We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”
Review of Malmaison Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Brighton
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here at the end of June in a king size room. Lovely white room, massive bed but the wardrobe was just a bar with a couple of hangers. Bathroom was very clean with matching white towels! Balcony was a bit cramped as it was shared however it did provide a lovely view over the marina. Did not come here to watch the telly, however there was a problem with reception on one of the channels. Breakfast was good but don't venture outside as the large seagulls will pounce when you are not looking. Food was good and there are numerous restaurants nearby plus a pub. Unlike some other hotels there is free parking in the multi storey car park next door. Was used as a base to venture further afield. Excellent bus service to the centre of town. Would I come here again? Yes without a doubt!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the marina are the best but beware of the restaurant punters below!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Octoollie_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

863 - 869 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Having stayed in numerous hotels in Brighton we thought we would go 'up-market' - how wrong we were. Smallest room we had ever stayed in, no air con - (slept all night with noisy fan and window open) and no wardrobe. Just a pole with a short arm which held a few hangers. Television worked intermittently. As noted from other comments definitely no 'delicious' biscuits with our tea. This was the most we had paid for a hotel in Brighton and by far the worst.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevsexcursions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Fantastic - far exceeded my expectations.
Check in was a breeze, spacious, well appointed room with excellent sea view.
Massive comfortable double bed, superb bathroom & shower, wonderful full English breakfast included in room rate. Excellent value for money, superb Marina location, hassle free (free) parking which is unusual in Brighton and very easy access to central Brighton by bus or taxi. I will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a sea view room; it's really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Racingmacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Staying at Marina for 2 weeks so applied for a free Marina Gold Card. It gives you 50 per cent off food at Seattle. Great food at great value. Also excellent service and varied wine menu. Great view over the Marina-feels like you are on holiday. Worth a visit

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaleinHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Payed good money to stay in a hotel which is very dated & tried, that's a balcony not even room for a chair! Could payed 50% less and stayed in an Ibis or Premier inn. Hotel was ok, staff where great..........But sorry it's not worth the 4**** prices they charge.....!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed at the Seattle for one night on 28th June , extremely loud music, I don't mind a bit of music but this was extreme. I called the reception twice. nothing changed.
we were awake all night . Advised reception in the morning they really didn't acknowledge my complaint or care.

After sending an email I was made to feel like an old grumpy person and it was suggested that I book out of season in the future and that there was an anniversary party taking place .
I booked the room on that morning and feel they should have informed me that they would be expecting very loud music and I could have made an informed choice. Apparently only party people go to the Seattle and to expect a peaceful nights sleep is too much to ask for.
£230 for one night is not cheap and I won't be retuning . The Seattle don't respect all their customers

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

LittleDollyUK's review further down pretty much sums this place up: http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g186273-d273842-r211871452-Seattle_Hotel-Brighton_East_Sussex_England.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

I can imagine that the pitch for this place must have been great when it was a gleam in a planner's eye: marina side hotel, views of the sea and boats, loads of boutique shops and restaurants, designer minimalist interiors etc etc

Problem is that between the gleam and when we stayed last week, it's somehow acquired that slightly sad/tired patina that seems to infect seaside towns. Marry that up with the identikit restaurant chains, empty shops and an ASDA over the road, and we were left underwhelmed and a little disappointed given the price we paid. Brutally, it just doesn't quite deliver and left us feeling like we should have taken our parking chances with a Premier Inn.

The hotel really let themselves down at breakfast buffet time. We arrived with 20 minutes still to go on the service, but there were items missing from the hot food. When we and other guests pointed this out, eventually some *just* barely cooked, anemic greasy sausages and bacon was produced which was pretty unappetising. My partner opted for salmon and scrambled eggs from the menu but it came cold (microwaved pre-shaped egg pile + cold salmon from fridge?). Bad day in the kitchen maybe, but at £150 a night I'd expect quality and availabilty to remain on the money until service ends. I suspect that the at table waiter service might have produced better results, but one shouldn't have to take chances and know that in advance.

TV was patchy with reception as others have reported, some channels kept breaking up and were unwatchable (We were devastated that we couldn't get Storage Wars on Dave).

Good stuff :
Free parking (but it's a good 200m walk from level 6 of the very tightly spaced multi-story - don't bring the Range Rover).
Marina view and mini-balcony.
Lots of eating choices (if you're not fussy about chains) and three pubs within walking distance
Easy flat walk into Brighton centre along coast (but it will take you 30 minutes).
Drench-shower and big towels.
Clean and tidy.

Not so good stuff:
Inconsistent breakfast (hoping that things would be better earlier in the day, but not everyone staying will want to have to set an alarm just to secure cooked sausages/bacon).
Felt tired and past it's best (e.g. few chips on furniture, marks on carpets and rugs etc).
Probably about £50 overpriced for what it is, hence the overall 'poor' rating.

In conclusion - accept you're paying over the odds, go in with eyes wide open and minimal expectations and you'll be ok.

Room Tip: Marina side gets a view (but at time of writing there are building works going on in Marina so may n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brotherharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
2.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,096 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,236 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 43 in Brighton
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.9 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Brighton

Address: Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Hotel Seattle)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Brighton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#10 Business Hotel in Brighton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £80 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malmaison Brighton, a contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to offer the best views of Brighton Marina. Close enough to make the best of Brighton's vibrant life but also somewhere where you can enjoy a more relaxed environment with great hospitality, fresh & local produce menus & something a little more unique. Seattle is a hotel to explore, sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you or relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You'll find them friendly, welcoming and never shy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Hotel Brighton
Brighton Hotel Seattle
Alias Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing