We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Neo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Neo
Ranked #34 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2007

The Neo Hotel was not previously known to me, and the credit for its discovery must go to my very dilligent (and even after many years,still so gorgeous) wife who seems to be blessed with an ability to find the fantastic among the mediocre time and time again.
We spent 2 nights there arriving on Friday 2nd March 2007. The weather was precisely what you would expect of our wonderful country..very windy...and enough rain to satisfy the water companies for the next few years. There was a brief heart stopping moment when we found the entrance door was locked and we didn't think there was going to be a response to our bell ringing. Then at last, salvation in the form of Mark who, as we later found does so many jobs it was a miracle he found time to answer the door at all. More of this remarkable gentleman later.
Check in was flawless and we knew almost instantly that we were in for a treat. The Neo has been created with style and sophistication in mind; class and intimacy go hand in hand here but there is none of the ridiculously out of date attitude or snobbery that other 'classy' establishments still desperately cling to. Indeed , most unusually there was not one single member of staff who let the side down. All of them were quite simply superb.
So..onward and indeed upwards, up the stairs to our room.We stayed in room number 2 and were immediately re-assured on entry that the standards of the decor and the comfort we have come to expect were there in abundance. We particularly liked the wallpaper behind the bedstead which looks Japanese in origin, although on close examination I have never seen so many air bubbles...Would recommend that Steph, the owner uses a different decorator next time.We also liked the whole concept of a treats tray, a small tray of purchasable goodies that included vegetable crisps, which turned out to be very palatable.

Bathroom was gorgeous.Very well lit with a good spacious shower cubicle that is a little larger than average, and a flat head fixed shower attachment that rivals any others we have found anywhere else in the world.
As good as the bathroom was it was in here that we had a few minor criticisms. Both the tap that serves the wash basin, and one of the shower controls too are actually loose and need to be fixed. Also we found some hair in the plug hole of the wash basin and the overflow of the same unit needs a little lime scale remover to make things pristine.There is one fault in design too. The toilet flush is positioned so that if you are sitting and meditating happily , if you lean back the lid if the toilet will actually flush the cistern. Ok, more funny and quirky than annoying..but it really should not happen . Nit picking? Well maybe..but the prices here are not kitten class prices. They are approacing big growling tiger major hotel chain prices. Still worth the brass, but at this level it is not unreasonable to expect perfection.
I have read in previous reports that the rooms are a little noisy..and so they are...but not more so than any other hotel in any town. Remember you are in a grade 2 listed building that still sports the orginal style sash windows. Personally I would prefer these and accept a little more noise than have to look out of yet another blob of upvc. No contest.
I did have marginal concerns about placing a television directly on top of a dvd plaver..rather unusual. Though it was stable enough I do not really think that a dvd player is constructed strongly enough to take the weight of a television. Just an academic observation really .
So..a quick change of clothes and back downstairs to the small and intimate bar. Beautifully designed with a very attractive copper bar it is a very relaxing place for a pre dinner drink or a night cap before bed. It was here that we again met Mark. Not content with being the door man, checking people in and laying tables in the dining/ breakfast room this very multi tasking and professional gentleman is also the bar chap...and my god a good one at that. Any cocktail bar in the world would poach him at the earliest opportunity. He is fun bright, a good conversationalist, AND produces cocktails that are akin to an orgasm in a glass. I don't know what his salary is and with unusual ( for me anyway ) english reserve I was too polite to ask. But for heaven sake Steph...Give him a pay rise. I have never seen a man work so hard at so many different things and still come out smiling at the end of it. If the hotel ever lost him..it would be a loss that would be very difficult indeed to replace. Well done , Sir..a truly outstanding performance all round.
This same level of hard work and multi tasking also can be awarded to Kellie who , like Mark is a true professional. I believe she is assistant manager at the moment. I am sure that she will be a manager before long..
Breakfast...superb...Cooked to order and complimentary newspapers are available while you wait. You can request a Wake Up Cup (although i kept calling it a wake up bomb...too much listening to R.E.M ). Whats in it? Try one and find out for yourself. Its awsome. It is served as a starter while the full english is being prepared. Look out for the sausages. Very tasty, so much so that I felt obliged to turn the tumb screws on Kellie until she told me where they buy them from :))
Thanks also to the staff here in the breakfast room...the slim gentleman who was new( and was egually as friendly when we bumped into him in Brighton later that day ) ..the petite lady from colombia...and the lady from sweden. You all helped to make a great team even better..Thank you very much.
On a foot note..beware of the MOOSE. No..not some sort of eclectic dessert, but a moose head in the hallway just before you enter the breakfast room. The very slim waiter hit his head on its nose on saturday morning...and though I thought..'ha..that would never happen to ME' it most certainly did the following day. I am still not convinced that there is not a secret buzzer in the nose that activates in the staff rest quarters every time some one walkes into it. :):).
So there you have it...certainly not the cheapest..but if you want something that has innovation, charm, and excellent staff, you would be hard pushed to find anything better.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Electricwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    111
    54
    31
    10
See reviews for
22
207
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2007

Spent the weekend in Brighton at the end of January and chose the Neo on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews. We had room 8 which was beautifully sumptious with it's red and gold chinese wallpaper and low hung tassled lampshade. Bed was extremely comfortable, apparently they have the same ones as at the Savoy!

No niggles really. As previously stated, breakfast was delicious and filling and the staff friendly. The hotel does look really lovely with its gorgeous wallpapers and the website was helpful in deciding on a room.

As those who have stayed in room 8 have already said, it is extremely small being on the top floor (a lot of stairs!) but thanks to Tripadvisor I already knew this so wan't too shocked at the compact nature of the room. Fine for the weekend though and the small bathroon is perfectly formed with L'Occitaine goodies and lots of towels. The kimonos are fun and are a nice detail.

All in all a lovely place to stay for a weekend. Just don't take a lot of luggage!

  • Liked — Lovely decoration, beds and breakfast
  • Disliked — Teeny room!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xanadustar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2006

We stayed at Neo for 2 nights as a birthday break. Our room (number1) had great wallpaper, lots of cushions, big windows and comfy bed.
When booking and asking for room advice we were told the ensuite was small - and they were right - in fact possibly the smallest bathroom I have ever seen! But it did the job.
As other reviewers say - the breakfasts are great - fresh smoothies, fab toast and ungreasy cooked breakfast.
However when getting away, the most important thing to us is relaxation and sleep. After all Brighton has lots of great cafes for breakfast stops. Both mornings we were woken by what sounded like bottle collections. Perhaps Room 1 suffered more than some of the other rooms due to its frontage and large windows.
Also on the first morning we were woken at 3am by a group of male guests shouting in the corridor outside our room. The hotel does not appear to be manned through the night so this went unresolved. The next morning this group were at breakfast and were loud and intimidating to the other guests. There was a feeling of unease with the other couples as we all sat, unable to talk across the tables. Its a real shame Neo Hotel takes this sort of booking as the second morning was such a different atmosphere as we relaxed over breakfast, chatted and read the papers. Much more the relaxed experience we expected from this hotel.
Would I stay again? Although good rooms and location, its the smaller details that stopped this being an extra special stay. After all theres lots of places to stay in Brighton ...

  • Liked — breakfast quality
  • Disliked — large male group booked in on first night
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for quiet room
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ,,,,
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2006

I'm quite fussy about hotel quality – especially when you're paying what is most people's weekly rent for one night – but found this to be a lovely little hotel, beautifully decorated, nice staff and quality furnishings, and as mentioned, the breakfasts are indeed one of the best. HOWEVER, we arrived on a Sunday (just for the one night) and were amazed when we were told at 3.30pm that our room wouldn't be ready til around "4.30- 5.00". They explained it was due to their late check-out policy on Sundays, but I think that is just unacceptable – especially as it was pouring with rain outside and we were desperate to warm up witha shower. We left our bags and trudged off outside again, and when we returned (after 5) we were told the rooms had been ready half an hour after we'd left – ahh, thanks for that ... all in all, a nice place to stay and I'd go back again and again (just not on a Sunday).

(ps if you're staying in room 5, close the blinds - they seem to have a Peeping Tom neighbour!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rosieaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2006

Just back from a lovely weekend at the Neo. Room 5 was very comfortable and had the most fabulous ensuite (bath big enough for two, plus separate shower). Marcus in the bar knows his cocktails and the breakfasts were so large we didn't need lunch. Great location and friendly service all round were the icing on the cake. It's a tad pricey, but worth it for a special treat!

  • Liked — The details were spot on - from the 'Treats Tray' to the toileteries and satin kimonos
  • Disliked — Can't afford it too often
  • Tips/Secrets — Tell Marcus the barman your favourite tipple and he will create something yummy
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelAdler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
198 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2006

A nice hotel only minutes from the main seafront and about 15 minutes walk from the railway station. Staff were friendly, although the reception is not open 24 hours (normally 8am until 8pm). Great DVD selection that can be borrowed and played in your hotel room. Good selection at breakfast - I loved the smoothie and large choice of juices. Free newspapers help you to relax and start the day in a good mood.

A little more attention to detail in the rooms and at breakfast would make this hotel superb.

Worth a stay, but a bit on the pricey side.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hisimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a mid week break. Beautiful hotel with friendly staff, great decor and perfectly situated. Close enough to the centre but just far enough out for it to be quiet.

We stayed in room 5 which ws lovely. great bathroom and comfy bed. However was quite warm when the days were hot outside.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dansilkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
0.6 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neo

Property: The Neo
Address: 19 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LL, England (Formerly Neo Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Neo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Neo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing