We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a world of your own”
Review of The Neo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Neo
Ranked #33 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“In a world of your own”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We decided last minute to take a trip to Brighton for a few days with our two teenage daughters and chose The Neo for it's beautiful quirky interior, we were not disappointed when we arrived and was met by a friendly young lady who booked us in and gave us a map of Brighton.
The rooms were beautifully decorated, we had room one which was large with floor to ceiling windows, the bed was really comfy.
We had heard good reviews of the full english breakfast and were not disappointed, it was a good size to set you up for the day.
I would definitely return there again if i was in Brighton, as it is close to everything including shops, seafront and parking.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    112
    55
    32
    10
See reviews for
23
213
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed overnight in room 9. It's a small room but perfectly adequate for a short stay, and is very stylishly decorated as is the whole hotel. The staff were all really friendly and breakfast was excellent. They welcomed our little dog too! We'll happily return. For the car, we booked and parked at independent Regency Secure Parking which is only a couple of streets away and excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeridianMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We spent a couple of nights in Brighton and the Neo is a great base. Close to the front and a pleasant walk to the Laines and night life. We stayed in room 1 which was large, clean and well decorated. The bathroom just had a shower but had a rainfall head which was lovely!

You have to get the pancakes for breakfast. They take a while to cook but they are AMAZING.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talya D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here overnight while visiting family and the Brighton Festival. Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet overnight. The breakfast in the light sunny breakfast room was delicious with a good choice of food. Service was excellent throughout our stay and genuinely friendly. Altogether this small hotel is a stylish place, maybe a little worn around the edges, maybe a little too dark in its decor for some, but full of real character and warmth.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EevieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in 2005, but it looks like it hasn't been decorated since! Really run down, different owners now and shouldn't be in the Alastair Sawdey guide. The room description on the website is not accurate particularly with room 8. The room smells of drains and the internet doesn't work either. The windows do not close and so the blind rattles in the wind all night long. I think the people who own and manage this hotel are in the wrong line of business. Avoid. Pricey. Poor customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephneo, Manager at The Neo, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear James,
Firstly thank you for leaving a review on trip advisor, We take all feedback positively and are very sorry you were unhappy with your stay. The hotel still has the same owner (since 2002) & actually the whole of the top floor was extensively refurbished in only June of last year, including the room you stayed in so we are extremely surprised to hear you describe a brand new room as run down particularly in the light of other very positive reviews about the same room. The top floor rooms are smaller cosier attic style rooms (the Neo is a georgian townhouse building where ceilings get lower the higher up the building you go) & we are sorry if this was not explained clearly to you when booking however this is reflected in the lower price of these rooms. We have now addressed the WiFI problems by changing supplier & the correct pictures of room 8’s new décor are now on our website.
We take guest satisfaction extremely seriously and did our best to rectify your complaints - offering you and your partner a complimentary upgrade to one of our king size rooms which you sadly declined. We also offered you a considerable discounted rate on your final bill which you did accept. As the Manager, I strive to make sure each and every guest that walks through our doors is happy and treated with the very best customer service possible & I would welcome the opportunity to demonstrate this should you return.
Kind regards
Ashleigh @ the neo
(Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Being part of the Brighton Fringe, I needed somewhere local yet affordable to stay for 2 nights.
I've moved on from grotty B&B's with chintz curtains and floral bed sheets but couldn't afford the ridiculous prices the bigger hotels charge during the Fringe period.

The Neo looked spot on after some online searching and it turned out to be the perfect choice.
Lovely room - not huge, but then I didn't need that as I was hardly there. Classily furnished with everything I needed for a short stay. Neat, functional bathroom with a lovely rain head shower and a gloriously comfortable bed which aided some great nights' sleep after long days performing.

Sadly I didn't get to experience the breakfast as I was never up in time after my late nights.

The staff were particularly friendly and made sure I had everything I needed.

Overall, a great location, really nice room, and helpful, pleasant staff. I shall certainly be back there for next year's Fringe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Needed a room for an overnight stay on a Saturday in Brighton which is tougher than you would think as so many places impose a two-night minimum over the weekend. Whilst The Neo also has this rule, they were able to accommodate us on a fairly last minute booking. The staff at this guest house were pleasant and very helpful from booking through to reception and the room, whilst small, was charming. Great shower room although could benefit from a lick of paint where there was some old water damage (a small detail that let down the overall effect). Breakfast was included in the room rate and was really good value - a wide selection, fresh ingredients well presented and very copious... setting us up well for our day out in Brighton. A great find and certainly worthy of a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanL212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.0 mi away
The Oriental
The Oriental
#12 of 94 in Brighton
669 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fab Guest
Fab Guest
#15 of 94 in Brighton
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neo

Property: The Neo
Address: 19 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LL, England (Formerly Neo Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Neo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Neo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing