We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and restaurant, waiters rather miserable...”
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #558 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food and restaurant, waiters rather miserable...”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Much prefer this restaurant to the P.E. in the lanes, as this is much airier, brighter and open the other. I visited this restaurant with friends while staying in Brighton, and found it generally quite good! The food came quickly and was of very good quality as usual. There was a nice ambience as it was relatively busy but not too bad.
Our main waitress was very friendly, however, we felt the rest of the staff were rather unwelcoming and rather bland. The man who appeared to be the duty manager hardly even managed to crack a smile to us, and didn't even say a word to us when he came to clear our plates away!
Overall good food and restaurant, but the waiters really need to just lighten up a bit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ollie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    44
    19
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
600 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 752 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly chain restaurant”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This light and airy restaurant was very busy, especially with families, when we went. However the service was really well paced, friendly and efficient. Food was standard Pizza Express fayre but the new Salmon salad is a winner. The overall atmosphere was excellent

Helpful?
Thank bathpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringmer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Nice but not the best, and sooooo expensive”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The original UK pizza restaurant chain has updated over the years & improved a lot, with tasty modern pizzas which are still pretty Italian style, and a load of other items. We went to Pizza Express at our friend's suggestion. My wife had a lasagne, our friend had a risotto & I had a pizza. All were excellent. But was my pizza really worth £13? No, not really. It left a bitter taste, and that's nothing to do with the pizza itself. And a large Peroni at over £6?! Sooooo... Let's see... That's over £70 for 3 people to eat fairly ordinary food. Think I'll stick to the independents in future.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheDashingDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Brilliant pizzas as always. Made on the premises and freshly cooked to order. Reasonably priced too. They box what you can't eat to take home.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JulieKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brit in oz
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pizza tastic”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Wife is gluten intolerant and they make gluten free bases, even added an egg for my pizza
Great service and friendly atmosphere
Recommend and will visit again

Helpful?
Thank br33zy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing