We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a romantic getaway”
Review of The Neo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Neo
Ranked #33 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for a romantic getaway”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We loved our room - which was beautifully decorated and with a large, great bed - the bathroom and the large tub. The room was very clean, no noise and the breakfast was excellent! The staff is very friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel: close to the seafront, yet in a nice, quiet street, was perfect. Would definitely recommend it and go back if in Brighton again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JensenLykke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    111
    54
    31
    10
See reviews for
22
208
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed in room 4 on Saturday night and were made to feel very welcome. We are vegans and they provided us with a vegan breakfast (vegan sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms, soya milk) without hesitation.
The bed was really comfy and the room was neither small nor large - just ample. The bathroom was small, but that didn't bother us.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Loved our room, the bath, the staff and especially the breakfast! Would recommend and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We had room 5, was chosen for the double ended bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed here overnight whilst in Brighton to see a couple of gigs. The Neo is a great base, close to the see with great rooms.

The breakfast was really good as well, the staff were polite. The only slight thing was how noisey the preson serving the breakfast was, the clatter an bang of setting tables and almost slamming down of plates didn't help with the hangover!!!!!

Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Was in Brighton for a conference and stayed at the Neo, along with two colleagues. Really nice staff and great breakfast. Room (number 6) size was fine as it was just me - but could have been a bit of a squash with two people.

Only things I didn't like was the ancient TV which didn't work properly, and the amount of clutter that was on the fairly limited surfaces in the room. And a heated towel-rail that leaked.

Does seem to need a bit of attention and work done to the place, but it was a comfortable and friendly place to stay for a couple of nights while in Brighton for work.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wally359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephneo, Manager at The Neo, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
I have recently taken over management of The Neo and would firstly I like to say thank you for writing a review, we really do appreciate feedback - it is the best way for us to imporve and deliver the best service possible for our guests.
I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we can keep up our good service and breakfast - both of which we are proud of.
I would like to apologise for the leaky towel rail - this probelm has now been rectified so any subsequent guests should not encounter the same issue. I value your comments regarding the property, I am aware that the building is in need of some work and we are hoping to upgarde much of the hotel in the New Year.
We have now fitted a new ariel and distribution box into our attic so the televsion is back up to scratch, we are also hoping to replce these sometime in the new year.
I do hope you enjoyed your stay enough to come again and that we see you in the furture - when hopefully everythign will be to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2011

my partner and i loved our stay at NEO. The hotel looks beaUTIFUL. There is so much attention to detail in the interiors, if that kind of thing floats your boat this is worth a visit.
The room (5) felt luxurious, especially the bath for two! It was not the biggest of their rooms but i think it has one of the larger bathrooms and i would definately recommend this option! The room was on the small side but i definately felt overall i received very good value for money.
The staff were very professional, calm and friendly.
The location was great for exploring the city on foot.
...and finally the breakfast was exceptionally good, with an array of delicious choices and plenty of it. poi-fect!

Room Tip: there is no lift so avoid a top floor room if you don't like stairs. room and bathroon sizes v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy0yster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at the Neo Hotel, although I am sure that the definition of a hotel does not cover this establishment - it is a very expensive bed and breakfast. The room was supposed to be one of their largest and there wasn't enough room to swing a cat - it was embarrassingly small. We had booked in for a naughty weekend away, so felt a bit let down when we kept falling between the two single mattresses that had been pushed together.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louiseroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephneo, Manager at The Neo, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you for the response and the feedback, we value the opportunity to read feedback from our guests.
I apologise that you felt the room to be smaller than your liking, we are a grade II listed property and our rooms vary in size due to the era of the building - much of the renovation was done within strict guidlines and the rooms do get smaller as you go up eahc floor of the hotel. Should you choose to stay again, the best way to get an idea of the reality of a room is to call The Neo directly and discuss it with our staff, sometime online photographs and descriptions can appear deceiving. This too can be said of the term 'hotel', we are a small independently run property and do not operate a 24 hour reception or all of the facilities you can expect in a larger chain hotel - I believe this allows us to provide a much better and more personal service when we are here, but I can understand that this style of property is not to everyone's taste and I would like to personally apologise if you feel you were misled in anyway when you booked.
Our king size beds constitute Zip and Link mattresses - standard practice in many hotels they allow the flexibility of being able to offer both king-size rooms and twin rooms to our guests. I want to apologise to you as on this occassion it seems that the beds may not have been properly linked together - we have since checked the beds and rectified any issue on this front. The matresses are fitted with top quality feather toppers and protectors and we offer pretty much the best linen in town - I would be confident now that if you were to stay again you would not experience the same problems.
Once again, thank you for the feeback and I hope you at least enjoyed Brighton itself, a great town to visit for a weekend away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
1,301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
2,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
1.0 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neo

Property: The Neo
Address: 19 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LL, England (Formerly Neo Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Neo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Neo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing