We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - But Thin Walls & Bit Spartan”
Review of Malmaison Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Brighton
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Crawley, West Sussex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - But Thin Walls & Bit Spartan”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The hotel is in the Marina complex, a bus ride away from Central Brighton. There is ample free parking. As others have said, park on 6th floor & walk to the restaurants, turning left at Pizza Express to find the hotel entrance (which isn't reception).

Its a good 4* standard with a white theme. Rooms are small but adequate for a short stay, with a good TV. Downsides were spot on within reviews on this site - just hooks as a wardrobe, strange bodged looking flooring in a basic painted bathroom & paper thin room walls. I could hear snoring from next door during the night, which wasn't great.

Breakfast was cooked to order. Was good as a breakfast, but didn't look award winning as was advertised. I couldn't see what it could have won. More a normal hotel breakfast that didn't particularly disappoint.

Its a sound hotel, but nothing really above sound. I'd come back for an event, but wouldn't particularly recommend it, and not if you plan to stay in a lot. My score reflects the rate I paid, which was reasonably high, but in an expensive area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    515
    245
    108
    60
See reviews for
194
746
31
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I was encouraged by other positive comments about this hotel on Trip Advisor and the hotel was as good as that had said. Also fortunately I had read about the difficulty in finding the hotel if driving. Let me reiterate that when as you take the slip road into the Marina, as soon as you see the entrance to the multi story car park, turn right into it and drive down to the 6th floor. Then take the walk way and boardwalk to the hotel. The entrance is just after Frankie and Benny's american diner.

The hotel is a bit quirky, relaxed check in, nice size rooms.very relaxing bar overlooking the marina, reasonably priced drinks and waitress service at breakfast. Only slight quibble is that in the dining room, in the gulley where the patio windows are, this needs to be thoroughly cleaned as there was some dirt and mould.

However we will definitely return, particularly as there are no car parking problems and Brighton is a very short bus ride. No 7 bus every 7 minutes, and if you have a Freedom pass (London citizens) you can use this on Brighton buses.

Room Tip: I booked a standard room and was offered a marina view for half their normal price when checking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnShashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanFrancisco
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This place has a very high opinion of itself.
It's not justified.
Save yourself some $$$ & stay in one of Brighton's fine B&Bs - 27, Snooze, White House, or Guest & the City - or Hotel Una.

Seattle has big hotel value & process & prices, but the rooms... ordinary. Food for events run late (thats twice, so a pattern's emerging)

Room service is fabulous: extra milk turned up within 60 seconds. But, um, if it's long life, why not just put enough milk in the room un the first place?

Yeah, I'm being picky. But I spend 100+ nights in paid-for accommodation in *this* city, so I know where the bar is set.

Seattle gets A+ for location, if you'll pay for a marine-facing view. The breakfast bento boxes are neat, but not worth £10. Other than that, the rooms are pokey, cheaply furnished. Sound travels. The baths are small.

Nice soaps though. Hardly worth the $$$

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My boyfriend took me to Brighton for a little birthday break and we stayed at this hotel. He had decided to book a hotel out of the hum drum of activity so chose the marina as a good location.

We drove there and found the entrance eventually although it wasn't very well signposted once we entered the car park. The lift lobby up to the reception area was tired and not welcoming at all. I did wonder if we were in the correct place. We checked in and were greeted by a very friendly lady who gave us our room key and told us about the breakfast options.

The rooms were of a good size but that was all it had going for it. The room furniture was very cheap and tacky looking and just didn't work with the room. It was a space saving clothes rail, TV stand, chest of drawers and desk suspended on floor to ceiling poles. There was absolutely no reason they couldn't have put in proper furniture.

The bed mattress was of poor quality as was the bedding although we were given lots of pillow. The bathroom was of a marine theme but wasn't anything to write home about. The flooring had not been laid poorly and the tiles needed replacing already for what looked like a newish build.

The walls are also paper thin. I've been in many many hotels as I travel for work and never have I been able to hear a conversation so clearly from the neighbouring room. You could even tell what program was on the TV.

It seems that the whole of the hotel has been built and furnished on the cheap but the price tag for a 1 night Saturday stay without a view was £150. The rate didn't even include breakfast. I was actually glad to leave and I won't be returning. It's not worth the money. If I wanted something of similar quality I'll go to a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barefoot82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

She who must be obeyed and I come down to Brighton quite a lot and have always stayed in the Premier Inn before but as that was full I had a look on here and chose the Seattle because of good reviews,we only stayed for 1 night on a Saturday.
As some people have mentioned it can be difficult finding out where to leave the car/check in etc but the best bet is to let the Mrs off outside the entrance where there is a drop off area,she then just has to get the lift and go up 2 floors to reception while you go and park in Level 6 (if possible) of the multi storey (which you see when you first drive in to the Marina) and then the entrance to the hotel is on that level,about a 2-3 minute walk...easy,also parking is free ......bonus !
First impressions were good,check in was fine and the receptionist was friendly and helpful enough,no problems.
We were pretty pleased with the room ,it was big,bright,clean with a very comfy bed,bathroom was nice but perhaps starting to get a bit tatty round the edges,water pressure in the shower was just about ok,we didn't get in till silly o clock but didn't have any trouble with noise in the morning.
Overall we liked the room,the hotel and the area and would recommend it,it is quite new and modern which we always like,the Marina there has lots of bars,restaurants,things to do along with great views of the boats and the sea,and is only a 5 minute taxi drive into the centre of Brighton,i think we have stayed at the Premier Inn for the last time !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliFantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Rooms are fairly spacious. Bathrooms big for an English hotel. The view of boats and the channel are very nice, but the downside of the marina is that it can be noisy in the evening up to about midnight. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Having found the entrance (not as easy as you may think) the hotel was spotlessly clean, the room similar although no wardrobe only a couple of pegs with 2 hangers on each so wouldn't want to stay for more than a couple of days.
Bar good with views across the marina, staff very friendly, don't know which hotels the reviewer who thinks the prices are high frequents but less than £6 for a large G&T is fine by me.
Breakfast fine, eggs Benedict recommended.
Great advantage is the free parking in the multi story a short walk away.
Nit picking I know but no biscuits in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
2.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,329 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,164 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
1,320 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Brighton

Property: Malmaison Brighton
Address: Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Hotel Seattle)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#9 Family Hotel in Brighton
#10 Business Hotel in Brighton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malmaison Brighton, a contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to offer the best views of Brighton Marina. Close enough to make the best of Brighton's vibrant life but also somewhere where you can enjoy a more relaxed environment with great hospitality, fresh & local produce menus & something a little more unique. Seattle is a hotel to explore, sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you or relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You'll find them friendly, welcoming and never shy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Hotel Brighton
Brighton Hotel Seattle
Alias Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing