We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience.”
Review of Malmaison Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Brighton
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience.”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights at the end of March. The free parking in the nearby multi-storey was handy and appreciated. My room small - double bed, marina view - but clean and comfortable. Room service was fast and efficient. Staff helpful and pleasant. Breakfast a good selection and enjoyable but, sadly, the coffee wasn't good. The only real downside from my point of view is that there's no cupboard space. They have a "space saving" device of a unit which has some hanging brackets and a top shelf, and on the lower part a tv, and below that, a few drawers. Fine(ish) for overnight and for one person, but if there was more than one person or if you were staying longer than a night or two …. it would be very unsatisfactory. However, don't let it put you off an otherwise pleasant hotel. The location is good and I would stay here again for an overnight.

Room Tip: Park on the 6th floor in the multi story car park to get the direct walkway to the hotel. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiestaGirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    508
    240
    105
    60
See reviews for
192
732
30
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at the Seattle with my kids and mum. The available transport into brighton was regular and cheap. Our room was large enough for the four of us although warm at night they did provide a fan. We stayed an extra night as enjoyed our stay although the new room and re booked through website last minute the air con didn't work but fan provided and our early morning call we didn't get. Food fantastic and great value.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannaburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanharan, Wales
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Prime location on marina amidst restaurants, shops etc. Free multi storey car park - 6th floor gives access to boardwalk leading in to hotel 1st floor, lift then up to 2nd floor reception (long haul with cases but can drive to ground floor entrance on Marina Square and use lift. Friendly reception - open plan style - ask for Brighton street map. Room looked out on marina. It was bright and white (the main décor of the Seattle), very clean and comfortable with good bath/shower room. The continental breakfast was satisfying - meat and cheese on request (big plateful). We used the restaurant one night - very tasty (steak and fish pie main dishes) with excellent service. Comfortable bar/lounge. Brighton centre is a 45 minute promenade stroll or use the Volk's Electric railway (£1.80 senior single) and the 7 bus stops alongside. Minor negatives - loud intermittent noise from marina engineering; expensive bar; no seats on balcony, underutilising a special asset; grubby balcony floor; intermittent wi fi in room; room would be very hot on sunny summer's day; open hangers instead of wardrobe. However, overall a hotel we enjoyed staying in.

Room Tip: 3rd floor looking over marina - 2nd floor share the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llanharan_WalesLlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel was just what we wanted for a couple of days stay over bank holiday. Clean room with good monsoon shower in bathroom and plenty of hot water and towels. Room was also air conditioned which was a surprise and we hsd a good view of marina. Staff very attentive and freindly especially in the restaurant. Would recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for marina sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mount78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Brighton is a pleasant, charming, vibrant and (not so) calm beach in the South of England, that worth a visit. 1-hour away from London, it is quite convenient for a quick day-trip, but it deserves much more. Brighton’s architecture is beautiful, and the beach reminds the French Côte D’Azur magic. I visited Brighton during the springtime: sunny and a little bit cold, but sunny enough to attract lots of people to the beach, restaurants, theatre, pier and marina, as well. Seattle Hotel is beautifully located in front of the Marina. It is modern, comfortable, quiet and tremendously clean. The breakfast is excellent: ask an outside table and enjoy a perfect bacon and eggs (and some mixed toasts) admiring an astonishing view. At the pier there are some good options to have a wine or a calm meal under the sun. Don’t dare to miss Seven Sisters, 1 hour from Brighton. The deep green sea bathing the white stones and the huge cliff are utterly unbelievable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvares-da-Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Nice bright hotel, 2 to 2.5 miles from city centre, in the pleasant Marina area. Most hotels in the city centre looked a little run down, so we chose this and were not disappointed. There is free parking, but not right at the hotel - it is in a multi-story accessible via a footbridge - just a few minutes walk to the hotel. If you drive into the Brighton Marina area, turn right at the small roundabout at the bottom of the slope and you will see McDonald's. The entrance to the carpark is opposite McDonald's. Drive up to level 6, which is the footbridge level. The hotel itself has marina/sea-view rooms, and inward-looking rooms, but even the latter are fine; we had one of each. The rooms are fairly basic but clean (though bathroom was a bit dusty). It was quiet except when the drilling started (there is construction going on in the marina, but it is very intermittent; generally no problem). We found the cooked breakfast to be good, with local produce, though the toast wasn't great and was cold. To get into the city centre there is a bus (number 7 bus, runs every 7 minutes) from McDonald's to the city centre; £2.40 adult, £1.20 child, single fare, takes 15 min). Or the small Volk's electric train (basically a tourist train with open carriages) which is slightly more expensive (£2.70, £1.60) and runs from the aquarium/big wheel to Black Rock (a station about 5 minutes walk from the Marina); doesn't run all day though. The 'station' near the marina is not that easy to find, go through the Asda carpark to the far end, and follow a footpath and under an underpass. Both the bus and the Volk's railway do cheaper returns/passes. Taxis to city centre also easy. We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Xylocopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Seattle over the marathon weekend. I was running the marathon and they really were tuned in to make runners at ease which was great. They opened early for breakfast, helped with travel arrangements and were even ok cooking me my own breakfast.

The room was tiny and no wardrobe so I don't know how one would cope of they were staying for a long period. The room was also quite warm so we had to keep the window open which was noisy in the morning with the boats etc.

Breakfast in the hotel was very nice. Good selection and freshly cooked options.

My husband was very frustrated by the wifi as it dropped constantly. The staff tried to help and even reset the broadband for him but it didn't fix the issue.

They were also very flexible on breakfast as my husband had to leave very early on Monday morning for work. At 6am they brought him a very nice continental breakfast which was a nice touch I thought.

Overall I did quite like this hotel but it was quite expensive in all honesty. If you like something a bit quirky then you'll probably enjoy staying here. Just pack light!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
2.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,192 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,145 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
1,304 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Brighton

Property: Malmaison Brighton
Address: Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Hotel Seattle)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#9 Family Hotel in Brighton
#10 Business Hotel in Brighton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malmaison Brighton, a contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to offer the best views of Brighton Marina. Close enough to make the best of Brighton's vibrant life but also somewhere where you can enjoy a more relaxed environment with great hospitality, fresh & local produce menus & something a little more unique. Seattle is a hotel to explore, sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you or relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You'll find them friendly, welcoming and never shy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Hotel Brighton
Brighton Hotel Seattle
Alias Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing