We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neo was unprepeared”
Review of The Neo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Neo
Ranked #33 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Neo was unprepeared”
Reviewed 4 July 2009

Two girl friends having a few days away, asked for twin beds got double beds, had no privacy with the shower as it was part of the room that we slept it, couples would love it I guess! But for £130 a night my friend & i expected the shower would not be part of of our bedroom. Felt we were ripped of even more so should this hotel tell u what it is they r selling, quite frankly a dissapointment!!!!.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SunshineLady51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    112
    55
    32
    10
See reviews for
23
213
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We selected the Neo from a number of boutique hotels in Brighton based on web site and reviews, It looked stylish and reasonable value. Most aspects in reality were disappointing. Climbing 4 flights of stairs with luggage ( no help offered & not mentioned on the website) into a cramped room with scuffed wallpaper and furniture. There was barely room to walk around the bed and the "bath & shower", was just a bath with handshower, no screen and no soap. The phone didn't work and TV ( tiny ) remote was missing. Staff only around from 8AM - 8 PM were pleasant and the breakfast was very good. Hardly made up for the disappointments though - we wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swinchml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2008

A lovely little hotel with excellent decor - especially the small bar. Staff very friendly. Breakfast outstanding. Room a little on the small side but well done out. Stayed in room 6.

  • Liked — The decor and breakfast
  • Disliked — Room a little small
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buntygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uae
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2008

very nice hotel. clean and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank handjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

Prior to booking the hotel looked great and well worth the mony.

Staff are great, room was decorated nice.

Although there is absolutely no where to store your close or hang things up. We stayed in room 8, and I could hang 2 jackets up, that was it!

No drawers, wardrobe or anything.

There is 4 shelves, 3 of which are filled with the tv/kettle/etc.

Mini bar consists of chocolate, crisps and water (which is warm), no point being there.

Bathroom is lovely, but we had two conditioners, no shampoo nor any

Included breakfast, was english, but very poor.

Bad customer service, under cooked eggs, no toasts (although they brought a selection of jam and spreads). A vegetarian couple that enetered the dining room after me got served quicker!!!!! And got toast.

All and all, nice hotel, the breakfast was poor, would be better going to McDonalds.

Check your reviews!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank defyFASHION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2008

The Neo was excellent - so much so that this is the first time I've reviewed a hotel after years of using Tripadvisor.

The Hotels location is just right - walking distance from both the town and beach. The breakfast is firstclass, possibly one of the best I've ever experienced at a hotel (surpassed even 5 Star!).

The staff were excellent and really helpful - felt like they were mates!

We had Room 4 which was really nice - decent size too. Really high ceiling with lots of original features. TV wasn't proper flatscreen, but did the job, though we only had 5 channels - a freeview upgrade wouldn't cost the earth but I guess they'll upgrade the TVs at some point. There was a DVD player with an absolutely HUGE DVD library downstairs, so its prefect if you just want to relax.

Some other reviews mention noise, but I don't see how you could have a hotel in this location with experiencing some noise... certainly didn't bother us!

Overall you won't go far wrong staying here - we paid £100 for a superior room (through laterooms.com), which was worth the extra twenty quid!

  • Liked — Everything!!!
  • Disliked — TV - needed a flatscreen with freeview / cable
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BrenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

Staff were very friendly and helpful – nice people. Bed and decor were nice, but although we had a shower and washbasin (with superficially stylish but badly installed plumbing) in our room, the toilet was down the corridor. Half the channels on the very small TV were poorly tuned-in. Other reviewers have mentioned street noise, which we also found to be an issue – sound seems to reverberate around that corner. Breakfast was nicely presented with good ingredients, but after ordering and half an hour or so of waiting, we were then told that they'd run out of sausages! So in summary, I can see what they're trying to do, but they're not quite hitting the mark, which is a shame, because the intention of these nice folks is undoubtedly good.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — The devil is in the details
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank headphonauts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 44 in Brighton
1,338 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
1,004 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Oriental
The Oriental
#15 of 94 in Brighton
668 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neo

Property: The Neo
Address: 19 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LL, England (Formerly Neo Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Neo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Neo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing