We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, well located hotel”
Review of The Neo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Neo
Ranked #34 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Just got back from a 2 night stay in The Neo, as an anniversary treat. Booked the hotel after reading great reviews on here so felt i should write about the trip. Hotel is well located, nicely tucked away but only a 5 - 10 minute walk from the action. This was our first trip to Brighton and we highly recommend the location of this hotel for everything you may want to do in the centre. We stayed in room 9 which was right at the top (keeps you fit)!!!. The room itself was quite small and was decorated tastefully - it was well equipped with everything you could need for a short stay. The staff were very friendly and showed us where certain restaurants were - they were laid back and very professional.
The breakfasts were lovely - 2 courses with plenty of choice, lovely fresh coffee and juices, all very nicely presented and very promptly served. To be honest we usually stay in large hotels as we used to feel that staying in a small bed and breakfast might feel a little awkward or intrusive, but staying at The Neo has dispelled that for us and we would certainly look to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
There are newer reviews for The Neo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife and both really enjoyed everything about the place.
The rooms are while small, perfect for a couple of nights. The decor is lovely (Modern) and the bathrooms are fantastic, though be sure to check you get a room with a bath if that's important to you as some only come with a shower (we stayed in room 5 and it was great).
The breakfasts are also really good, lovely smoothies and both the fried breakfast and Blueberry pancakes that we had we excellent.
All the staff we came into contact with were lovely, really laid back and friendly but ultimately really professional too.
If your staying for more than a long weekend then you might want somewhere with a few creature comforts but for short stays you'll be hard pushed to find anything better for the price

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clappo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

A very stylish boutique hotel, but quite small though.

Great location , as only few blocks from the beach. However, as it was so closed to the beach and town centre, there were noisy seagulls in the morning and lots of drunkards around at night. I did not have good sleep at all.

There were massage and facial services in the hotel. I was intended to try, but the staff was not stationed there and she failed to come back to the hotel while I was staying there.

Free wifi was included but the signal was very bad.

Staff and breakfast were fine but not brilliant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccesther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Nice different hotel, quirky, sweet and super lovely staff! The room was lovely but incredibly hot could so do with a fan! The breakfast was amazingly yummy! Lovely hotel, all in all but does need a little sprucing up! That is my only negative! The staff do make the hotel though!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kirsty32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We just stayed for one night to celebrate our sons graduation we had three rooms and all were terrific. The staff were extremely polite and courteous. The breakfast was excellent lovely choices close to the beach and shops we will be back

Room Tip: room 5 for the bath
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed here for a night celebrating our wedding anniversary. We were in Room 5 which was beautiful. I organised for champagne and strawberries on our arrival and had the lovely surprise of balloons in our bedroom too. A really large bathroom, with a big bath! We opted for breakfast in bed and it was yummy! I recommend the french toast with bananas! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, it makes a welcome change from many of the other hotels we've stayed at. By the way our rating for sleep quality had nothing to do with the hotel, just extra noisy seagulls! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FVamp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed just the one night in The Neo in July and as others have noted the staff were extremely helpful and just plain lovely. The hotel itself is small and intimate which is great, and is beautifully decorated. We were in room 6 which isn't quite as described on the website (I believe the wallpaper has changed) but was gorgeous just the same with a very comfy bed and a lovely en suite bathroom.

The breakfast was delicious and plentiful - I had both a starter and a main, juice and coffee. The location is ideal for the beach, being just past the west pier and is not far from the shops. The hotel recommended parking which was just 2 streets away and was £12 for 24 hours. It was locked overnight so I felt happy that my car was secure.

All in all I was very happy with my stay at The Neo and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asbo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
997 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 43 in Brighton
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
1.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,206 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Oriental
The Oriental
#13 of 94 in Brighton
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neo

Address: 19 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LL, England (Formerly Neo Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £79 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Neo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Neo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing