We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Neo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Neo
Ranked #34 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend recently and absolutely loved the hotel.
The staff are friendly and go out of their way to make your stay special. They were very chatty and helped us with all issues and questions.
The breakfasts are amazing, we looked forward to waking up to our delicious, two course breakfast each morning. The breakfast room is pretty and the service very quick!
The DVD library is a nice extra and very useful, especially with such lovely rooms you do just want to chill out in them!
We stayed in room 1 which is huge and very beautiful. The bed was massive and so comfortable, and the ceiling-to-floor windows made the whole room special. The bathroom is rather small, but the shower was great and they supply nice toiletries and fluffy white towels, as well as waffle dressing gowns.
It is good value for money in terms of the room, breakfast and lovely staff. The location to the beach and town centre is great and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody wanting a friendly, comfotable and quirky stay in Brighton.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

I took my boyfriend to The Neo as a surprise for his birthday over the May Day bank holiday. We stayed in Room 1 which we found to be spacious and comfortable and the staff were charming - particularly Lauren. The breakfasts were delicious - freshly cooked and wonderful to wake up to the smell of pancakes and bacon!

We overheard a few people complaining about the noise in their room over breakfast - however we didn't think this was a problem. The hotel is in a good location - far enough away from the town centre to not be bothered by people out on the tiles, but close enough to be able to walk to all the restaurants, bars and the pier without too much trouble. If there is any noise outside, it soons staggers past - and one of the lovely things about the hotel is that it has traditional features like floor to ceiling windows (rather than plastic double glazing which would block out sound but look awful). The only problem we had was intermittent wifi - which really wasn't a big deal and made us relax that little bit more as we were 'cut off' from the real world for a few days!

We would thoroughly recommend the Neo - it's a lovely independent and friendly hotel. We can't wait to stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We went to our friends 40th at Neo earlier in the year and stayed there overnight after the party. It was a great venue, the rooms are kooky in decor and great for around 30-50 people, plenty of place to sit and a neat little bar, that gets VERY busy. The only thing that let it down was the somewhat changing bar prices throughout the evening, same round, random pricing - however it was never extortionate...so not the biggest deal.
Our room was above the bar so we were a bit concerned about noise, but it wasn't a problem - the only downside was the room was rather small. The breakfast in the morning made up for it, full English, not greasy and unlimited tea/coffee that poured from tea/coffee pots that actually worked how they should - so your morning beverage ended up in the cup, not on your table/lap.
It's the little things!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiGats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The hotel is really unique, we had a room with an enormous bathroom and the bed was super comfy. Some of the furnishings are showing a little bit of wear and tear, but the breakfast was great and the staff were really helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WattyJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Very nice young man who welcomed us and showed us to our room.
Room5 is small but has a large bathroom with bath and shower. The general outlook is nice, bedding and towels are of good quality and very clean all around. just need some refreshing work around.
There is a nice looking bar on the ground floor but we didn't avetime o enjoy a drink there.
Breakfast is served is a nice room but this one needs some work to make it even more pleasant.
The ceiling really need some repair and the window boxes have dead plants which makes it look sad. But the breakfast in itself offers a wide choice and is served promptly by a very nice young lady.
I say we had value for money, The Neo is 5 mins from the sea front, 10 mins to a secure car park (£12.50 for 24 hours) and a nice easy walk to the centre.
Apologies to the 2 member of staff but I didn't get your names but thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Ladyejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Room #6 is small but comfortable - sneezy for two. Breakfast room is very pleasant but the hotel overall needs a sruce up as there were wterstained ceilings, etc. Staff very friendly and hotel is located out of tourist hotspots although joist backpackers nearby and in the street made it hard to sleep.

Room Tip: Room 5 looks bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Good:
- Great bed - very comfy
- Lovely big white fluffy towels
- Excellent welcome and superb staff
- Superb menu choice
- Huge DVD Library
- Terrific free wifi
- Delicious breakfast with organic produce
- Nice cosy room

Not so good:
- Room 4 - pretty small/snug (no room on floor if we'd bought a bigger bag or suitcase, 2 chairs - but not in any position where they could really be usefully used if you wanted to watch TV for examlpe
- The breakfast room lacked atmosphere, although was better on the second day when there was some background music being played, (which covers up the noise from the down-pipe in the corner).
- Bathroom very, very small - we choose room 4 as it has a bath with a shower over - the bath was too small for us to use (not the end of the world - but i do like a good soak in the bath).
- Room decor needs some TLC - a block of 13 tiles missing from shower wall
- Scuffed woodwork and paintwork in room
- windows need catches as they did let in quite a lot of drafts
- Signage say "Treatment rooms" but they no longer have a therapist now (signs are to be removed).

We had 2 nights here in room 4. The lady who greeted us on arrival was terrific and the perfect host. Having been ill and told to rest and the poor weather, we wanted to spend some time in the room. The bed and bedding was extremely comfy, the TV with Freeview and DVD option was great and the wifi terrific. One suggestion - put in curved shower curtain rails, which give more room in the shower - as the one there now, does cling to you, especially as the shower is not all that powerful.

I enjoyed the visit and would come back (to a bigger room) but would hope that some of the small jobs such as woodwork touch ups and tiling are done.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazzer_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,001 reviews
1.0 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 43 in Brighton
1,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.0 mi away
The Oriental
The Oriental
#12 of 95 in Brighton
677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#14 of 95 in Brighton
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neo

Address: 19 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LL, England (Formerly Neo Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Neo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Neo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing