We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lime House is no Lemon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Limehouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Limehouse
Ranked #31 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lime House is no Lemon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is our second visit at Limehouse. We are an extremely fussy family and couldn't believe our luck when we found this place. It is clean, has tasteful decor and the owners are really nice without being slimey. It is close to the beach and all the shops. We can't wait for our next visit

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limehousebrighton, Owner at Limehouse, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
It is always very satisfying when guests choose to return and I am delighted John and his family once again had a great time. They are in fact welcome any time since they always manage to bring the sunshine with them! And, again, we love it when people like the decor of the rooms and the brightness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    47
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
32
95
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Really nice stay at Limehouse. The room was great, nice and bright, coffee & tea & a kettle & super comfy bed that was hard to leave. Bit of a bargain too when looking at obscene prices being asked elsewhere in Brighton. No breakfast but it matters not with so many cafes on your doorstep. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darren34London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limehousebrighton, Owner at Limehouse, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We might have to get one of these beds at home as well since everyone comments on how comfy they are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed in room 8 with my two children, it was a lovely, bright and spotlessly clean room, which was actually bigger than it looked on the pictures. The bed was really comfortable, as was the sofa bed which my son slept on. There is a lovely view of the gardens and glimpse of the sea. It's only 5 minutes walk from the pier and seafront so the location is ideal. Being a light sleeper, I did find there was a little noise from outside, however I still got a good night's sleep and you would not expect double glazing in a beautiful old building such as this. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Only one thing could have improved the room; an addition of a small cooler box for cold drinks in the height of summer! I will definitely be re-visiting Limehouse and can thoroughly recommend it

Room Tip: Room 8 is top floor with a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clair A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I found the Limehouse online, and what a find!! Great location (could see the beach, 5 min walk from the Pier and the Wheel) and with parking on the square outside (£10 for the day). The rooms were big, bright and very fresh, with comfortable bed, decent bed linen and enough pillows. The bathroom was clean, with a power shower and sufficient towels (2 large ones plus hand towel and one just big enough for my hair) The room had new flatscreen tv with freeview, iron, hair dryer, tea/coffee/longlifemilk. There was a full length mirror and are very well lit mirror in the bathroom so girls, easy to do your make up!
Staff were very friendly, and happy to recommend places to go - I would suggest the Italian restaurant at the top of the square. There is a co-op that is 2 seconds away for necessities.
Thoroughly happy with my stay and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Limehouse was ideal for our weekend away. I stayed there with two friends over a weekend and we couldn't fault it. We had a room that slept three adults and thought it would be quite tight for space but it was very spacious. The room was bright, and had lovely decor. I am fussy about cleanliness and I thought the place was spotless. The room has a few mirrors so easy for three girls to get ready for a night out. There was an iron, hairdryer and tea and coffee.The seagulls are a bit noisy in the morning but that is unavoidable if you want to be near the sea. We stayed on the top floor and had a fab view of the sea but the location is also close enough to the lanes that you can wander there for food and drinks. There are also nice bars and restaurants nearby. The staff are very helpful, friendly and knowledgable about the area. Would recommend the Limehouse to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joolscw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Me and my friend visited Brighton for 4 nights and chose Limehouse for its reasonable price and good trip advisor reviews, and I must say we weren't disappointed! We stayed in room 3 & the room was clean and bright, with quirky touches such as the blinds and lime green accent decor. It also felt quite nautical which felt nice being near the beach.

We arrived at 1 and were allowed to check in early which was lovely and made our arrival much easier. Jay showed us to out room and was very helpful, offering to recommend us restaurants or anything else we may need.

The hotel was also very close to the sea front and about a 5 minute walk from the pier, everything else was within a 20minute walk from the station aswell.

Overall I would definitely recommend Limehouse for a stay in Brighton!

Room Tip: The hotel doesn't have a lift so don't pick rooms on the higher floors if you arent prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topiwopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Limehouse is a lovely room only B&B right near the centre of Brighton.
We arrived on a Friday night and arranged to pick up our room key from Strawberry Fields which is the sister hotel across the square as we were worried about the traffic. My Mum & I stayed in Room 7 which is a spacious double room at the top of the house with only one other room on the same floor.
As you come out of the B&B St James Street is at the top of the square which has everything you need from supermarkets, restaurants (would recommend Betty La La's and the Italian), post office and cash points. That will take you right into the high street if you walk right down to the end and you can also get a bus to the Marina which takes about 5-10mins from outside the Co-op. Turn left out the front door of Limehouse and your right on the seafront. The Ferris wheel is just at the bottom as is the Sealife centre. Its just a 5minute walk to the centre and to the infamous lanes where you can lost in the shops and cafes.
We loved the decor of Limehouse - very fresh and clean. Our room had a table in the corner with a kettle, tea, coffee, sugar pots and 2 cups and mugs. The tea canister had some green tea, camomile tea as well so not just PG tips which was a nice touch. There was some little pots of UHT milk and I think the coffee pot had decaf as well as decaffeinated coffee. There were two bedside tables and also hanging rails behind the front door, as well as a mini ironing board. The shelf above this area had little boxes for: a blanket, iron and hair dryer - this was a normal sized proper hair dryer, not a stupid little one you would find in most hotels! The bathroom was perfect for us, quite small but fitted well in the room. Shower was great too, no problems with water. The bins were cleaned out each day and the bed made up which was a nice touch to come back too. The bed was comfy and big enough not to be squashed next to each other. Room 7 is at the back of the house, it has lovely shutters on the window which let in a nice breeze whilst maintaining privacy.
The other bonus for us with this hotel was the wifi - worked without a problem and was handy to explore the reviews of restaurants and get our bearings for the first few days! Overall, we had a lovely stay for 3 nights and would definitely go back. We quite liked being room only as this gave us the freedom to do what we wanted. We did consider having a takeaway one night as it was raining heavily and then realised that we wouldnt have had any cutlery or plates! Not a problem had we ordered pizza but other takeaways would have been a problem. We decided to go out in the end and braved the rain anyway. We bumped into Jay as we left on the Monday who is very nice and had been very accommodating. We were able to leave our bags at Strawberry Fields on the last day while we went for one last browse in the lanes before heading home. The only thing that would have made things easier would be to have some parking. There is pay and display parking outside if you can get a space from 9am-8pm each day, this is around £12/day and the same on the seafront. We parked at the marina for the weekend which worked well for us, its a 15-20min walk which with the good weather was no problem!
I would definitely recommend and will come back in the future :)

Room Tip: Room 7 was great - top of the house so no noise from people above, wifi worked great still. It is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AeJ853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bannings at Number 14
Bannings at Number 14
#10 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Guest and the City
Guest and the City
#3 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grey's Hotel
Grey's Hotel
#15 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#13 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limehouse

Property: Limehouse
Address: 19 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Limehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to LimeHouse, your independent base to explore the best of Brighton and beyond. We’ve got a fantastic location with stunning sea views and easy access to all that our cosmopolitan and vibrant city has to offer. If you would like to make an enquiry or if you would like some further information please send us an email.Whether overlooking the sea or gardens, take time out in one of our suites with super king size beds, snug duvets and a deep relaxing bath with plenty of space to unwind. Alternatively, our newly refurbished guesthouse is just a hop and a skip to the beach and pier or a short stroll to the city centre. We have created a seaside hideaway that is full of style. Informal and relaxed, we are committed to giving you the freedom to choose how to spend your time here and we are happy to steer you in the right direction. Choose which local cafe to go to for breakfast or pre-arrange a brunch delivery to your room from our friends at Bonjour Breakfast.Your break, your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Limehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing