We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellect Hotel”
Review of Malmaison Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Brighton
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Just had a three night stay in the Seattle Hotel, we found the room very clean and we had a lovely views of the habour from our balcony. The room was air conditioned and double glazed so no nosiy seagulls!, Breakfast was included and we went for the full English. Staff were very pleasent and parking was free in the multi storey. ( a real bonus in Brighton!!) We chose to get a taxi to Brighton which was £5.00 or there is a bus service every 7 miniutes. An ideal place to stay for a short stay in Brighton, We would certainly stay again at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepperpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,457 - 1,463 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2009

Stayed there after completing the London to Brighton Bike Ride. Room overlooked the Marina. Very spacious, nice room with balcony but would like to have had air conditioning. Breakfast was excellent. The location is probably not the best for central Brighton but was great for our needs. The Marina area has plenty of restaurants and bars including good Indian restaurant next to the hotel. Will be back next year!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Part of the problem of staying in Brighton with small children (or a small child in my case) seems to be that you are stuck between the old edifices on the (sometimes tacky) seafront or the boutique hotels where you'd imagine children are frowned on.

As a result, the Seattle seems to be a good option. I was last there in 2004 for a conference when it had recently opened and remembered the modern decor and restaurant and view over the marina. Five years on, I imagined it might be showing signs of wear and tear, but not so - it still gives other so called Boutique hotels a run for their money.

It's family friendly but not over run with them so if you don't have kids, you don't need to worry that you have stumbled onto a kids playground. The staff are generally helpful and the rooms big and there are plenty of good chain restaurants (Strada, Pizza Express et al) right outside the front door plus an Asda supermarket that makes up for the lack of a mini bar.

Downsides? The marina is a good 30 minute walk from Brighton Pier (or you can take the tourist train during the day). That didn't bother us, but it is something to bear in mind if it rains. There is also a big difference between rooms in the back (which we had) and sea view rooms.

The back overlooks the car park and the breeze block end of this 80s development. The front faces the marina. The wind also comes in from the sea, which is important as the rooms have no air conditioning.

All in all though would recommend it. Notwithstanding these points you can't really go wrong.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dirksinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

stayed one night at the Seattle in Brighton marina firstly not a hotel problem but beware the seagulls was having a drink and got splattered when you look around at the seagull mess this is a real problem they also dive into the restaurants and take food from empty plates

Any way hotel was clean staff nice room small but modern only problem as many have commented was heat you have to sleep with window open and then cant sleep with noise at 4am the sound of birds was unbearable (ok i live in London so not used to weird wildlife ) any way far to hot did not sleep a wink.

food was ok but have to say the cheese bored was the worst I have had any where in the world "Sussex Cheese" a tiny selection of the worst tasting cheese all copies of French cheese so why not use French cheese I ask awful presentation and not enough to feed a mouse if it was edible.

all in all was a nice stay with great location.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomorespain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

My husband and I spent a Sunday night at the Hotel Seattle. After reading some reviews we were warned that rooms overlooking Brighton Marina can be noisy so we plumbed for a room looking towards the cliffs which was in fact a lot cheaper than the rooms with a view. It was a reasonable size with modern furnishings, excellent lighting, and a functional bathroom, everthing being very clean. Our breakfast taken on the outside patio overlooking the marina provided a good choice of freshly squeezed orange juice, cereals and fruit, pastries, toast, various cooked breakfasts (including scramble eggs and smoked salmon) and hot drinks. The very reasonable price we paid for our room included cooked breakfast. The location is altogether fine being within easy distance of the main attractions of the town, by car, bus or bike (you can even hire a bike on the marina) but it is in a relatively quiet spot with plenty of interesting activities to observe from the public rooms overlooking the marina.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrinaBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Booked this hotel as only one available for a short notice trip to Brighton. Was horrified when I drove into the Marina complex as all very down market and entrance to hotel is just a doorway but once you get in it certainly has the wow factor.
All is cool and funky. We stayed in a Marina View room (No. 250). Great room with good facilities and it's own balcony overlooking the Marina. Staff all helpful. Food in the restaurant was fabulous. So much so, that we skipped out early from the gig we were attending just to get back in time for dinner! Wine list is great and had some unusual choices. Could not find anything to dislike about this hotel. Will certainly be going back here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliette5144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

I booked the Hotel Seattle for a quick overnight stop in Brighton with a friend to see a concert in Brighton town centre. The hotel is about £7 in a cab from Brighton train station, and you walk back to the town in under half an hour. The Marina itself is lovely with several shops and about 6 restaturants situated underneath the hotel. Check in to the hotel was quick and the receptionist was very helpful with some questions that we had about the local area. We did not eat in the hotel as there was so many restaurants outside but we did enjoy some drinks and cocktails in their bar and terrace which was really nice. The bar staff are really friendly and sitting out on the terrace enjoying a glass of wine, looking out over the marina was a lovely way to enjoy the afternoon sun!
Our hotel room exceeded my expectations, quite a big room that was very clean with a minimalist design, nice beds and a door that opened out onto a shared terrace and looked straight out over the Marina. The bathroom was also big and very clean, with double sinks, a big shower and bath.
We stayed on a Tuesday night and the hotel was very quiet. In th morning we enjoyed an excellent breakfast, where you have a continental breakfast laid out but you can also choose in additon to the continental, a cooked breakfast. The staff are polite and helpful, rooms are lovely. If you want to be right in the thick of the Brighton life you might want to stay closer to town as this is a bit out of the town, but for us it was perfect. All in all a very enjoyable stay, I would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacko657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
2.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,228 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,249 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
2.2 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
1.9 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Brighton

Address: Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Hotel Seattle)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Brighton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#10 Business Hotel in Brighton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £73 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malmaison Brighton, a contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to offer the best views of Brighton Marina. Close enough to make the best of Brighton's vibrant life but also somewhere where you can enjoy a more relaxed environment with great hospitality, fresh & local produce menus & something a little more unique. Seattle is a hotel to explore, sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you or relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You'll find them friendly, welcoming and never shy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Hotel Brighton
Brighton Hotel Seattle
Alias Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing