We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby chic and doggy do - not what we expected for close to £400”
Review of The Neo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Neo
Ranked #35 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Didn't get off to the best start when I got spooked on arrival by a fox foraging amongst rubbish dumped outside the hotel basement. Carried on walking towards the entrance and nearly trod in a huge pile of dog poo that had been deposited just outside the hotel's front door (basement rubbish and dog do were both still there when we left a couple of days later). Some help was begrudginly offered at check in when it was obvious I'd be struggling up the stairs with luggage. Bedroom was definately more shabby than chic although the bedding and wallpaper were beautiful. The bathroom was miniscule, a one (small) person shower, tiny sink (the size of a rugby ball) which failed to capture the water that shot out of the tap, leading to puddles on the floor each time the tap got turned on. Breakfast took forever to arrive but was delicious when it finally did on day two (although one rasher of bacon felt a bit mean). On day three it was all change. Breakfast service was speedy, we got two rashers of bacon this time but only half a tomato each, but it all tasted a bit nasty. Great position for shopping and seafront and the rooms were clean enough but considering we paid the equivalent cost of a foreign city break it didn't really measure up. Feels like the management has taken its eye off the boil.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nenica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2009

Stayed for 1 night at the Neo, once we arrived we were really dissapointed, the whole building looks like it needs updating, the communal areas were dirty and tired.

We were in room 2 which was also tired and was in desperate need of some TLC, the walls were scraped and marked with bad paint touch up jobs, the wallpapered wall was absolutly terrible all bumpy and bubbly, there was no mini firdge but instead a tray with bottled water, crisps and chocolate on it which were expensive and not something you really want when it's been on a tray in a extremely hot room in July. there's no air con so you have to have the windows open which meant there were constantly lots of flies flying around our room, and also like the other reviews the noise from outside was horrendous, not only trucks, mopeds and cars flying past but at about 2am loads of groups of people making their way drunkenly home, slept for about 2 hours that night to be then woken up by the sound of seagulls and more traffic, tried shutting the windows but then was too hot and they didn't shut out any of the noise anyway.

The bathroom was ok but the door didn't shut, the lock was broken, the shower was also really tired and needed some tidying up, also the on/off handle was broken and kept coming off, the tap on the sink felt like it was about to come off, really wobbly and also like over reviews I have read the toilet flushed everytime you put the seat up as the button was behind the seat on the wall.

On the plus sides, the bed was comfy although it was 2 beds pushed together, the service was friendly but didn't really need them for anything and the breakfast was lovely, definitley not worth the £160 for the 1 night, i'm sure it was a lovely boutique hotel when it was originally decorated but not anymore. I wouldn't go there again, I wish I had taken photos.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlygirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

Two girl friends having a few days away, asked for twin beds got double beds, had no privacy with the shower as it was part of the room that we slept it, couples would love it I guess! But for £130 a night my friend & i expected the shower would not be part of of our bedroom. Felt we were ripped of even more so should this hotel tell u what it is they r selling, quite frankly a dissapointment!!!!.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SunshineLady51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We selected the Neo from a number of boutique hotels in Brighton based on web site and reviews, It looked stylish and reasonable value. Most aspects in reality were disappointing. Climbing 4 flights of stairs with luggage ( no help offered & not mentioned on the website) into a cramped room with scuffed wallpaper and furniture. There was barely room to walk around the bed and the "bath & shower", was just a bath with handshower, no screen and no soap. The phone didn't work and TV ( tiny ) remote was missing. Staff only around from 8AM - 8 PM were pleasant and the breakfast was very good. Hardly made up for the disappointments though - we wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swinchml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2008

A lovely little hotel with excellent decor - especially the small bar. Staff very friendly. Breakfast outstanding. Room a little on the small side but well done out. Stayed in room 6.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buntygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2008

very nice hotel. clean and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank handjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2008

Prior to booking the hotel looked great and well worth the mony.

Staff are great, room was decorated nice.

Although there is absolutely no where to store your close or hang things up. We stayed in room 8, and I could hang 2 jackets up, that was it!

No drawers, wardrobe or anything.

There is 4 shelves, 3 of which are filled with the tv/kettle/etc.

Mini bar consists of chocolate, crisps and water (which is warm), no point being there.

Bathroom is lovely, but we had two conditioners, no shampoo nor any

Included breakfast, was english, but very poor.

Bad customer service, under cooked eggs, no toasts (although they brought a selection of jam and spreads). A vegetarian couple that enetered the dining room after me got served quicker!!!!! And got toast.

All and all, nice hotel, the breakfast was poor, would be better going to McDonalds.

Check your reviews!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank defyFASHION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,001 reviews
1.0 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 43 in Brighton
1,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.0 mi away
The Oriental
The Oriental
#13 of 95 in Brighton
677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#14 of 95 in Brighton
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neo

Address: 19 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LL, England (Formerly Neo Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Neo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Booking.com, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Neo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing