We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the bar, when we eventually found it.”
Review of Malmaison Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Brighton
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had a great deal of diffuculty finding this place as the hotel is located in the centre of a concrete block of buildings surrounded by chain restaurants and you have to search for the tiny entrance on the first floor of the Marina.
We had expected a boutique hotel but it turned out to be more of a budget chain affair. You have to park in a nearby multi-storey car park (free) then use a walkway and search from there. The hotel offers free parking but as the multi-storey is free for public use we couldn't see the advantage in getting our parking verified.
No real complaints but nothing out of the ordinary either. Rather overpriced but the bar area though small is very pleasant and is worth a visit if you are in the area, they have a great cocktail menu and the service is good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilko-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

so I only stayed here 1 night when on business but its nice. Its at the marina end : lovely walkways but quite a hike into Brighton"proper" after a day in the office.
Lots of places to eat & drink around and a cinema too if you want, nice bar and very clean and tidy.

Reception was quick and easy although not engaging....probably because I was there for 1 night only. Dinner...well Im Gluten free so it was a bit of a challenge but they called me back and managed a chicken salad....which ended up being chicken and lettuce. Oh well.

Room was nice an comfy - a few hangers on a peg on the wall so if Id been staying more than the night I wouldnt have been impressed with that : had to ask for iron and ironing board as not standard in room. and no AC...although I did have a fan....thank goodness.

Overall a nice clean hotel. Did the job. Id stay further in town next time.

Room Tip: ask for a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N4YHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We Arrived for a Friends 60th Birthday party which was being hosted in the hotel!
My Husband, daughter and I decided to stay in the Hotel for two nights and make it a mini break!! When we got there we were told we should have checked in the day before? When I said we did not book that date, the reception were quite cold and aggressive! Told us there were no rooms for the next night! Did not come up with an alternative, until we asked them to come up with a list of available Hotels!
The Hotel was lovely and so was the food! Such a shame the reception did not project the same image as the rest of the package!!

Room Tip: Definitely book a room overlooking Marina!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamyattelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is the letter I sent to the Seattle Hotel on June 26 - it is now July 23 and they have just replied - think that sums it up!!
------------------------
I would like to bring to your attention the problems we encountered at the Hotel Seattle, Brighton, on Saturday, June 22.
We were part of a Wedding Party that had booked the venue for their wedding service and also the reception.
The waiting staff who served the wedding meal in the restaurant, left a lot to be desired - surely it isn't too much to expect that a table should have food served to all the customers, rather than taking food to other tables - my table had to inform the staff that we were short of food - we weren't the only ones to encounter this.
It seemed to us that you didn't have enough people serving the tables.
In the evening at the bar, there was only ONE person serving drinks, with many people standing there for long periods waiting for a drink, again this is not good enough for a hotel of this quality. The bride's sister had to go off and see if she could find someone else to help out. You were aware of the numbers coming to the wedding, so you should have staffed up accordingly.
The following morning at breakfast things were no better. Tables not being served together, again this is not acceptable. People having to ask the waiting staff where their food was. And to be honest, what you are charging for a English breakfast didn't justify the quality of the food. On some of the plates you could count the number of beans. Some of the party saying food was only mildly warm.
It was almost as if the staff weren't sure who was supposed to be doing what.
The room was excellent, lovely bed, an amazing shower and wonderful views over the marina - it's just a shame for such a special occasion we felt let down by the level of service you are providing.
Paying £165 for one night's accommodation with breakfast, was certainly not value for money.
-----------------------
I will let others decide if they agree with our experience.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marina have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kempston54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

After reading the reviews, we selected a superior room with sea view - which proved to be an excellent choice. The room was spacious and well designed. Lovely views across the marina and the sea. The only negative point is that we found the chairs in the rooms to be uncomfortable.

The breakfasts are a delight, with an extensive selection of freshly cooked choices as well as a well stocked cold buffet.

Free parking in the nearby multi-storey car park, with easy access using the high-level walkway.

Outside the hotel, there are a large choice of restaurants and other eateries. A large super store is also a few minutes walk away. Good bus connections with the centre of Brighton.

Room Tip: Well worth paying for a sea view. Ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingWayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed 21 / 22 July 2003 for a family function held in the hotel. The staff were wonderful friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble, with two disabled people in my party they went out of their way to ensure a relaxed and happy couple of days. The catering for the function was magnificent with a hot buffet, BBQ style, that was to die for. Trust me you have not had honey marinated ribs like these, yummy. Breakfast was on the terrace overlooking the marina, again very good food and service. We had inland facing rooms that did not have AC but a fan in the room was sufficient to keep us cool. The modern décor means no wardrobe, but the hanging hooks with smart clothes hangers were fine. A fridge was the only thing we missed.
The hotel is located above the boardwalk alongside the marina. A vibrant area with lots of bars and restaurants and a host of water-sport / boat trip facilities, but we did not hear a thing in the rooms and had a good nights sleep in comfortable beds. Parking is a big problem in Brighton and access to car parks in the town centre was at a premium, over £20 per night. Not so at the Seattle where parking in the nearby multi-storey car park was free of charge. It is a bit of a trek for disabled people but there is a bridge from level 6 east (blue badge bays) to the boardwalk and from there to the hotel lifts. Overall good value for money, we had a great function, a great nights sleep and enjoyed the relaxation and friendly & helpful staff. We will head here again when next in town to see our relatives.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marina are more expensive but give a great view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VicNorthampton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Had a lovely stay at this hotel on Friday 19th July. Unfortunately there was only availability for one night as we would have liked to have stayed the Saturday as well.

The hotel has a very calm, relaxed vibe, neutral colours with a nautical yet modern feel. We had an inland view superior room. Was a great size, loved the ipod docking station and the bathroom was lovely. No air con but a great big fan that does the job. Mood lighting in the room is fab, a large floor lamp creates a great atmosphere of an evening. I'm sure a marina view would have been great but this suited us just fine.

We had al fresco breakfast on the terrace, continental and full English on offer. We didn't eat in the restaurant of an evening so I can't comment on that.

The reception staff were very friendly, smiley and helpful which always makes a difference to wherever you stay. They extended our checkout and let us leave our bags there for the day whilst we explored Brighton on the Saturday.

The only negative or shall I say niggles, are that the seagulls like to land on the roof so there is a lot of tapping and in the morning this can be quite annoying - not sure why they don't have netting put up to prevent this? Also the wind howls through and is very loud in the rooms. A few nicks in the wall needed a freshen up or a lick of paint but this did not marr our stay or our view of the hotel as a whole.

Great value for money as all the other hotel we looked at staying were much more expensive and some didn't even include breakfast! We would definitely stay again and recommend to all who want a comfortable and enjoyable stay in Brighton.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScarolineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
2.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,981 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,230 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.8 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,317 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Brighton

Address: Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Hotel Seattle)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#9 Family Hotel in Brighton
#10 Business Hotel in Brighton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £77 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malmaison Brighton, a contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to offer the best views of Brighton Marina. Close enough to make the best of Brighton's vibrant life but also somewhere where you can enjoy a more relaxed environment with great hospitality, fresh & local produce menus & something a little more unique. Seattle is a hotel to explore, sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you or relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You'll find them friendly, welcoming and never shy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Hotel Brighton
Brighton Hotel Seattle
Alias Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing