hotel in Brighton
#10 Business Hotel in Brighton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malmaison Brighton, a contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to offer the best views of Brighton Marina. Close enough to make the best of Brighton's vibrant life but also somewhere where you can enjoy a more relaxed environment with great hospitality, fresh & local produce menus & something a little more unique. Seattle is a hotel to explore, sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you or relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You'll find them friendly, welcoming and never shy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Hotel Brighton
Brighton Hotel Seattle
Alias Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing