We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owner of this place should retire...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hudsons Guest House
Ranked #63 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The owner of this place should retire...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here recently with my partner and will never be going back. This is a decent place, nice room, good location and could be as previously stated, a real gem if it weren't for the appalling attitude of the owner who blatantly has no interest in running the business any longer. As written before in another review, the sarcastic attitude of the owner leaves more than a lot to be desired. Having been caught in the recent storms and a little late for our arrival (half an hour?) due to train delays, my partner was subjected to sarcasm and hostility on the phone whilst trying to explain the circumstances of our journey. Upon arrival, the owner seemed disinterested in anything we had to say and didn't even show us to our room whilst he stood there with his coat on, looking surly and almost desperate to get out of the place and us. The room was ok but dim and since it was the suite, I also didn't expect to hear the constant thud of every footstep and creak of almost all the kitchen activity throughout the breakfast service above my bed the next morning; resting or enjoying a little longer in bed the next day was an impossibility. Breakfast is also served only for a measly hour and fifteen minutes between 8am and 9:15? Again, this "lets get it over with" attitude and the fact that they have changed to a "continental" breakfast to avoid any effort at breakfast only adds to the impression that the owner (owners) just can't be bothered with the place anymore nor their guests. By far the most offensive thing to occur however, was the following morning when we were literally 20mins late leaving because the shower didn't work properly (a trickle of hot water) and it took forever to wash, the owner came mumbling sarcastic comments again about the check out time, told us we were thoughtless leaving late, stormed around the doorway making further nasty comments and then actually forced myself and my partner to stand in the gales and pouring rain outside the front door whilst waiting for a taxi?! My partner was genuinely upset by this point and I was livid...I vowed at that point that I would never go back nor ever recommend this place again. This used to be a place worth staying, the owners used to care, the service used to be decent (as did the breakfast) but everything here now smacks of owners who simply cannot be bothered with neither the guest house nor the guests. If you like sarcasm, haughty and rude behaviour and enjoy being treated with utter disdain, then this place is perfect. In my opinion, as one of those people who would prefer to be treated with a little dignity and respect, I would recommend that anyone thinking of staying in Brighton would have a better time at a travelodge...and that really is saying something.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ultra101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    64
    22
    14
    13
See reviews for
12
103
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Lovely location, nice rooms, friendly.
We have stayed maybe 6 times, and enjoyedit each time. The house is clean, modern and well equipped. We have always enjoyed the breakfast, but not this time. They have changed to 'continental', a couple of croissants or cereal. No deli meats, cheese or yogurt. Not really what we expected. A real shame as it is such a nice place. I will go back, but with a snack pack.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windyo360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Quick review on this one, we stayed one night, first weekend of 2014 - Saturday. First impressions - good, friendly owner, explained a bit about the hotel, sorted the car parking easily enough, nice location, no complaints.

Bedroom - excellent. We had the 4-poster room, number 5, really lovely...could even see the sea if you turned sideways! Mini bar was good, bed was fine, nice little touches and artworks to give the room an individual feel. one of the best rooms I've stayed in in Brighton.

The only reason I'm knocking a point off this place is that the breakfast was rubbish. Maybe it's just me but I was really expecting a cooked breakfast...or at least have a choice. The option of literally a pancake or a croissant just was not enough for me. Lovely little breakfast room, but I was disappointed and had to stop on the way home to have a proper feed! in my opinion, don't bother paying extra to have breakfast included and buy yourself something from one of the many cafe's nearby.

Otherwise a lovely little place.

Room Tip: Room 5 was the 4-poster room...the only one I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibizapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Hi this was a lovely vintage find..large room beautifully designed with great pictures of 60s models ..I loved its quicky comfortable feel and wished Id booked longer and to top it off had a mini bar (almost impossible to find in brightons hotels) very relaxing ...would definately stay again as best ive found so far..owner is quite a character but lovable in a strict kinda way.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed at Hudsons as our usual choice of hotel in Brighton was fully booked, we weren't sure what to expect but it was lovely.

Centrally located, great service and parking at an extra cost. Breakfast was lovely and there is wifi. The room was a nice size, clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmg1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife liked it-good quality modern decor, good price.
I didn't-feet hung over end of bed (I'm only 5ft9-medium), could hear neighbour singing through the wall (early eve), bathroom door had visible gap on hinge side. Though note this was the loft room, so of course was a bit cramped. These were just minor nuisances. What spoilt it for me was the surly, sarcastic attitude on the phone. I phoned when I could see we wouldn't make the 4pm booking-in time. Owner "How long will you be?"; 'half an hour' I said; "That'll be an hour then" he said in a highly sarcastic tone. God forbid anyone turning up later.
I see a similar comment in October.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yendordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east anglia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed in room 5 ,clean and tidy, nice powerfull hot shower ,wife impressed with the decor and the very comfy four poster bed ,good breakfast, plenty of facitlites in the room and the owner arranged parking permits for us which is pretty helpful in Brighton, The B&B has a good location so we didn't have to walk far at all .We would definitely stay there again...

Room Tip: we liked room 5 as it had the four poster in it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breakfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 97 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.2 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#40 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 97 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.1 mi away
27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudsons Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudsons Guest House

Property: Hudsons Guest House
Address: 22 Devonshire Place, Brighton BN2 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hudsons Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and friendly guest house in the heart of Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hudsons Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudsons Guest House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing