We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and service”
Review of Scoop & Crumb

Scoop & Crumb
Ranked #5 of 33 Dessert in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We offer the largest ice cream Sundae Menu in the Uk with over 55 lipsmackingly creations.We make award winning ice creams and sorbets on the premises.We offer a the largest selection of hot dogs in the city from the Chilli Cheese dog to a Blood Hound - very big and tasty.We source as many ingredients locally as possible to support our local community. Established in 2007 Our plan was to create the coolest ice cream cafe on the South Coast, specialising in providing amazing ice creams and sorbets and the most jaw dropping ice cream sundaes. Our goal is to create a fabulous place for you to come a visit with your friends and family and get treated to something unique. We have luckily since opening featured in the national press, TV and have won national awards for our ice creams for the last three years running.A great altenative place to celebrate for the young and slightly older..
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

After a very long day enjoying all Brighton has to offer the kids ( big and small) wanted icecream, having visited scoop and crumb last year I already knew the ice cream menu was extensive and impressive. It was 4.45 and the shop shut at 5 so knew we were pushing it if we wanted to eat in. However the manager said it was fine and that he wouldnt kick us out at 5 any way. We sat upstairs as there were 6 of us and he semt a waitress up to take our order (usually order at the counter) very promptly our order came and every body was suitably impressed. I had the lemon meringue sundae my mum the coffee cake sundae. The kids had chockabockaglory choc orange sunday. A scoop of banana and my husband had a massive waffle. It was all so delicious. We weren't hurried and talking with all the staff as they were all so friendly. We have decided to create a new family tradition of making sure we go to scoop and crumb every time we are in Brighton. And will recommend any and every one to such a fabulous shop. Well done you have a great shop xxx

Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Owner at Scoop & Crumb, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hello there, thanks for your great review.
Really pleased the staff looked after you and your family. It sounds like you went for a great selection of Sundaes, Hope to see you all again and a very big thanks for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    58
    14
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is the perfect place for a treat for the family or just for couples or friends. There is something for everyone with the most perfect ice cream treats there are available! I would recommend the raspberry sorbet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma2104916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Owner at Scoop & Crumb, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hello there, thanks for you great review. Really pleased you like the flavours, we only use fresh ingredients so the raspberry sorbet uses lots and lots of raspberries. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place for a treat”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Going to this first class ice cream parlour is reason enough to visit Brighton. Try the Gold Rush its amazing.

Good selection, friendly staff and you can always try before you buy. On a hot day it's worth braving Brighton's horrible parking for the yummy deserts. Waffles and hotdogs are also on the menu if you are not into ice cream. Favourite cafe in the south east.

Helpful?
1 Thank Khy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Owner at Scoop & Crumb, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hello and thanks for your really kind review, a big thank you! Glad the Gold Rush hit the spot, its a really old sundae recipe from the States. Hopefully helped you forget the parking nightmare..
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not half as great as expected”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I had heard and read great things and was looking forward to sampling their ice creams. Turned out to be a big "meh" really, not special - we had the "Eton Mess" and the "Raspberry Sorbet". The former actually tasted of lemon and had no crunch to it (meringues?) or any flavour of fruit. Just creamy, that was it. The Raspberry Sorbet was flat and bland. I also grabbed a fudge stick to add in - to my regret - as it was more like fudge rock, hard as and like chewing on granite. I expect fudge to be soft and chewy, but maybe thats just me! Compared to the upper end ice cream places, sorry but this place pales in comparison

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Owner at Scoop & Crumb, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hello Peter, thanks for taking time to review and sorry it didn't tickle your fancy. I use vanilla and lemon in the Eton Mess along with a fresh home made mixed berry ripple, the meringue pieces do go soft as they are not 'barrier coated' to keep it more natural. Raspberry sorbet contains 1.5kg of fresh raspberries. Not sure you can grab a fudge stick as we charge for them, however we tried them quickly after reading your review and they tasted good to me.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We was in Brighton for the weekend and had researched this place & was excited to visit and taste the ice cream.

It did not disappoint!

The Banana ice creams on offer (not just the one but a few different ones) were amazing, and the peach sauce was just delicious!

My partner had a waffle (freshly made and still warm) with ice cream, whipped cream and sauce and she said it was amazing.

We have a great ice cream parlour in the seaside town we live in and this is as good as if not better than that one!

Very impressed!

Helpful?
Thank GavWHUFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan D, Owner at Scoop & Crumb, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hello Gav,

Thanks for your great review, our waffles are crispy on the outside and soft in the middle, baked to order. They always taste good with ice cream on top. We only use fresh bananas in our ice banana ice cream so pleased you can taste the difference.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scoop & Crumb also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Scoop & Crumb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing