We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cor 'Limey!”
Review of Limehouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Limehouse
Ranked #30 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cor 'Limey!”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed at Limehouse on a Fri and Sat night last month. Bit noisy outside the first night into the early hours due to shouting/drunk people around in the square, but to be expected and didn’t last too long. So if that would bother you, do ask for room facing the back of the hotel.

Our room was clean and bright. A higher ceiling than some Brighton B&B’s was very welcomed by my 6’2” husband who can tend to feel somewhat hemmed-in. Limehouse has been re-furbished since take over - in Spring 2012 we believe - after the previous owners went out of business.

Our basically white room (with dark varnished wooden floorboards) was accessorised to add some limey interest. Lots of storage areas. Bedside lamps, floor lamp, painting, and a feature lime coloured wall behind the bed all bringing the room together nicely. The blinds were great allowing easy privacy adjustment whilst letting in light in other sections.

Clean monochrome bathroom (bath, toilet, sink) - just a small trip to the ironmongers will soon replace the bath chain which was broken in the centre. Towels thankfully were where they belonged - in the bathroom - not annoyingly displayed all over the bed. Because of the light, airy feel and location, we’re glad we found Limehouse as it suited us well. We are happy to be repeat customers next year and will call you to book soon. Thanks for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thecurleyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    49
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
32
104
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I have just spent 5 nights here - great comfortable hotel! Really chuffed hoping to come back in Spring - only complaint was the shower not being at head height! Having it at waist height was a bit of a pain but I am still planning on coming back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanGas72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Chose this on a spur of the moment whim and didn't regret it at all. Large and comfortable first floor room with sea view. Loved the plantation shutters and modern decor. The only small niggle was a gurgly bath when upstairs emptied theirs or had a shower. Helpful and pleasant owner, great location for food and central Brighton. Take loads of pound coins as meter parking on the square outside is quite expensive. Would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view if you are going to be in the room during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G9Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kettering
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just returned from a weekend in Brighton staying at The Lime House. Had a luxury room on the 2nd floor. Spotlessly clean and tidy. Our only complaint was we found the room cold during the evening as the heating had not been turned on. Also on the second day we dicovered we had not been given dry towels and as the radiators were off there was nowhere to dry them, unfortunately there was no one around to ask. Apart from this had a very pleasent stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KetteringSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We had a delightful one-night stay in Brighton at LimeHouse. We would concur with many of the other reviewers' comments: superb location for restaurants, the water, clubs, (and even an excellent jazz club within two blocks); affable host, good value, and seagull squawking.

Originally, sagacious guidance (Rick Steves) encouraged us to request rooms off the street to minimize the noise of revelry, especially over the weekend. As a result, we requested a quiet room with a king bed. We were assigned room #2, a superior suite on the ground floor. Upon arrival, that particular room was not available. We were reassigned to the top floor, sea view superior suite (#8), a slightly more expensive room. This reaccommodation was fine; no complaints.

Be aware that this is not a B&B, in that breakfast is neither advertised nor available. Incidentally, we were not impressed by breakfast at the nearby "Little Miss Piggies." From what we hear, however, other opportunities abound.

Bottom line: We would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: If noise might be a problem for your sleep, request a room away from the front and, best, on a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProximitySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Great place to stop for a break, owners very knowledgeable and helpful. Gave us lots of info on places to eat and things to do.

Very comfortable beds, spotlessly clean - and good value for money.
My only comment for improvement would be that the windows need some form of blackout as the white venetian binds let a lot of light in.

Would definitely return, great little place and perfectly located!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shinynewmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We were lucky to spend a night at Lime House. It is conveniently located on a grassed square ( close to the sea, St James street, coffee and breakfast shops and the central area) and our room had a sea view! The room has been recently decorated and dressed with fresh bright colours, the bed was large and extremely comfortable and there was a good sized bathroom. The staff were great and very helpful. We highly recommend a stay at Lime House.

Room Tip: Front with views of square and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceanlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#24 of 94 in Brighton
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Snooze
Snooze
#9 of 94 in Brighton
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fab Guest
Fab Guest
#15 of 94 in Brighton
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#14 of 94 in Brighton
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
#18 of 94 in Brighton
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limehouse

Property: Limehouse
Address: 19 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Limehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to LimeHouse, your independent base to explore the best of Brighton and beyond. We’ve got a fantastic location with stunning sea views and easy access to all that our cosmopolitan and vibrant city has to offer. If you would like to make an enquiry or if you would like some further information please send us an email.Whether overlooking the sea or gardens, take time out in one of our suites with super king size beds, snug duvets and a deep relaxing bath with plenty of space to unwind. Alternatively, our newly refurbished guesthouse is just a hop and a skip to the beach and pier or a short stroll to the city centre. We have created a seaside hideaway that is full of style. Informal and relaxed, we are committed to giving you the freedom to choose how to spend your time here and we are happy to steer you in the right direction. Choose which local cafe to go to for breakfast or pre-arrange a brunch delivery to your room from our friends at Bonjour Breakfast.Your break, your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Limehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing