We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff - great hotel - superb location”
Review of The Neo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Neo
Ranked #33 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff - great hotel - superb location”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My brother and I stayed for a few days in The Neo whilst visiting some friends in Brighton. There are so many great things about this hotel. Firstly the location: just off one of the main streets, tucked away nicely, and only minutes from the beach and shops. Secondly the staff: friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, keen to make sure that your stay in Brighton is going to be great. Thirdly the rooms: tastefully decorated, suitably stocked, comfortable beds. Last, but certainly not least, the breakfast: being able to start your day with that breakfast is a sure-fire winner (the tastiest hangover cure ever!).

I read loads of reviews of various places. If I were you, I would book this place now. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Nik will sort you out with a good room. Relax, you are going to have a great time in Brighton!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    111
    54
    31
    10
See reviews for
22
207
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I have been travelling to Brighton on a fairly regular basis over the last five years and always make a point of staying at The Neo (im guessing over the years i have stayed here about 20 plus times). On one previous occasion i stayed at a different hotel of a simular price range but was no-where near the standard of The Neo. I use the car park at Regent Square which really is less than a five minute walk away, costs about £12.50 over night and is safe and secure. The Lion and Lobster Pub / Resurant is not even a minutes walk away and is probably the best Pub in Brighton. The staff at The Neo are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble they are always police friendly and very helpful. The breakfasts are out of this world the 'Seaside English' is a great cooked breakfast, but i cannot recomend the Blueberry pancakes enough!! The rooms are all spotlessly clean, and very comfortable and cosey (and no i dont mean small!!) and decorated with real style which goves them their own eunique personality. If you want bland, dull, borning straight out of a packet hotel go stay at a Travelodge, however if you want a Hotel that represents what makes Brighton such a great place to visit then book into The Neo!! Look forward to seeing the folks at The Neo soon!!

Room Tip: Look at the web page as all the rooms are on here, with a description and pictures, or simply call T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We have stayed here twice now and will definitely go back again and again. Not in the best part of Brighton but its only 5mins walk from the main shopping centre, 10min to the Lanes and 5mins to the seafront.
We have stayed in room 5 and 6. Room 5 was the best but thats not to say there was anything wrong with 6.
The staff are great, really helpful and very friendly.
The breakfast is just sooooo good. I've had American pancakes both times, so filling they lasted me all day.
Will go to Brighton regularly and wont stay anywhere else now. Call the hotel to make your booking as they will always try to give you a discount.
Highly recommend. Five stars

Room Tip: Room 5 has a big bathroom with a double bath and room 6 has a huge walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a special ocassion and we were both very impressed with the hotel. It's a small and quiet hotel tucked away in the side streets, and the girls who run it are very welcoming. There are only around 14 rooms in the entire hotel and when we arrived we got the choice of the two that were available at the time which was nice. The rooms are small but this didn't effect us in the slightest as you forget once you are settled in. The interior and decor is lovely and that's what I think makes it a nice place to stay. We got breakfast in the hotel which was also lovely, again the dining room is small but it adds to the boutique style. The only aspect we weren't particularly happy with was the parking. There is a garage just round the corner which is parking for the hotel but it is very dodgy. Instead of putting your keys in a locked cupboard they place them on top of one of your tyres. Although it was ok in the end, I will choose a different place to park the car.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The moment you walk in you feel at home. The staff is extremely friendly and go out of their way to make you feel at home. The place is well kept and classically designed with an art deco feel to it. The rooms are beautiful, clean and offer real comfort with great style. Nothing too extravagant about The Neo but it offers a great location a few blocks from the beach and walking distance to bars/restaurants and best of all it's a great value for what you get.

Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loves2Travel415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed 2 nights last weekend and enjoyed our stay in room 1 on the first floor. The deco was lovely, staff friendly and great to be able to hire DVDs on a rainy afternoon. The only drawback for us was the noise outside - gulls as usual but also workmen in the street speaking loudly in early hours, and waste disposal trucks going about their business loudly - even on the Sunday. Breakfast was fab - would recommend.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kentgirl_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I've just spent a weekend at the hotel with 16 girlies. We hired the whole hotel as our base for a friend's hen weekend and had a fabulous time.
The hotel itself is really quirky and the rooms are great. The bar area was perfect for us and the staff were fantastic, they couldn't do enough for us.
Breakfast was fab, great veggie choice and 2 courses and as much tea/coffee/juice and toast as we could eat.
I stayed in Room 2 and just loved the decor, the wallpaper was lush!! Great view and really spacious shower. Feather pillows and quilt added a touch of luxury too.
A fantastic weekend at a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hel_Rich23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
0.6 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neo

Property: The Neo
Address: 19 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LL, England (Formerly Neo Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Neo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Neo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing