We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed but very civilized”
Review of The Neo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Neo
Ranked #34 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed but very civilized”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The room was excellent, all staff were friendly and helpful, and the
presentation was very professional - especially the breakfast! We
particularly liked our room (7) and were more than happy to have the
toilet across the corridor as it gave us better value for our money than
a room with toilet en-suite. It is great to find such a good quality
package so central to such an amazing city! We will be back!

Room Tip: If you want a tip top room for less, then book room 7 with the toilet across the corridor. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the5wiseguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    111
    54
    31
    10
See reviews for
22
207
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

we spent a week in the hotel, all i can say is gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous! the room was beautiful, a bit small, but were very clean, beautifully decorated with a very generous and comfortable bathroom. the staff were incredibly friendly, and always happy to help. the hotel itself is very quiet, even when there were other guests staying the the room next door, i had no problems. the breakfast was SENSATIONAL. far more than you would ever expect-very good value for money. its very close to the sea front, and about 10minutes from the main nightlife areas so very good location also if i had to list any downsides it would be that the hotel doesnt have a lift, so if you're staying on the 3rd/top floor (like i was) the stairs are a bit difficult with baggage. overall, we had a wonderful stay and will absolutely be going back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtarik_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Great breakfast, and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Beds were very comfortable too.

We made the same mistake as many others though...booked a room (room 8) described on LastMinute as being standard, but it was really tiny. I would have not have booked (or possibly would have paid more for a bigger room) if I had known. There wasn't even space to put cases in the room and what little surface area was available was cluttered with unnecessary items.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plummet_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephneo, Manager at The Neo, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you kindly for the great rates you gave us for cleanliness, sleep quality and service, these are all attributes we pride our selves in and I hope these factors alone would induce you to stay again in the New Year.

I would like to take this opportunity to thouroughly agree with your comments about the room. We are a small, independent and quirky property and as a result our rooms do vary in size and facilities. The best advice I can give is to call us directly to ask any questions you may have about the room, all our staff know the rooms well and will be able to give you a thourough picture of what to expect - remember we can always match (if not beat) any rates you have seen online - hopefully this way you can get the room you want at the price you want to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Gorgeous room, lots of lovely finishing touches - loved the silky bathrobe! Towels and bedlinens excellent quality and bed very comfortable. Dinner and breakfast were delicious, but best of all the staff were extrememly accomodating and friendly - nothing seemed too much trouble. It really added to a great hen weekend!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I recently organised a hen do and arranged to have exclusive use of the whole hotel....I couldn't recommend it more highly! The Neo became our 'home' for the weekend and was just perfect - each room was very comfortable and beautifully done out (loved all the wallpaper but if you are a bath lover you might need to double check your room has a bath!) The staff were amazing. They accommodated our every need which meant we were able to make the weekend completely bespoke. They went the extra mile to help in every aspect - from orgnising to decorating to taxi booking to menu changes and even putting up with all the hen paraphernalia!! The food was delicious (best blueberry pancakes I've ever had!) and the hotel is ideally located within a 10-15 minute walk of everywhere we needed to get to. If you are looking for a weekend away with a group of friends and don't want the hassles of sorting out any catering this is the perfect solution! I thoroughly enjoyed it and most importantly so did the bride to be!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The room was lovely, the bathroom enourmouse w/ seperate shower and bath. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was yummy and there were numerous choices and the kitchen is not stingy with anything. Will definatly go back to this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zennorfilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed at the Neo in September for the weekend. Great location, lovely room (2), great breakfast. Had a fantastic massage in the on-site treatment room. Highly recommend for a comfortbale, convenient weekend by the sea.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perdylady75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
0.6 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neo

Property: The Neo
Address: 19 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LL, England (Formerly Neo Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Neo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Neo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing