We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with everything... fantastic view, fabulous food, will stay again.”
Review of Malmaison Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Brighton
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Upon arrival to the hotel, we thought we had walked into the wrong place, with its fantastic decor, crisp and stylish we had to double check we were at the right place, for what we were paying to stay here we thought we were going to be in some basic hotel. Staff very friendly, rooms out of this world with fantastic views of the marina. Close to some wonderful bars and restaurants, very friendly place. Breakfast is highly recommended.
We are going to return in the summer with the Children for a family holiday. Thank you to the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wattie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,422 - 1,428 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2009

I can't believe some of the reviews about this hotel, I had nothing to complain about and I like good moan. The hotel was spotless, staff were friendly, it was in a great location, the views from the bar were excellent, the food was great and the rooms were fab. This is an honest review from a very satisfied customer.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BossIcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

I chose The Seattle after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and was very happy with my choice. The atmosphere in the hotel is very relaxing & the staff are friendly. I had a marina facing king room which was clean & very spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the room had a large flatscreen LG TV. There was plenty of storage space for my 2 night stay and a very large shared balcony overlooking the marina. The bathroom was basic but large with a monsoon shower over the bath, 2 sinks & nice toiletries. I ate in the bar a couple of times & the food was very nice. I will definately be coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

My partner and I stayed here last week I must say it was a fantastic experience As we drove into the marina i was a little disheartened by the cheapy looking sign on the side of the buliding and wasnt expecting the marina to have everything in it and I mean everything, asda , cinema, petrol, bowling , restruants (to suit all pockets).

When we found our way to the entrance it was a long corridor with projections and soothing music...Good Start! We arrived at reception via lift to be greeted by a really kind relaxed receptionist who gave us our card.........

we stayed in room 106 and guess what the card worked first time.. We made our wy into the light airy room witrh plasma tv screen ipod dock that didnt work (or maybe i didnt know how to use it). The bathroom was spacious and clean


breakfast was great and was ready toget straight back in to the large comfy kingsize bed straight after....

Drinks at the bar were also well priced and you could order these to tyour room.

Over all a fantastic stay and will definately be back again!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

After having read many of the reviews I looked forward to my own experience of the place.
We stayed a Sunday night on the basis that the room was free provided that we spent at least £75 (this included wine) in the restaurant. Brighton Marina was easy to find as was the car park and level 6 which offers the easiest access to the hotel. The problem was that we arrived on a Sunday when level 6 was more or less full - so we had a bit of a walk to the hotel.
The reception is one floor up (second floor according to the lift) and was almost open-plan but was bright and pleasant. We were efficiently and pleasantly welcomed. Our room was facing the cliff side of the Marina but the view wasn't too bad. The room, however, was small with very little storage accommodation. The hanging space which some reviewers had above the kettle was in this room above the TV but the available depth of the hanging space was quite restricted. It was doubtful if there would have been enough room for a man's shirt let alone a woman's dress. I don't think there were any drawers and the bottom line was that, if you were staying there for some time you would be living out your suitcase. I don't think I would rate the room as 3 star - it was about on a par with a Holiday Inn Express. There was no room safe and I find that unacceptable these days.
On the other hand, the corridor to the room was wide, well light and attractive. The public area leading to the Restaurant was also extremely well appointed and furnished as was the bar and the restaurant. It was all somewhat of a contrast to the bedroom. There are doubtless better bedrooms but I did not get one.
The whole value of the special deal obviously centred around the quality of the evening meal which turned out to be excellent. We had three courses with wine and mineral water which came to £80 - not cheap but we had an obligation to spend £75. The quality of the food was first rate and the presentation and service were equally as good. Breakfast next morning was also good (as was the service) and the hot meal was freshly prepared and hot - other hotels please note that it is not impossible to serve a hot breakfast!
To clear up a few points from previous reviews we had a flat screen TV - probably about 24" and the clothes hanging area was not above the tea-making facilities - it was above the TV. There was no air-conditioning but Brighton in March did not require any! There was no noise from the adjacent night club but it was a Sunday night in early March and may not have been typical. All the staff with whom we came into contact were pleasant and helpful.
Overall it was a good value package which we enjoyed and, for one night the room was actually wholly adequate. The highlight was the high quality food which we exceeded our expectations. It was a decent hotel in which to spend some time and it had the advantage of offering the facilities of the Marina whilst still being in easy reach of the centre of Brighton (the number 7 bus!).

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hibees43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

Spent ages reading reviews of hotels in Brighton & started to get very confused. Wanted a sea view, somewhere clean, kid friendly & somewhere to park nearby. Finally settled on the Seattle with large king size sea view room and so glad I did. It was a lovely hotel. Really welcoming with children getting an activity pack as I checked in. The parking is in a large multistorey around the corner - easy to find a space on the 6th floor (takes about 3-4 minutes with luggage and 2 young kids to walk to the hotel entrance) . You can walk to Brighton along the sea front, about 0.5 mile or you can catch bus which runs every 7 mins. Good choice of restaurants in Marina . After spending peaceful night in the Seattle we went to Brighton pier next morning. Saw some of the hotels I had been considering and found dirty windows, shabby paintwork, chips all over floor and pavement pizza's outside. Obviously the seafront hotels are more in the thick of the nightlife so you would expect this, but with kids its not for me. Ideal for romantic / older couples and family stays. There is a casino round the corner and a bowling alley. Not great for stag / hen do's and I did not see any clubs.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readingplus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

I chose the hotel because of reviews and the hotel style. We were in Brighton for the Leonard Cohen concert and the room (107) was great (just a tad too warm for my taste), view of the marina, bed comfy and toileteries good. Staff service excellent as well.

Breakfast is fabulous. First class...and even better with a view of Leonard Cohen sitting at the next table!!

Very cool hotel - no problem for us with noise.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank madre-maquina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
2.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,981 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,230 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.8 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,317 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Brighton

Address: Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Hotel Seattle)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#9 Family Hotel in Brighton
#10 Business Hotel in Brighton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £77 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malmaison Brighton, a contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to offer the best views of Brighton Marina. Close enough to make the best of Brighton's vibrant life but also somewhere where you can enjoy a more relaxed environment with great hospitality, fresh & local produce menus & something a little more unique. Seattle is a hotel to explore, sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you or relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You'll find them friendly, welcoming and never shy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Hotel Brighton
Brighton Hotel Seattle
Alias Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing