We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky break”
Review of Limehouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Limehouse
Ranked #29 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Chose this on a spur of the moment whim and didn't regret it at all. Large and comfortable first floor room with sea view. Loved the plantation shutters and modern decor. The only small niggle was a gurgly bath when upstairs emptied theirs or had a shower. Helpful and pleasant owner, great location for food and central Brighton. Take loads of pound coins as meter parking on the square outside is quite expensive. Would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view if you are going to be in the room during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G9Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just returned from a weekend in Brighton staying at The Lime House. Had a luxury room on the 2nd floor. Spotlessly clean and tidy. Our only complaint was we found the room cold during the evening as the heating had not been turned on. Also on the second day we dicovered we had not been given dry towels and as the radiators were off there was nowhere to dry them, unfortunately there was no one around to ask. Apart from this had a very pleasent stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KetteringSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We had a delightful one-night stay in Brighton at LimeHouse. We would concur with many of the other reviewers' comments: superb location for restaurants, the water, clubs, (and even an excellent jazz club within two blocks); affable host, good value, and seagull squawking.

Originally, sagacious guidance (Rick Steves) encouraged us to request rooms off the street to minimize the noise of revelry, especially over the weekend. As a result, we requested a quiet room with a king bed. We were assigned room #2, a superior suite on the ground floor. Upon arrival, that particular room was not available. We were reassigned to the top floor, sea view superior suite (#8), a slightly more expensive room. This reaccommodation was fine; no complaints.

Be aware that this is not a B&B, in that breakfast is neither advertised nor available. Incidentally, we were not impressed by breakfast at the nearby "Little Miss Piggies." From what we hear, however, other opportunities abound.

Bottom line: We would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: If noise might be a problem for your sleep, request a room away from the front and, best, on a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProximitySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Great place to stop for a break, owners very knowledgeable and helpful. Gave us lots of info on places to eat and things to do.

Very comfortable beds, spotlessly clean - and good value for money.
My only comment for improvement would be that the windows need some form of blackout as the white venetian binds let a lot of light in.

Would definitely return, great little place and perfectly located!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shinynewmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We were lucky to spend a night at Lime House. It is conveniently located on a grassed square ( close to the sea, St James street, coffee and breakfast shops and the central area) and our room had a sea view! The room has been recently decorated and dressed with fresh bright colours, the bed was large and extremely comfortable and there was a good sized bathroom. The staff were great and very helpful. We highly recommend a stay at Lime House.

Room Tip: Front with views of square and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceanlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I found this hotel online as we were looking for a nice hotel for a group of myself and friends to stay in that would not cost a fortune.
From the outset the customer service was excellent, the owner was extremely friendly and helpful. We had no problems at all with the booking and when we arrived the rooms were excellent, clean bright and above all the beds were the most comfortable I have slept in (all of our group agreed).
Only point to note is you may need earplugs if you are light sleeper as the seagulls can be a little noisy in the morning but then the hotel is very close to the sea so it is to be expected.

The bar/cafe across the road did an excellent breakfast and the location was perfect for exploring Brighton over the weekend.

I would not hesitate to stay here again.
Thanks again for helping us make a weekend to remember!

Room Tip: The Suites are very nice and large and worth paying a little extra for although all the rooms are go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We can definitely recommend the newly refurbished LimeHouse. A perfect location between the sea and The Lanes, bright and airy rooms and clearly someone with a real 'eye' has been responsible for the decor. Friendly staff, but thankfully no forced bonhomie! We shall certainly be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThingsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 95 in Brighton
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#12 of 95 in Brighton
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Surf
Brighton Surf
#24 of 95 in Brighton
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
#17 of 95 in Brighton
881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 95 in Brighton
947 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kemp Townhouse
Kemp Townhouse
#28 of 95 in Brighton
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limehouse

Address: 19 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £61 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Limehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to LimeHouse, your independent base to explore the best of Brighton and beyond. We’ve got a fantastic location with stunning sea views and easy access to all that our cosmopolitan and vibrant city has to offer. If you would like to make an enquiry or if you would like some further information please send us an email.Whether overlooking the sea or gardens, take time out in one of our suites with super king size beds, snug duvets and a deep relaxing bath with plenty of space to unwind. Alternatively, our newly refurbished guesthouse is just a hop and a skip to the beach and pier or a short stroll to the city centre. We have created a seaside hideaway that is full of style. Informal and relaxed, we are committed to giving you the freedom to choose how to spend your time here and we are happy to steer you in the right direction. Choose which local cafe to go to for breakfast or pre-arrange a brunch delivery to your room from our friends at Bonjour Breakfast.Your break, your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Limehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing