We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast al fresco”

Pavilion Gardens Cafe
Ranked #10 of 33 Dessert in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Established in 1941 in the gardens adjacent to the Royal Pavilion. The cafe is very popular with customers and known for its famous rock cakes baked on the premises daily. Now located between the Royal Pavilion and Theatre Royal and close to the Brighton Dome right in the heart of the Cultural Quarter. This is an Oasis in the Heart of the City.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Breakfast al fresco”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

There is no better place in Brighton to sit and watch the world go by. The drinks are very good and served by the best staff. The food is all fresh and home made. I saw a sign saying it had been saved from demolition. I'm so pleased it has. I would be the first to sign a petition if it came up again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jovialbarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at Pavilion Gardens Cafe, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
I am very glad you enjoyed our cafe - please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    42
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Lovely outdoor cafe in the gorgeous surroundings of the Pavillion gardens. In the heart of the North Laines next to the theatres. Following local opposition to the proposed closure of this historic cafe it appears that it's won a reprieve. Please support it. It would be a tragedy if it went.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinC71BTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at Pavilion Gardens Cafe, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favourite cafe.”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just excellent.
To my taste, best place in Brighton to relax and enjoy lazy afternoons, feed squirrels and chat
to regulars and friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 455Vlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at Pavilion Gardens Cafe, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We try and encourage a laid back ambiance at the cafe with our loyal staff and customers. The squirrels as you mention are now becoming a feature in the gardens and at the cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A lovely place to chill out”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

A special place to watch the world go by, eat lovely food, and listen to great music - bands, individual artists and singers. And ..... With a great view of the Royal Pavilion.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnelestergeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at Pavilion Gardens Cafe, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for this lovely review, I am glad you enjoyed our food and your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent quality”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Food was so lovely I really recommend afternoon tea .the staff were so attentive and friendly.very comfortable environment

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine747771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at Pavilion Gardens Cafe, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our food and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pavilion Gardens Cafe also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Pavilion Gardens Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing