We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Little B&B”
Review of The Neo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Neo
Ranked #34 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jade W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
There are newer reviews for The Neo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

Just got back from two nights at the Neo and need to give it a rave! Perfect spot, a minute or two from the beach but on a quiet street. My room (8) was at the top of the building and was such a cosy retreat. Very comfortable, very quiet, terrific bath. But service exceptional as other reviewers have mentioned. Very friendly welcome and because my room was already empty they let me check in hours early. Then the breakfasts - TWO courses, with heaps of choice, in beautiful breakfast room. You can also have your brekkie sent up to your room for an extra charge if you prefer. My very favourite bit, as there was a rainy evening, was that you can borrow a DVD for free from a well-stocked library, watch it in your room - and order a cocktail from the bar to be sent up to go with it. George Clooney and a Cosmopolitan ... bliss!
On separate note, want to say big thanks to Nick who did a superhero job in finding and posting a phone charger I'd left in the room. It was found and mailed literally done within minutes of my calling the hotel to notify them of the loss. Never ever come across service like this and they've won a customer for life! Thanks all for a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rscfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I stayed last weekend in this hotel with my girlfriend. We stayed in room five and the quality of the room was amazing. The room is a very high standard and the bathroom was very large.

The bed and quality of the sheets were high and the bed was very comfortable.

Service was amazing, they have a small bar, that they opened after hours for us.

I have never been presented with a two course breakfast before! I opted for the smoothie and then the full English but there was a wide selection to chose from, my girlfriend had French toast.

They only drawback is that the hotel does not have double glazing and we heard some outside noise in the early hours.

I would recommend this hotel and definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We saved money booking on lastminute.com
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My brother and I stayed for a few days in The Neo whilst visiting some friends in Brighton. There are so many great things about this hotel. Firstly the location: just off one of the main streets, tucked away nicely, and only minutes from the beach and shops. Secondly the staff: friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, keen to make sure that your stay in Brighton is going to be great. Thirdly the rooms: tastefully decorated, suitably stocked, comfortable beds. Last, but certainly not least, the breakfast: being able to start your day with that breakfast is a sure-fire winner (the tastiest hangover cure ever!).

I read loads of reviews of various places. If I were you, I would book this place now. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Nik will sort you out with a good room. Relax, you are going to have a great time in Brighton!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I have been travelling to Brighton on a fairly regular basis over the last five years and always make a point of staying at The Neo (im guessing over the years i have stayed here about 20 plus times). On one previous occasion i stayed at a different hotel of a simular price range but was no-where near the standard of The Neo. I use the car park at Regent Square which really is less than a five minute walk away, costs about £12.50 over night and is safe and secure. The Lion and Lobster Pub / Resurant is not even a minutes walk away and is probably the best Pub in Brighton. The staff at The Neo are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble they are always police friendly and very helpful. The breakfasts are out of this world the 'Seaside English' is a great cooked breakfast, but i cannot recomend the Blueberry pancakes enough!! The rooms are all spotlessly clean, and very comfortable and cosey (and no i dont mean small!!) and decorated with real style which goves them their own eunique personality. If you want bland, dull, borning straight out of a packet hotel go stay at a Travelodge, however if you want a Hotel that represents what makes Brighton such a great place to visit then book into The Neo!! Look forward to seeing the folks at The Neo soon!!

Room Tip: Look at the web page as all the rooms are on here, with a description and pictures, or simply call T...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We have stayed here twice now and will definitely go back again and again. Not in the best part of Brighton but its only 5mins walk from the main shopping centre, 10min to the Lanes and 5mins to the seafront.
We have stayed in room 5 and 6. Room 5 was the best but thats not to say there was anything wrong with 6.
The staff are great, really helpful and very friendly.
The breakfast is just sooooo good. I've had American pancakes both times, so filling they lasted me all day.
Will go to Brighton regularly and wont stay anywhere else now. Call the hotel to make your booking as they will always try to give you a discount.
Highly recommend. Five stars

Room Tip: Room 5 has a big bathroom with a double bath and room 6 has a huge walk in shower
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a special ocassion and we were both very impressed with the hotel. It's a small and quiet hotel tucked away in the side streets, and the girls who run it are very welcoming. There are only around 14 rooms in the entire hotel and when we arrived we got the choice of the two that were available at the time which was nice. The rooms are small but this didn't effect us in the slightest as you forget once you are settled in. The interior and decor is lovely and that's what I think makes it a nice place to stay. We got breakfast in the hotel which was also lovely, again the dining room is small but it adds to the boutique style. The only aspect we weren't particularly happy with was the parking. There is a garage just round the corner which is parking for the hotel but it is very dodgy. Instead of putting your keys in a locked cupboard they place them on top of one of your tyres. Although it was ok in the end, I will choose a different place to park the car.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 43 in Brighton
1,020 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,206 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Oriental
The Oriental
#13 of 94 in Brighton
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neo

Address: 19 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LL, England (Formerly Neo Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £80 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Neo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Neo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing